Preview
Preview

The Zombie Apocalypse: Technology and the Children on America Essay

:: 10 Works Cited
Length: 1213 words (3.5 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


The zombie apocalypse has arrived. Except no one is hiding in their basements, because the zombies are the children of America. And they don’t crave human flesh, they crave ‘likes’ on Instagram. For thousands of years, parents have been telling their kids “I know how you feel, I was a kid once too.” Except now, parents check twitter to see how their kids are feeling, and they talk to a zombie, mesmerized by a blue screen. As participants of the ‘Age of Technology’, using technology on a daily basis is almost unavoidable, but we are all far too busy uploading a picture of their Starbucks to notice the harmful effects that technology and social networking on the youth of America. Many would argue that technology is revolutionizing the learning experience in today’s classrooms, saying it makes teacher to student communication easier and more efficient. But does ‘easier’ always mean ‘better’? Not according to research done by countless psychologists and experts. Children using technology to socialize lack the experience of face to face communication, subject themselves to the psychological and physical dangers of the internet, and create learning dysfunctions for themselves.
Today we utilize social networking and text messaging to channel our emotions and opinions without fear of face to face reactions. But every decision has its’ opportunity cost, and the cost, in this case, is the deterioration of our kids’ social skills. Popular social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat and Tumblr in addition to text messaging are breaking down the necessary connections that children need in order to mature and learn to communicate their ideas, opinions and emotions properly. Now, when a child goes through the strug...


... middle of paper ...


... of Ridgewood High Girls Prompt Police Investigation."Ridgewood-Glen Rock Patch. Patch, 14 Mar. 2013. Web. 08 Dec. 2013.
Loop, Erica. "Exposing the Negative Effects of Technology on Kids." Everyday Life. Global Post, n.d. Web. 08 Dec. 2013.
Martin, Alice. "The 4 Negative Side Effects Of Technology." Edudemic. Edudemic, 30 May 2013. Web. 06 Dec. 2013.
"Negative Effects of Technology on Society." Teen Ink. TeenInk, n.d. Web. 06 Dec. 2013.
Rosen, Larry, Dr. "Social Networking's Good and Bad Impacts on Kids."Http://www.apa.org. American Psychological Association, 6 Aug. 2011. Web. 08 Dec. 2013.
Rowan, Cris. "The Impact of Technology on the Developing Child." The Huffington Post. TheHuffingtonPost.com, 29 May 2013. Web. 08 Dec. 2013.
Tahnk, Jeahna. "10 Ways Teens Are Hiding Their Online Behavior from Parents."Parenting.com. Screen Play, 26 June 2012. Web. 08 Dec. 2013.





Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay on Costco-topia: Ten Elements Needed to Survive a Zombie Apocalypse - A zombie apocalypse. It is something I worry about on a daily basis. Where would I hide. How would I survive. Well, the other day I was standing in the check-out line at Costco and I looked down at the contents of my cart. I had a bag of trail mix, a couple cans of corn and beans, a pack of water, a bottle of aspirin, and a memory foam mattress liner. I realized that if the apocalypse started, at that very moment, I would be absolutely fine. I had all of the elements and supplies needed to survive were in the building, if not already in my cart....   [tags: Zombie Apocalpse, Costco, Supplies]
:: 3 Works Cited
1075 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Disaster Preparedness: Zombie Apocalypse Campaign Through Relevant Media Outlets - One fateful afternoon in 2011, David Daigle, Associate Communication Director, at the Center for Disease Control (CDC), purchased eighty-seven dollars worth of zombie related stock photography – convinced that this would be the key to engaging a young and media savvy audience in a conversation about disaster preparedness. Daigle concluded – based on his personal affinity to zombie culture – that there are a similarities to the items one would need in a disaster kit and to those necessary to survive a zombie attack and that this unique connection would be relevant to a zombie crazed society....   [tags: communication strategies, zombie culture]
:: 7 Works Cited
1951 words
(5.6 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay on The Zombie Apocalypse: Revealing the Monster - Death is the scariest part of living. Humanity has always been acutely aware of this horrible inevitability, and as a result of this almost near obsession with mortality certain practices, precautions, and even religions have been developed to ease the weary minds on death. Self- preservation, preparedness and survival motivate almost faction of human interest and behavior but becoming prepared for the conceivable anything and asking all the “what if” questions in the world still might not save humanity when analyzing how many devastating catastrophes can essentially wipe out life on this planet with ease....   [tags: death, humanity, mortality, self-preservation]
:: 9 Works Cited
1791 words
(5.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Possibility of Zombie Apocalypse Essay - A zombie apocalypse is absolutely a possibility. When take a closer look there are many possibilities to which an apocalypse could happen. All though it may not be as Hollywood or video games have led us all to believe. The whole lumbering, brain-dead corpse thing has become a little overrated now-a-days, at least for me anyway. Today when we think about a zombie apocalypse we think of popular video games or movies released by some truly sick and demented people, who by the way probably have way too much time on their hands....   [tags: Factors, Spreading Diseases]
:: 1 Works Cited
1080 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Coping with the Zombie Apocalypse: Lessons From The Walking Dead Essay - Fear itself is seldom a cause of trauma in everyday existence, but having to face close-range interpersonal aggression is a traumatic experience of an entirely different magnitude (Grossman). During the initial outbreak of terror while everyone is scrambling to save his or her own life, survival mode kicks in and an individual starts to plan on saving one’s self. The need to be a powerful motivator drives an average person to do what any normal person would consider unthinkable. Abandoning monsters plaguing the entire world, helping others in need, or deciding to save one’s self is a decision that will be made....   [tags: Traumatic Experiences, Community Survival]
:: 1 Works Cited
963 words
(2.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
How Toy Story Helps Children Navigate Technology Essay - Technology is rapidly growing “to infinity and beyond” from games to cars, modern technology fully encompasses our daily lives leaving society helpless without it. In the early 90’s, society knows little of how much this new technology eventually influences their children’s lives, so parents portray outwardly no problems with having companies heavily advertising new electronic products to children. The results change the world. Now, technology intertwines with the fast-paced lives of the society, leaving some frustrated parents finding it difficult on ways to teach their children to balance both modern technology and manual labor....   [tags: Technology]
:: 3 Works Cited
1069 words
(3.1 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Technology Is The Seed Of Our Destruction Essay - At an early age children are given toys stimulate their brains. Legos, Lincoln logs, even the game Perfection, teach the young ones what shapes are and what they fit with. But soon Legos will no longer be relevant. Younger generations’ new “play toys” will be iPads, iPods, and numerous other tech gadgets. Our youth will grow up in a world where technology is always changing; having the mindset that nothing can be done without a smart phone, tablet, or computer. Today’s society is so tied to technology that we are losing grasp on the non-cyber reality....   [tags: Technology, Children]
:: 4 Works Cited
1178 words
(3.4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Operatic Melodrama in Apocalypse Now Essay - Operatic Melodrama in Apocalypse Now The political and social unrest of the 1970s provided Hollywood with some of its most influential films, often stemming from unlikely sources; two decades after melodrama's heyday, the genre re-emerged in an original form that continues to affect modern filmmaking. The historical influences of Italian opera and Hollywood family melodramas spawned a type of film that has been described as "historical, operatic, choral or epic" (Greene 388). Filmmakers of the 1970s explored the traditional modes of melodramatic expression in order to address the socially charged times they lived in....   [tags: Apocalypse Now Essays] 2286 words
(6.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Apocalypse Essay - She stayed away for as long as she could. Fighting towards the light, screaming and clawing in an attempt to get away from the body that was sucking her back in. The body that was supposed to be hers, but had ceased to be a sanctuary was calling her. It had become a joke, a cruel punch line, dangling release before her then snatching it away the moment before she reached it. She was desperate to escape the life that she had been imprisoned in and she fought every time even though she knew it was useless....   [tags: Creative Writing Examples] 1095 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Apocalypse Essay - Apocalypse There have been many stories written about the apocalypse or the end of human civilization. They often focus on man’s struggle to avoid annihilation. "War of the Worlds", by H.G. Wells and "Independence Day", directed by Dean Devlin and Roland Emmerich, are examples of the unique qualities of films concerning the end of human civilization. Such Apocalyptic films offer a unique perspective on human character in an extreme setting. Apocalyptic stories are unique because there is no historical event to use as a reference....   [tags: Apocalyptic Essays]
:: 5 Works Cited
1209 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]