Preview
Preview

Vote for School Uniform: Vote for a Bright Future Essay

:: 7 Works Cited
Length: 1890 words (5.4 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Results from the “Stress in America” survey indicates, "'Many American teens report experiencing stress at unhealthy levels... teens report that stress is having an impact on their performance at home, work and school... stress levels were higher than that reported by adults"(Shapiro). While advancement in technology has enabled humans to live a safer and more comfortable lifestyle, the negative side effect of technology causes teens to feel a vast amount of stress. Due to the rapid advancement in education along with adolescence worries, teens constantly feel pressure whether it is personal or academic. However, due to the ever changing fashion trends, teens are using clothes as a way to make themselves feel superior. In today's busy and demanding society, the importance of a person's outer appearance has begun to overshadow an individual's interior and hidden characteristics. Mandatory school uniforms enable students and teachers to be in a healthy learning environment as it diminishes social pressure, improves school unity, and emphasizes education.
School uniforms are an ideal solution to the rapidly increasing pressure students must face as they try to balance and manage their taxing lifestyle. According to Ainsley Hartman, “As kids mature and begin to form self-identities, designer status symbols become more and more important as they try to fit in with their peers. All too often, children are bullied if they can’t afford the new designer jeans or the latest name brand shoes.” Students today are wearing different kinds of designs and styles, causing students to judge one another based on the clothes that they wear. Students are facing peer and social pressures, which include the fears of being a victim of bullying, due to ...


... middle of paper ...


...(IFT). "Skipping Breakfast Can Lead to Unhealthy Habits All Day Long." ScienceDaily. ScienceDaily, 29 June 2012. Web. 23 May 2014.
OCCUPYTHEORY. "Pros and Cons of School Uniforms Statistics." OccupyTheory Pros and
Cons of School Uniforms Statistics. OccupyTheory.org, 4 Jan. 2014. Web. 20 May 2014.
"Quotes about Uniform Policy." Long Beach Schools. Long Beach Unified School District, 2014. Web. 21 May 2014.
Runge, Lisa. "School Uniforms Don't Have to Cost so Much." - Greater Greater Education. Greater Greater Education, 25 Sept. 2013. Web. 20 May 2014.
"School Uniform Statistics." Statistic Brain RSS. Statistic Brain Research Institute, 1 Jan. 2014. Web. 20 May 2014.
"School Uniforms." PBS. PBS, 12 Oct. 1999. Web. 23 May 2014. Shapiro, Margaret. "Stressed out Teens, with School a Main Cause." Washington Post. The Washington Post, 18 Feb. 2014. Web. 23 May 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
School Uniforms are a Negative Influence to Society Essay - If compared to previous generations, the students living in the 21st century should have a bright future ahead of them. To create that future one must first go to school. Is the main purpose of school having to deal with oppression and injustice or is it to give children a proper education and an opportunity to learn. Mandatory school uniforms are a very controversial issue. Clothing impacts a student’s daily life. The clothes they choose to wear, makes them who they are. A student may choose to express who they are or who they want to become through the clothing they wear....   [tags: mandatory school uniforms, education]
:: 7 Works Cited
1382 words
(3.9 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Star Light, Star Bright Essay examples - Camping. Something I fond of. Since I was a kid, I solely love being with the nature as if I was born best friend for them. When I was in the primary school, I joined the Young Scouts Club, which was my favourite until I reached fifteen, but, the activity had to be forgotten since I move to the private school. A well-known, prestigious school which somewhat brings a weird feeling inside me. Honestly, I liked it more to study in my previous school, a public government school. I met some cool mates there, ordinary friends who came to school by foot, by bicycle, by bus with an innocent goal to study....   [tags: personal narrative] 724 words
(2.1 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Star Light, Star Bright Essay - Camping. Something I fond of. Since I was a kid, I solely love being with the nature as if I was born best friend for them. When I was in the primary school, I joined the Young Scouts Club until I reached fifteen, but I lost my interest when I got to get used to the new school. A well-known, prestigious high school which somewhat brings a peculiar feeling inside me. In good conscience, I love and comfortable in my previous school, a public government school. I met a few cool pals there, ordinary friends who came to school by foot, by bicycle, by bus with an innocent goal to study....   [tags: narrative essays] 1964 words
(5.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
School Uniform Debate Essay - “School Uniforms: Yes, or No” The concept of having school uniform is a topic that has been debated fir any years. Some students find uniforms necessary, others just hate the colors. I think that the students who think uniforms are unnecessary are wrong. Uniforms are an excellent idea and can help school students be more disciplined, have an equal environment, and enjoy greater academics. School uniforms are a great way to maintain a level of social equality. There are more positive effects of wearing school uniforms than negative....   [tags: School Uniforms] 521 words
(1.5 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay about The Benefits of Uniform Adoption in Public Schools - Ever wonder what it would look like to have all students wearing the same white polo shirt, black pants, and a district sweater walking in the hallway. Nowadays, public school and many districts are discussing the possibilities of enforcing the uniform policy. In most places, many private schools already require students to have their mandatory uniforms; however, there are only a few public schools adopting this mandatory school-uniform polices as one of their enrollment requirements. The reason why not all public schools participated was because people believe that they are violating the freedom of choice when enforcing this mandatory uniform policy; yet problems such as bullying and segr...   [tags: Public School Districts, School Uniforms]
:: 1 Works Cited
1276 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
School Uniforms Improve Children's Safety Essay - Since school uniforms have become more and more common in the United States, there has been one issue that many, of the parents and students are worried about. Many believe the children will not have the ability to express themselves freely. The First Amendment guarantees our right to free expression. This means that students do not leave their First Amendment rights outside the schoolhouse door, but their opinions can be limited to prevent major disruptions to classes and outside activities. To make this statement more clear, in 2003, a high school senior was suspended from school for wearing a tee-shirt of President George W....   [tags: School Uniform Essays]
:: 12 Works Cited
539 words
(1.5 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
School Uniform Policy Essay - Every year there is a new debate going on in the public schools about whether or not school uniforms are necessary. Some parents think that school uniforms should be enforced, as they feel it brings structure, safety, modesty and a lack of ridicule to our children. On the other hand, there are parents that argue that it takes away a child’s freedom of expression, independence, free spirit and individuality. Both of these arguments are valid, I hope to help give some insight into this subject, so that you can gather current and valid information....   [tags: social barriers, public schools]
:: 4 Works Cited
1684 words
(4.8 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Implementing Uniforms In School is The Right Thing To Do Essay - The argument whether uniforms should be allowed in school has been debated over the last few decades. Implementing a uniform policy within schools would help reduce the rise of violent crimes. In today's high schools, too many innocent youths become fatalities due to gang warfare that has spread into the school system. Many parents feel that if a uniform policy was implemented the spread of gang warfare and the idea children have to have name brand clothing would decrease drastically. However others are worried that this policy would infringe on students First Amendment rights....   [tags: school student uniform policy] 1548 words
(4.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Graduation Speech: The Future is Bright - Our most distinguished guests, beloved parents, members of the faculty of County High School, fellow members of the graduating class, ladies and gentlemen, good afternoon. Four years ago, a new high school was established in the County area. Its establishment created mixed feelings. and expectations from the community. Questions such as: What kind of a high school could this be. Would this be able to uphold academic excellence as well as social and cultural values which most parents would like their children to internalize and live with....   [tags: Graduation Speech, Commencement Address] 629 words
(1.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
High School Uniform Polices Essay - High School Uniform Polices Hello, I am here today to tell you about a problem that I see in our high schools. This problem is that there is not a uniform policy in all of schools. There are many arguments for and against having a uniform policy in the school systems. Some would argue that having a uniform would limit kids from their self-expression and individuality. While others believe that this is a good idea so that there is not any “labels” in our schools. By this I mean that poor and rich kids will not be noticed by what they wear....   [tags: Teaching Public Schools] 1066 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]