Preview
Preview

Essay about Gender Stereotyping Of Children

:: 8 Works Cited
Length: 2804 words (8 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Green      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


In the late 1980’s McDonald’s introduced a new lineup of toys in their Happy Meal promotions, now offering exclusively Barbie and Hot Wheels as toy options. They were a huge hit, making Happy Meals more popular than ever. “Is this for a boy or girl?” was added to the list of questions you were asked when ordering. This was one of the beginnings of a new form of marketing that specifically gendered toys and stereotyped interests for each gender (Faust N. Pag.). Advertisements and marketing are not the only influences in perpetuating gender stereotypes. There are numerous influences on the youth of America that aid in the stereotyping of personalities and interests for boys and girls.

Today, most would call these actions conforming to the gender binary. The gender binary is a socially constructed system of traits that are specifically predetermined for each gender. Socially constructed simply means that over time, different stereotypes have become the norm based on roles that each gender filled. Genderspectrum.org, an organization set to breakdown gender stereotypes and educate about gender diversity gives this definition for the gender binary, “Western culture has come to view gender as a binary concept, with two rigidly fixed options: male or female. When a child is born, a quick glance between the legs determines the gender label that the child will carry for life. But even if gender is to be restricted to basic biology, a binary concept still fails to capture the rich variation observed (Understanding Gender N. Pag.).”

This could simply mean that boys will receive the Hot Wheels toy with their Happy Meal, and girls will receive the Barbie doll, just because that is what is expected. This is engrained in ...


... middle of paper ...


...ng: Science & Practice 7.4 (2007): 357-366. Academic Search Complete. Web. 19 Feb. 2014.

Laidlaw, Liz. "Gender Bender." Relational Child & Youth Care Practice 23.3 (2010): 14-15. Academic Search Complete. Web. 12 Feb. 2014.

Plant, E. Ashby, and Janet Shibley Hyde. "The Gender Stereotyping Of Emotions." Psychology Of Women Quarterly 24.1 (2000): 81. Academic Search Complete. Web. 19 Feb. 2014.

Faust, Aaron. "Happy Meals: Boy or Girl?" Women's Studies. Appalachian State University, 2003. Web. 26 Feb. 2014.

Francis, Becky. "Gender, Toys and Learning." Taylor and Francis. N.p., 09 June 2010. Web. 22 Feb. 2014.

"Understanding Gender." Understanding Gender. N.p., n.d. Web. 10 Mar. 2014.

Zhao, Emmeline. "Larry King Murder: Gay Teen's Death Illustrates Schools' Challenge."The Huffington Post. TheHuffingtonPost.com, 24 Nov. 2011. Web. 10 Mar. 2014.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Gender Stereotyping Effects on Children Essay - Stereotypes are an unavoidable part of everyday life. Stereotypes are defined as widely held generalizations about the traits, behaviors, and roles of a particular set of individuals who have been grouped together on the basis of a perceived commonality (Hansson, L. M., Karnehed, N., Tynelius, P., & Rassmussen, F. 2009). While it is possible for stereotypes to be positive, it is not uncommon that they communicate misleading information about a particular group of people. As a result, the origins and consequences of stereotyping are frequently of interest to researchers....   [tags: stereotype, physical salience, GASC]
:: 19 Works Cited
1977 words
(5.6 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Gender Role Representation and Stereotyping in Children's Books Essays - Gender Representation and Stereotyping in Children’s Books Introduction: This paper focuses on how society’s perception of male and female roles affects children’s literature in America and how these roles have changed slightly in the years from 1970 to the present time. Recent research on gender stereotyping in children’s literature books will be discussed. As the role of women and men changed throughout the years, so has the portrayal of characters in children’s books. Since 1970, more women entered the workforce and became more successful in their jobs outside of the home....   [tags: literature, women's roles, equality]
:: 7 Works Cited
1271 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Gender Stereotyping: A Negative Effect on Youth - In today’s world, the media has a great rein on youth as opposed to 10 or 20 years ago. Now a day we see children as young as 6 are able to get their hands on iPhones, iPads and other media devices that are available to them. Perhaps it is to play games, take a picture, or pass the time while they wait for something. But, no matter what it is, it has an influence on them. A factor that is played in today’s media that influences youth is that of gender stereotyping. It is the behavioral norms that are thought to be appropriate in today’s world....   [tags: Media, Gender Sterotyping, Young Adults]
:: 5 Works Cited
1028 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Male and Female Stereotyping - GENDER STEROTYPING Gender stereotyping is an act of generalizing males and females. Gender stereotypes are based on a “complex mix of beliefs, behaviors, and characteristics”, (plannedparenthood, 1). These assumptions can be true but affect our judgment in a negative way towards the opposite sex. This leads to gender stereotyping causing conflicts between males and females, because of their unrealistic expectations of each other. Which will cause problems in their development towards adulthood....   [tags: Gender Stereotyping, Generalizations]
:: 13 Works Cited
1008 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Gender Roles, Stereotyping and Gender Bias Essay - Gender affects every aspect of our life, from how we feel about ourselves and set our goals in educational, recreational and work opportunities as well as the the nature and extent of our participation in social and civic life. It has a strong impact on the way we practice our religion, the way we dress, the way we express our feelings and the nature of all of our relationships with others. This paper explores various facets of gender roles in order to understand this topic such as what role males and females are expected to play in today's society, how gender roles are decided, affected and exaggerated by stereotyping....   [tags: Sexism and Gender Stereotypes] 2258 words
(6.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Are Gender Stereotypes Perpetuated in Children's Magazines? Essay - Introduction ‘Femininity is associated with traits such as emotionality, prudence, co-operation, a communal sense, and compliance. Masculinity tends to be associated with such traits as rationality, efficiency, competition, individualism and ruthlessness.’ [1] Despite many changes in equality and social attitudes, gender stereotypes are still common in society and in the English language in general. Children as young as 3 years old start to show signs of gender stereotyping (Martin & Little, 1990)....   [tags: femininity, masculinity, gender differences]
:: 3 Works Cited
1542 words
(4.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Sexual Identity and Gender Role Stereotyping Essay - I chose to do a sermon around the theme of Family Values and Sexuality and realized this was too broad an area, I needed to narrow down the overall topic choice. My original premise was to tie in family values and biblical teachings when a member of a family identifies as homosexual. I also took into consideration the next topic I planned to preach on-Violence, either violence against women or violence based on a person’s perceived sexuality. I saw overlap between the two topics so I put the idea aside for a day to re-think a plan of action....   [tags: homosexuality within religious beliefs, bullying]
:: 7 Works Cited
1582 words
(4.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Gender Stereotyping Essay - Stereotypical behavior is not a new trend, but rather an ongoing lifestyle for today’s society. Gender stereotyping, a sub-category of stereotypes, opens many revelations, developments, and behaviors. While there are psychologists that differ in opinion, education and employment seems to be the primary sources where it is believed that most people both obtains and acts out their stereotypical behavior (Sax & Harper 671). The origins of gender differences are particularly hard to trace, but arguments that the differences are a result of socialization is widely studied in psychology....   [tags: Gender Studies]
:: 2 Works Cited
1145 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Playgrounds and Gender Stereotyping - Playgrounds and Gender Stereotyping In this project, I am going to investigate the question; 'Do playgroups encourage gender stereotypes?' This is quite a difficult topic to be able to answer, as a playgroup isn't just going to say that they encourage stereotypes. Therefore, I am going to have to be careful in how I find out my information to make sure they are reliable sources. To look into this and draw some sort of conclusion, I will be asking both playgroup assistants and parents of children attending playgroup (2 sets of parents with girls, 2 sets with boys, 2 sets with boys and girls) questions in interviews or questionnaires....   [tags: Papers] 2628 words
(7.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Gender Issues in Children's Literature: Then and Now - Gender Issues in Children's Literature: Then and Now Charlotte's Web, Anne of Green Gables, Treasure Island, Cinderella and Grimm's Brothers fairy tales, have all been treasures of society's basic children's literature. They covered their share of beauties, villains, conflicts and happy-endings that many of us remember till this day. But were we as society's children aware of the impact these stories made on our views of men and women. Although parents, teachers and other socializing agents communicate gender roles to children at an early age, the issue of how children's literature influences gender roles, stereotyping and sometimes sexism has been a topic on many educators, researchers an...   [tags: Sociology Gender Stereotypes Books Essays]
:: 6 Works Cited
3301 words
(9.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]