Preview
Preview

The Pros and Cons of the Death Penalty Essay

:: 6 Works Cited
Length: 1212 words (3.5 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

In the world we as people live in violence. Violence has gotten so out of control that it has affected everyone. The one thing about violence is that it also leads to crimes. And crimes leads to some people being imprisoned, while others are put on death row. But if crimes are crimes, what makes them minor or major? Who decides if they are minor or major? Nowadays minor and major crimes are being pushed together. For example, someone gets shot and the shooter gets 5 years in prison. But if someone is raped it cannot be proven and the victim is left suicidal while the rapist goes about their day. Both are major crimes but one has a sentence and the other one does not. With this happening in the world it makes me wonder if we as the people are making the right the right choice when choosing the punishment. In this world I always wondered if the states made their own decision or if it was just the government who made the decision. In the article Report Says Death Penalty Should Be Restricted ABC News writer Bryan Robinson adds “Three factors … contribute to the overuse of the death penalty: race, political pressure, and poorly performing law enforcement systems. States and counties that do not have a good record of combating serious crimes will not likely find the crimes that are death-penalty appropriate (par. 19).” The death penalty in my opinion should not be restricted, not be racist, and is a cheaper solution.
Some of society thinks the death penalty should be restricted. They think that with the death penalty having restrictions that there would be a limited number of deaths. Robinson reported “If the death penalty is restricted to certain crimes … law enforcement officials and perhaps the public will have to rethink their def...


... middle of paper ...


...
Works Cited
Culp-Ressler, Tara. "Texas Lawmaker Introduces Bill To Block Abortion Restrictions Until The Death Penalty Is Abolished." ThinkProgress RSS. Center for American Progress Action Fund, 16 July 2013. Web. 08 Nov. 2013.
Dow, David R. "Death Penalty, Still Racist and Arbitrary." The New York Times The Opinion Pages. The New York Times Company, 8 Jul 2011. Web. 8 Nov 2013.
Hastings, Deborah. "To Execute or Not: A Question of Cost?" USATODAY.com. USA TODAY, 8 Mar. 2009. Web. 08 Nov. 2013.
Locke, Hubert G. "Washington State's Racist Death Penalty." Crosscut.com. Crosscut Public Media, 16 Sept. 2013. Web. 08 Nov. 2013.
Robinson, Bryan. "Report Says Death Penalty Should Be Restricted." ABC News. ABC News Network, n.d. Web. 08 Nov. 2013.
"The High Cost of Death Penalty." Press-Telegram Opinion. Long Beach Press Telegram, 24 Oct 2011. Web. 8 Nov 2013.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay about Pros and Cons of the Death Penalty - Pros and Con of The Death Penalty The sentence of the death penalty for most people is an unfair and unjust subject. It carries way too high of a stake. The question is what do with those on death row. Imagine what they think about in their final days. Do they hope to get overturned. Do they think about their family and friends’ loved ones. What crosses their minds. Do they wonder what’s going to happen here on earth when their gone. Well, not necessarily, I mean consider the fact is many people on death rows are mentally unstable or disabled or even deranged They enjoy the thrill of having the attention of the media or the press....   [tags: capital punishment]
:: 4 Works Cited
1082 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Pros and Cons of the Death Penalty Essay - In the world we as people live in violence. Violence has gotten so out of control that it has affected everyone. The one thing about violence is that it also leads to crimes. And crimes leads to some people being imprisoned, while others are put on death row. But if crimes are crimes, what makes them minor or major. Who decides if they are minor or major. Nowadays minor and major crimes are being pushed together. For example, someone gets shot and the shooter gets 5 years in prison. But if someone is raped it cannot be proven and the victim is left suicidal while the rapist goes about their day....   [tags: Pro Con Essays]
:: 6 Works Cited
1212 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about The Death Penalty: Pros and Cons - The Death Penalty. Immoral or moral; just or unjust. These are just a few of the questions people ask themselves when debating the Death Penalty which is arguably the most controversial topic of the United States today. Every time these words come up, we start yelling out our opinions on what we feel is right. Pro death penalty people shout deterrence across the room while the anti death penalty supporters shout about potentially killing an innocent man; some argue that is just and the murders deserve their punishment while others say we are murdering people too if we kill the suspect....   [tags: Capital Punishment, editorial, point of view] 1041 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Pros and Cons of the Death Penalty - Pros and Cons of the Death Penalty Due to the rapid increase in crime the past ten years and prison overcrowding, more attention has been drawn to the opinion that something has to be done to the United States Criminal System. We need to reevaluate the way we treat people we are convicted of unspeakable acts of merciless slaughter or even rape. The United States Justice System must be made solid again. Most people have an opinion on this heated subject. Some say "we need it" others say "the person pulling the switch would be no better than the person in the chair." We need to look at other options beside prison....   [tags: Capital Punishment Crime Law Essays] 430 words
(1.2 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay about The Death Penalty: A Discussion on Its Pros and Cons - The death penalty, a constant source of controversy and divided opinion, is the punishment of death given to criminals who commit severe crimes. As the severity of crimes that attract the death penalty is debatable, so is its correctness and effectiveness. The justice system is based upon punishment for crimes committed with emphasis on the punishment fitting the crime. Countries such as China and Singapore have used it to punish drug traffickers and therefore fuelled debate on how fitting the punishment is in such cases....   [tags: capital punishment, death penalty]
:: 3 Works Cited
1220 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Pros and Cons of the Death Penalty Essay - Each year there are about 250 people added to death row and 35 executed. From 1976 to 1995 there were a total of 314 people put to death in the US 179 of them were put to death using lethal injection, 123 were put to death using electrocution, 9 were put to death in a gas chamber, 2 were hanged, and 1 was put to death using the firing squad. The death penalty is the harshest form of punishment enforced in the United Sates today. Once a jury has convicted a criminal, they go to the second part of the trial, the punishment phase....   [tags: Pro Con Essays] 1667 words
(4.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Pros and Cons of Death Penalty - The death penalty has been an issue of debate for several years. Whether or not we should murder murderer’s and basically commit the same crime that they are being killed for committing. People against the death penalty say that we should not use it because of that very reason. They also make claims that innocent people who were wrongly convicted could be killed. Other claims include it not working as a deterrent, it being morally wrong, and that it discriminates. Some even claim that it is cruel and unusual punishment....   [tags: Argumentative Essay] 623 words
(1.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Death Penalty Pros and Cons Essay - When I was asked, "are you for or against the death penalty" I thought, that the answer to such a trivial question should be relatively easy. What a naïve conclusion that was. Once I started to do bit of a research, I have found out, that this task is much more complex and complicated, than I thought. First of all, there are two simple answers to this question, yes and no. Behind each of these simple answers is whole "pile" of good and heavy arguments. It would be easy to state, that the society is not developed enough to take such a responsibility, or, killing is always killing....   [tags: Current Events] 390 words
(1.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Death Penalty Pros and Cons Essay - In this time of life, where things have changed to a better world, it still exist massacre, what it's called death penalty. "United Stated is one of the six nations that commonly continue with this dramatic scenario" (Human Rights).Debates and political issues have been put into effect to stop this cruel and inhuman punishment. Since early years people have the belief of killing each other to solve their problem; what's the idea of slaughter if pain would not be applicable. We should keep them breathing to make them suffer the same way they cause the suffer ness of us or other people....   [tags: Current Events] 581 words
(1.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Death Penalty: The Pros and Cons of Capital Punishment Essay example - ... Some of the ways they do the death penalty are with lethal injection, deadly gas. In some of the foreign countries they will kill people that have been given the death penalty by a firing squad. They make the person stand and then a bunch of officers or soldiers just start shooting until they are dead. Another way they do the death penalty is by electrocution. The person is put in a chair and parr of the body is wet and then they put electricity to their body until they are dead. It all sounds bad but imagine if someone killed or seriously hurt someone you loved....   [tags: crimes, jail, wrong, reason]
:: 1 Works Cited
543 words
(1.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]