Preview
Preview

Testing is Overrated Essay

:: 5 Works Cited
Length: 999 words (2.9 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Students dread the time of the year when they stop with their course material and begin to prepare for test. Everyone is in agreement that some type of revolution is needed when it comes to education; eliminating standardized test will aid the reform. The need for standardized testing has proven to be ineffective and outdated; some leading educationalist also believe this because the tests do not measure a student’s true potential. This will save money, stop labeling, and alleviate stress in students and teachers.
Now more than ever, money is scarce and one way to increase this money supply is by the elimination of standardized testing. The cost for standardized testing in 2nd graders is roughly estimated to be between $2-$4 million, and the cost even greater at the high-school level (Fridy). The money that would be saved would be set aside to better prepare students for college. Purchasing updated textbooks, laptops, and technologies would greatly enhance the student’s learning environment. An environment that greatly enhances a student’s ability, would allow the student to become better prepared for college with the knowledge from the course materials.
Students should not have to take a test just to enter in to college because students are more than a test score, they are people too. Why are students compared with a test score that – more often than not - does not reflect their academic ability? These tests are biased because people write the questions and, therefore, they can make the question wordy and choose which ones to omit (Pollard). These test do not measure a person’s intelligence; rather, their test taking ability. As proof, the ACT science portion of the test do not pertain to science knowledge at all; rather, it ...


... middle of paper ...


...er — must act on that understanding and move forward.” This is why testing needs to be eliminated, so that America can student’s as people based on credibility and character; rather than as a number.

WORKS CITED:
Anderson, Karen., and Diana B. Henriques. “Pearson…s SAT Scoring Errors Affect 4,000 Students.” The Tech [Cambridge]. 10 Mar. 2006: 14. 20 Nov. 2009

Duncan, Arne. "Partners in Reform." Reform Education. White House, Washington, DC. 2 July 2009. Speech.

Fridy, Linda. "The Mid-County Post." The Mid-County Post. The Great Exchange, 15 Apr. 2009. Web. 18 Nov. 2009.

Margie. "Considering the Pros and Cons of Standardized Testing."
News At Bright Hub. Bright Hub Inc, 12 Nov. 2009. Web. 18 Nov. 2009.

Pollard, Jonathan. "Measuring What Matters Least." Standardized
Testing: Measuring What Matters Least. World Prosperity, LTD. Web. 18 Nov. 2009.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay about The Morality of Animal Testing in Scientific Research - The Morality of Animal Testing in Scientific Research Animal testing is not a new thing. For many centuries scientists and testers in research have used animals of all kinds. Most of the animals are small ones like rodents - rats, mice, hamsters and gerbils. Some dogs, cats and a variety of goats, monkeys and rabbits have also been used. The animal rights issue is an emotional one. For decades the value of animal research has been grossly overrated. Although researchers claim that they depend on animal test data to achieve medical advances, we should demand other means of research and there should be laws assuring a minimum level of animal protection because testing on animals is cruel, inh...   [tags: Animal Testing] 1290 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Testing in Educational Facilities Essay - Testing in Educational Facilities A puddle of saliva covers my book as I wake up to the buzzing of my alarm. Oh no. My head was heavy and waking up was not something I wanted to do, especially when I realized that I fell asleep while I was studying for my chemistry test. I had fifteen minutes to get ready for school. At that point showering was not going to be my priority. I had fifteen minutes to memorize as much information as I possibly could. But I knew it wasn’t going to be easy, in fact, merely impossible....   [tags: Learning Test Tests Argumentative Essays]
:: 3 Works Cited
1862 words
(5.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Medical Testing On Animals - Animals have been used in medical research for centuries. Most of the animals used for research are rodents - rats, mice, hamsters and gerbils. Some dogs, cats and a variety of goats, ferrets, pigeons, monkeys and rabbits are also used .The struggle against this tyranny is a struggle as important as any of the moral and social issues that have been fought over in recent years. Animal rights are an emotional issue-second only, perhaps, to the bitter abortion debate." For decades the value of animal research has been grossly overrated....   [tags: essays research papers] 554 words
(1.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Specialists are Not Overrated - The speaker's contention that generalists are more important than specialists is, in some respect, a reflection of the current problems in our society. Specialists are clearly more preferred for very technical or highly specialized fields but, at the same time, the understanding of what we as human species are and where our evolution or the progress is directed does require much broader perspective. First let's acknowledge that specialists are not overrated and sometimes even greater specialization is required in some fields, such as medicine, scientific inquiry or sports....   [tags: specialists, generalists, philosophy, ] 701 words
(2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Avoiding Stress During Testing Essay - Testing is important because it is one of the ways to evaluate our performance in school as well as in regular activities such as obtaining a drivers license, employment etc, but it can create high levels of anxiety to the test taker. Stress is usually a result of misconception of what is on the test, as well as the preparation of the test taker. In order to have a successful test taking experience, it is important to implement test taking strategies. We will cover a few to help you have a positive testing experience....   [tags: Testing, ] 451 words
(1.3 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Animal Testing Essay - Animal Testing As history shows man has endured and overcome many diseases and illnesses. These diseases killed many people and caused many to suffer. Most of these diseases have been cured do to mans medical research. Medical research has improved people’s lives along with increased life expectancy greatly. These medical breakthroughs have helped mankind in many ways, but in order to achieve these advances in medicine many animals suffered through testing. These test done to animals have improved the lives of many humans who would have suffered themselves....   [tags: Animal Testing]
:: 5 Works Cited
990 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Animal Testing Essay - Animal Testing In the 1880’s, Louis Pasteur conducted one of the most unpleasant series of animal experiments in the history of the fight against infectious disease. Unable to see the organism that causes rabies with the microscopes available, he convinced a skeptical medical community of the microorganism’s existence and also the possibility of vaccinating against it. He did this by doing work on rabbits and dogs. In 1885, after much heart searching, he tried out his rabies vaccine on a nine-year old boy, Joseph Meister, who had been bitten 14 times by a rabid dog....   [tags: Animal Testing] 686 words
(2 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Animal Testing Essay - Is it right to take the life of an innocent animal. Animals have been burnt, crushed, sliced, electrocuted, tortured with drugs, poisoned with toxic chemicals, and tormented in psychological testing. They do all these test just to make money or find if a chemical is safe for humans. Is this right. Lab experimentation involving animals is inhumane. Animal testing is cruel because an animal s life is just as important as a human s life, people are exploiting animals, and animal testing doesn’t t show whether or not a product is safe for humans....   [tags: Animal Testing] 418 words
(1.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Animal Testing Essay - Animal Testing Animal testing is the running of tests and the research done in a laboratory on animals. Some of the tests are done to benefit human lives and other tests are done to determine side effects of a certain household or cosmetic products. It is a topic that has been up for debate for many years not only in the United States, but all around the world. While some support the advances that come from the research others oppose the cruelty that the media projects to society. No matter what one’s opinion of the subject is, it is still something that our society and culture deals with....   [tags: Animal Testing] 809 words
(2.3 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Animal Testing Essay - Animal Testing Speaking Outline: Animal Testing Specific Purpose: To persuade my audience about the three major ways of how scientific experiments on animal is inhumane. Introduction I. Put yourself into an animal’s position. Imagine that you are being poked and probed by needles for the benefits of humans. II. Animals are being abuse more and more everyday in scientific experiments. III. I have pets and I’m against animal testing, so knowing that animals are used in research is appalling. IV. Some research and scientific experiments are impractical and immoral....   [tags: Animal Testing] 581 words
(1.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]