Preview
Preview

Using Technology to Improve Education Essay

:: 12 Works Cited
Length: 2180 words (6.2 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Purchasing a new technological gadget can be an exciting experience. After tearing through stubborn security labels, discarding excessive wasteful inner packaging, and tolerating the scent of new plastic wafting through the air, the consumer finally reaches their electronic goodie. Without power, the device is useless. It is simply a plastic brick with some fancy buttons attached. However, when this device is given a source of energy, it comes to life, and brings to its user access to entertainment, information, or communication. Many people treasure their high end technologies, and use them on a day to day basis. What some people fail to see is the full potential of their device. Their electronic gadget, when in their own hands, improves their happiness and quality of life. That same gadget in the hands of a student can promote knowledge gain, personal growth, and allows them to receive an overall better education. The educational experience in America can be enhanced greatly by utilizing various new technologies available today.
One of the fastest growing technological trends in the classroom is the integration of computers. The appeal in using computers is seen in its wide capabilities; the possibilities are virtually endless. A computer in today's world can do almost anything for its user, so of course it can be used to enhance a student's learning experience. Use of computers and their complementing technologies in the classroom present a teacher with many options. When the teachers have options, the students can greatly benefit from experiencing a wide variety of teaching methods. “Research shows that children who use computers in an academic setting experience better development than children who do not use compu...


... middle of paper ...


...oir Fitz Gibbon. “Is IT worth it?.” Teaching With Technology, Rethinking Tradition. Les Lloyd. Medford, NJ: Information Today. 2010. Pg. 23-37.

Hernandez, Marjorie. “Governer launches digital textbook initiative in Calabasas.” Ventura County Star. N.p. 8 JUN 2009. Web. 16 FEB 2012.

“Interactive Whiteboards in the Classroom.” Florida School for the Deaf and Blind. US Department of Education. 6 NOV 2009. Web. 17 FEB 2012.

“Internet.” Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary. Merriam-Webster Online. 2010. Web. 8 MAR 2012.

Perry, Bruce D. Interview. “Using Technology in the Early Childhood Classroom.” By Kimberly Moore Kneas. Scholastic. n.d. Web. 8 FEB 2012.

Shen, Lynda. “Ebooks are especially suitable for educational purposes. Why is that so?.” ebook88. N.p. n.d. Web. 15 FEB 2012.

“Software for the tablet PC.” Tabletpc2. Blue Thunder. n.d. Web. 8 MAR 2012.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Education and Technology Essay - Assumptions, Limitations, Scope and Delimitation The study will help establish whether participating teachers are curious and eager to learn new skills that will provide additional teaching opportunities. It is assumed that teachers are curious and eager to learn how to infuse advanced technology and also develop an understanding of instructing with available technological tools such as wireless laptop technology (Marino, Sameshima, & Beecher, 2009). The limitations are as follows: first, the amount of time available for the researcher to conduct this study, which may also limit the study’s scope to a smaller group of respondents....   [tags: Education, Computer and Technology] 1467 words
(4.2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Technology Use In Education: The Movement To Revolutionize Education Essay - As time progresses, so do the tools available to society. This progression can most notably be seen in technology, which is, as Encyclopedia Britannica puts it, “the use of knowledge to invent devices or tools. Throughout history, technology has made people’s lives easier.” This technological progression has heralded the revolutionary use of the progressing technology to educate young children all over the United States of America. Most citizens here support it, while a small percentage hate its very concept....   [tags: education, educators, tablets, brain use]
:: 6 Works Cited
1735 words
(5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Technology: A Catalyst of Education - Technology has played a big role in the change of education throughout the years. The research paper entitled Technology: A Catalyst of education aims to explain the importance of technology in education today, and to discover if education is a big factor in making a school a better place to learn for students. It will tackle mostly about technologies’ positive effects to our daily lives and the use of technology in classrooms. Technology is the making, adjustment, usage, and acquaintance of tools, machines, techniques, crafts, systems, and methods of organization....   [tags: usb, projectors, technology, education]
:: 5 Works Cited
2389 words
(6.8 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay about The Effective Use of Technology In Education - Based on what I have read, technology effectiveness is a highly debated and argued topic among educators. There are many myths and misconceptions that even I myself have argued about technology use. For example, I always assumed that because I was a young, new teacher and used technology that most teachers who used technology were new and young like me. According to the article Research dispels common ed-tech myths, this idea is not the case. Veteran teachers are just as likely to use technology as new, young teachers (eSchool News Staff, 2010)....   [tags: Education] 2068 words
(5.9 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Use of Technology in Physical Education Essay - Teaching Physical Education in an elementary school can be a rather difficult task. Even when the subject of PE is brought up in a casual conversation the general response is something to the effect of “all you do is roll the balls out and watch the kids play.” If the teacher does not keep things interesting, class participation will fall by the wayside. There are many ways to combat this lack of understanding in PE. The teacher must always be able to relate classroom activities to the real world, higher order thinking must be involved and there must be an effective use of technology to keep students active....   [tags: elementary Education] 1006 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Integrating Technology in Education Essay - Integrating Technology in Education Educational technologies are being utilized in every facet of school education. Increasingly, teachers are asking students to access information from technological sources. Methods of instruction must change in order to keep up with the ever-changing world and we, as teachers must cease the technological movement. There are many factors and activities that can help teachers develop an attitude that is intrepid in the use of technology, encourages them to take risks, and inspires them to involve technology in the classroom environment....   [tags: School Education Technology]
:: 5 Works Cited
1751 words
(5 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay on The Internet and Technology - The Internet and Technology Technology today has made an impact in our everyday lives. Technology offers many advances in the world. One of the areas of impact is in the field of education. An important technological advance has been movies and videos. Some would say these have become vital teaching tools. Technology as a whole has made way for several new conventions, some good, and some bad. While there are several advantages to using technology to enhance education, there are also several disadvantages....   [tags: Technological Technology papers]
:: 3 Works Cited
1324 words
(3.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Technology and Education Essay - Technology and Education When I first stepped foot into a Towson University classroom I was surprised by what I saw. What I saw was something I thought only belonged in corporate meeting rooms. This device I speak of was a digital overhead projector. For me this was something new and very exciting. Where I went to school the idea of technology was a television with a VCR on a rolling stand. This change in technology was far superior than I had ever imagined and this is why I was I chose this topic to research....   [tags: essays papers] 1184 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Technology and Education Essay - Technology and Education Education is one of the most important professions in the working world. Technology has done many things for us in today’s society especially for education and schools. Technology in the school system has impacted the students and teachers in many positive ways, including virtual field trips, testing tips, teacher resources, class web sites, and lesson plans. With computer use in our schools, we have access to many different sources and various types of learning. Virtual field trips are a good way for kids to learn and get involved with computers....   [tags: Teaching Education Essays School ] 695 words
(2 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
The Impact of Technology on Education Essay - The Impact of Technology on Education Technology affects every aspect of our lives. From romance to business, it has shown its presence everywhere. But technology has had a huge impact on education that cannot be denied, and has done nothing but improve the quality and quantity of education. Today, schools are being pressured more and more to improve the technology they use and teach in the classrooms. Parents are placing this pressure on schools so that their students have the skills needed to compete in the real world job market....   [tags: Teaching Education Essays] 1237 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]