Preview
Preview

We Can Stop Overpopulation Essay examples

:: 8 Works Cited
Length: 1238 words (3.5 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Overpopulation is when the demand of humans is too high for the supply of the earth. Many people do not consider this a threat or have even considered it. Many scientists believe that the world can hold up to 10 billion people which will be in the next 100 years. (Wolchover, 4) Will you or even your children be alive? To many of you the answer is yes. If the world’s fertility rate is above 2.1 children per woman then it is something we need to be conscious about. We can look at the history, present, and future of overpopulation to decide what the next step will be.
The first time the world’s population reached over one billion was estimated to be around A.D. 1804. How come it took us since the beginning of humanity to the year 1800 to reach one billion people? The next billion was reached only 123 years later in 1927. Three billion was reached only 33years after that. (Worldometers, 1)Why is it that we are reaching the next billion so quickly, is this a good or bad thing?
Since the Industrial Revolution we have reached the next billion people faster. We know that the Industrial Revolution allowed us to practice medicine, learn that living sanitary allows us to live longer, create new inventions, and create suburbanization. As humans we have been able to live longer due to breakthroughs in medical sciences. For example we have created vaccines for small pox, rabies, typhoid fever, the plague, and we are even looking for cancer cures. These viral diseases were threats to humanity and now they are at the same level as a common cold. The plague itself caused 75-200 million deaths. Historically humans could not reach the population count to a billion because they were either fighting each other for land and power or were fighting i...


... middle of paper ...


...atz, Joelle. "The Problem of Overpopulation and How We Can Work to Solve It." www.sundial.csun.edu/. Daily Sundial, 20 Nov. 2011. Web. 08 Feb. 2014.< http://sundial.csun.edu/2011/11/the-problem-of-overpopulation-and-how-we-can-work-to-solve-it/>
News Desk. "India's "sex Drive" Solution to Population Explosion." GlobalPost. GlobalPost – International News, 11 July 2011. Web. 08 Feb. 2014. < http://www.globalpost.com/dispatches/globalpost-blogs/weird-wide-web/indias-sex-drive-solution-population-explosion >.
Worldometers. "Current World Population." Worldometers: Real Time World Statistics. Worldometers, 2014. Web. 06 Feb. 2014. < http://www.worldometers.info/world-population/>
Wolchover, Natalie. "How Many People Can Earth Support?." LiveScience. TechMedia Network, 11 Oct. 2011. Web. 6 Feb. 2014. < http://www.livescience.com/16493-people-planet-earth-support.html >.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
We Must Stop Overpopulation and Pollution of Our Environment Essay - We Must Stop Overpopulation and Pollution of Our Environment Once we humans hit on the idea of agriculture about 10,000 years ago, we had a means for exponentially increasing our population. Even as mere 2-legged, wingless creatures, humans could expand to cover the world, and pull from the earth nutrients to support this massive layer of people. The population increase has continued, and there are disagreements as to if and when the increase will end. The number of people on this earth is the indirect problem; more directly, the problem is that 6.3 billion people need a lot of food to survive, and the earth can only support so much....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Argument Essays]
:: 5 Works Cited
1402 words
(4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Overpopulation’s Effect on Environment Essay - The increasing world’s population is a global issue and becomes a source of anxiety for many scholars and decision makers around the globe. U.S. Census Bureau estimated that population growth will persist into the 21st century, growing from 6 billion in 1999 to 9 billion by 2044 (2010). In a longer term, it is also projected that human population may keep increasing up to 36.4 billion in 2300 (United Nations, 2003). Population upsurge is considered a centre piece for a range of problems world would encounter in the future....   [tags: Overpopulation, Environment]
:: 14 Works Cited
899 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Overpopulation Problem in India Essay - ... Also India remains one of the poorest countries in the world, with one of the lowest capita per person rate in the world and low money means that these families can not support all of their kids. Lastly, on the world population scale, India is now 17% of the world population and the second most populated country in the world with over 1.8 billion people. India has grown from one of the smaller countries to become a massive force that grows so much every year it can not be controlled. In current India, there are many cases such as people are being paid to not have kids....   [tags: poverty, children, solutions] 519 words
(1.5 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Essay about What is Overpopulation? Does It Affect You? - What’s wrong with the world. Everyone is ignorant of the biggest problem we have; overpopulation. We produce way too many babies-75 million a year. The United Nation’s 2,000 scientists well know that overpopulation is the world’s only real problem. Get it. Earth only has one real problem, but we refuse to focus on it. This includes some of our scientists too; yes, they deny it too. They know that overpopulation is a serious issue, but avoid it anyways. Thousands of scientists have brilliant ideas to reduce the impact of global warming....   [tags: hunger, babies, scientists] 1026 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay Overpopulation in Asia - Every year the human population grows, every decade it grows twice as much. In 2000, the global population was a little over six billion. As of the year 2014, the human population has grown over seven billion people. Although people live in different areas and are somewhat spread out, there are some regions where it is densely populated. A lot of problems can occur just because of overpopulation, for example there could be major environmental changes, a decrease in living space, which could lead to huge amounts of overcrowding....   [tags: human population, china]
:: 4 Works Cited
946 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Causal Theory of Action: Overpopulation Essay - The problem of mental overpopulation is pretty easy to see. It is visible in situations like freezing on a test, cramping on the field, or overthrowing the first baseman. Basically, those times when you overthink or try to do too much in a situation, those thoughts actually become detrimental and stop us from performing as well as expected. Philosophers Ruben and Dreyfus do a really good job of highlighting this problem in the Causal Theory of Action. Thinkers like Davidson and Clarke do not do enough to solve this problem of mental overpopulation....   [tags: human action, philosophy]
:: 1 Works Cited
1309 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Plague of Overpopulation Essay - Critics are warning that at almost six and a half billion people currently inhabiting the world, we are coming dangerously close to the sustainable capacity of planet Earth. Overpopulation and attempts to control the whirlwind of reproduction that is plaguing both developing and developed nations has been dog-eared as one of the major concerns for the United Nations at the recent summit in Johannesburg. Both Edwin Dolan and Charles Southwick have cited the population explosion that started post-industrialization in their respective excerpts; "TANSTAAFL: The Economic Strategy for Economic Crisis" and Global Ecology and Human Perspective - as a problem deserving serious attention both in acade...   [tags: Environment Environmental Pollution Preservation]
:: 2 Works Cited
1925 words
(5.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
overpopulation a problem? Essay - Is Overpopulation a Serious Problem. This question seems to be question that is asked quite frequently lately. In the last two centuries, population has skyrocketed. In 1800 the world population was only at 1 billion, and today it’s estimated that the world population exceeds six billion people. With overpopulation, many problems have arisen. Some believe that overpopulation is the reason for world hunger, global population will reach crisis proportions by 2050, and some believe that overpopulation will bring the extinction of the human race....   [tags: essays research papers] 1446 words
(4.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Overpopulation Essay - It’s a dark, cold, rainy night. The wind chill can be compared to that of Arctic wastelands, only the rain won’t freeze and disappear upon contact to your skin, instead the freezing cold ice-rain pierces your flesh like a million needles. The cold doesn’t subdue. A dark, small, shadowy object can be seen scurrying across the unlit streets. This dreary atmosphere does Hell’s Kitchen in the New York ghetto no justice. Just the sight of steam rising from sewer grills, the sound of gunshots in the distance, and the smell of rotten fish makes this an unsavory environment to be exposed to....   [tags: essays research papers] 2645 words
(7.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Overpopulation Essay - During the first 2 million or so years of its history the human population was a minor element in the world ecosystem, with at most 10 million members. In the New Stone Age, less than 10,000 years ago, the number of humans began to increase more rapidly. The rough equilibrium maintained before Neolithic times gave way when the human population developed agriculture and animal husbandry and no longer had to spread out in search of game. With the abandonment of a hunting-gathering way of life and the rise of permanent settlements and eventually cities, the human population underwent dramatic growth....   [tags: Human Population]
:: 1 Works Cited
725 words
(2.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]