Preview
Preview

Modern Diesel Technology of the 2000's Essay

:: 15 Works Cited
Length: 2411 words (6.9 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Aqua      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Introduction
When someone mentions diesel, many people still have the image of a loud and obnoxious machine that is hard to start in the cold weather. This may have been true twenty to thirty years ago, but could not be further from the truth today! With all of the advancements in engine and emissions technology; diesel has become the new standard in fuel economy and power while still maintaining strict pollution standards as mandated by the EPA. As C.J. Baker explained here, “Diesel development has come a long way, but the public perception of diesel is lagging 25 years behind...but the bottom line is still the same. Modern diesels are quick, powerful, quiet, easy to start in the cold, and don't smoke.”(Baker 2). Therefore I have chosen modern diesel as my topic, to help shine some light on the misunderstood beast that we call diesel. Also I hope to inform the public, that there is alternative technologies to gasoline and hybrid gasoline-electric vehicles, that perform a multitude of times better, while not damaging the environment.
Diesel Fundamentals
The way a diesel engine operates is drastically different from gasoline, instead of a spark plug pulsing seventeen times a second to initiate the explosion of the fuel, diesel relies on compression to generate the heat required to ignite, and create the explosion of the fuel. Also because of this diesel engines need to be built much stronger to endure the high-compression ratios required to contain the explosion. According to Lucy Lazarony, diesel cars and trucks provide twenty to thirty percent better fuel economy than comparable gasoline models (para. 1). This is because down to a molecular state diesel has “eleven percent more energy per gallon”(Baker, para. 7). The...


... middle of paper ...


...nce.howstuffworks.com/environmental/green-science/algae-biodiesel.htm/printable>.
"Nitrogen Dioxide | Air & Radiation | US EPA." US Environmental Protection Agency. EPA, 28 Oct. 2010. Web. 7 Apr. 2011. .
Roy, Rex. "Diesel vs. hybrid: How to save fuel the smart way - CNN." CNN. N.p., 15 May 2009. Web. 16 Apr. 2011. .
Swan, Katharine. "What is a Turbocharger?." wiseGEEK: clear answers for common questions. N.p., n.d. Web. 15 Apr. 2011. .
"Trip Calculator: Fuel Consumption Calculator & Travel Time Calculator." Trip Calculator: Fuel Consumption Calculator & Travel Time Calculator. N.p., n.d. Web. 16 Apr. 2011. .


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Career Field Analysis: Diesel Mechanic Essay - Ever since I could go with my dad in the tractors and equipment on the ranch, I knew I wanted to be a part of its operation. I have always been fascinated with the operations of diesel engine and much of a valuable asset they are to our world today. I helped out on the ranch whenever I could driving equipment. In the summer time it was my job to operate the swather. I really enjoyed operating it as much as I enjoyed fixing it when it broke down. When it came time to go to college the decision for a major was pretty clear....   [tags: diesel technician, diesel engine, mechanic]
:: 3 Works Cited
939 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Clean Diesel Technology Essays - “Clean Diesel Technology” “Air pollution in the United States continues to harm people’s health and the environment”(EPA).Many people are burning an immense amount of money every year and they do not even know it. People choose a gasoline powered engine over a diesel engine because they think its cheaper. However diesel owners save a vast amount of money every year. Diesel is not what it used to be, it has gradually changed over the years. Ultra low sulfur fuel is being used as alternative fuel to make a diesel engine clean....   [tags: air pollution, environment, transportation]
:: 8 Works Cited
1422 words
(4.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Marketing Audit of Diesel Essay - 1. Introduction Since 1950s, Jeans have become and continue to be a staple item of clothing in people’s wardrobes as a medium representing stylish identity and identification (Kramer, KR, 2006). People wear jeans for a range of occasions, from staying at home to going outside at a cinema, restaurant or even a working place. As a report from Mintel states, during the year 2006 and 2010, the percentage of adults who bought jeans had remained relatively stable with over half of them ( 51%) purchasing at least one pair in 2010 (Mintel 2010)....   [tags: Diesel S.p.A, Marketing]
:: 15 Works Cited
1544 words
(4.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Influences of Modern Technology on the Children Development Essay examples - 1. Introduction. Modern technologies for children: useful or harmful. Living in the 21st century we obviously meet the huge stream of information every day. This information finds us everywhere, from TV, computers, metro, on the street and in the shop. There is only one way to avoid this stream – to live far from civilization. Modern technologies can be useful and harmful at the same time. There are so many aspects and opinions about this question. I will try to analyze both harmful and useful sides of modern technology influence on child development....   [tags: modern technology, internet]
:: 2 Works Cited
871 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Fuel Efficiency Technology Essay - Introduction Diesel engines have always been on the cutting edge of fuel efficiency technology. This advantage has lead Diesel engines to be used in a wide variety of applications, and some of these applications include aquatic applications. Diesel engines can be used to propel ships and boats efficiently to their destination with minimum downtime. The engines can also simultaneously power lighting systems, operate auxiliary equipment, and power communications and navigation equipment. A diesel engine completes a four stroke cycle to create power....   [tags: modern engines, diesel engines, pollution]
:: 8 Works Cited
1528 words
(4.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay Society's Dependence on Modern Technology - The human race could be at risk. Observing the world and its inhabitants, this planet has proved to be a very dangerous place for the human being. We as a species, although not nearly as strong or as fast as most animals are, a brilliant, mechanically inclined race that has created and designed ways to make us the most dominating force on the planet. Our advancements in modern technology has grown to become a necessity. Ironically, modern technology although vital to the survival of men and women, through evident health risks, less jobs, and invasion of privacy may also become our specie’s very demise....   [tags: technology] 803 words
(2.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Modern Technology, the Unseen Dangers Essay - As time goes on, the world around us continues to change even more rapidly than it already has. All the time new gadgets and gizmos continue to be introduced to the market to satisfy the needs of the consumers. Social networking sites such as Facebook, Myspace, and Twitter allow people from all over the world to be connected. With the help of these social networking sites and cell phones people have become more easily accessible in the previous years than ever before. At first glance these modern technologies appear to be nothing but helpful conveniences that society has become accustomed to having , but as technology advances, our privacy continues to decrease without most people even real...   [tags: Technology ]
:: 3 Works Cited
1518 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Modern Warfare and Technology: Essay - In today’s modern world, faster and faster are the world’s strongest nations developing new and advanced technologies for the future. Where they all start is in the government’s military field, where they search, and discover new innovations every day. To look for the world’s most modified computer technology one place to look at would be the U.S military. Every year the U.S. spends over a trillion dollars on inventing new technologies, and expanding our knowledge in science. The government has also seen new advancement in technology, from the F/A-18 Hornet, a military aircraft that flies past the sound barrier, to the infamous atomic bomb....   [tags: Technology]
:: 5 Works Cited
816 words
(2.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Diesel Emissions - Diesel Emissions The new diesel emissions controls being put into place by the EPA control non road diesel fuel, and truck and bus emissions. This includes all farm equipment and other large pieces of diesel equipment. Non road diesel fuel is not taxed and it is also dyed red. It is also refined a lot less and has serious consequences on the environment....   [tags: Fuel Pollution Diesel] 1397 words
(4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Modern Technology Essay - Over the last fifty years, technology has become a particularly important source of knowledge in modern society, which has further provided several new opportunities in doing so. Throughout our history, the extensive amount of books were our predominant source of knowledge. That is why Bradbury was wrong to fear that modern technology would replace books. Since modern technological advancements, students are faced with options to prepare for their future through classes and electronic textbooks....   [tags: ebooks, technology literacy]
:: 7 Works Cited
983 words
(2.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]