Preview
Preview

Teaching Numeracy to Adults with Learning Disabilities Essay

:: 7 Works Cited
Length: 2489 words (7.1 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Aqua      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Introduction

As an employee of County Community College, I teach an Adult Basic Skills Numeracy class. I originally started the academic year with 18 learners, but by April 2015 I had approximately 6 learners per session. Most learners are female, of Afro-Caribbean or African origin and aged between 20 and 50 years. It has been suggested that many learners see numeracy as a male domain (Cemen, 1987; Gutbezahl, 1995; Levine, 1995; Miller et al, 1994) and I have noticed that I teach predominantly female learners who are particularly shy and have low self esteem. They are also full of self doubt and lack confidence in their mathematical ability and some do not see numeracy as a useful subject when compared to literacy. To some it is just a means to an end and not something to learn for the sake of self-improvement.

Most learners are not in full time employment when they start the course, but as the course proceeds, approximately half of all learners will leave to take a job. The main motivation of learners is to achieve a numeracy qualification and couple this with a literacy qualification and use this as route for entry into the Access to Higher Education programs offered either by County Community College or neighboring colleges. Most of the learners can see the benefit of gaining qualifications as a way of improving their lifestyles by allowing them to have more employment options. The majority of learners have school age children and it has been noted that a lot of the learners want to make a good example for their children in regards to education and employment.

I have chosen two learners to use for a case study of learning difficulties experienced by adult numeracy learners. The learning difficulties that are ...


... middle of paper ...


...on to the special section. Journal of Experimental Psychology: General 130 (June): 163

http://www.mindtools.com/pages/article/newTCS_05.htm23/07/2007 Physical Relaxation Technique: Deep Breathing, PMR and the Relaxation Technique [accessed July 2007]

http://www.mathacademy.com/pr/minitext/anxiety/23/07/2007 Coping with Math Anxiety [accessed July 2007]

http://www.sciencenews.org/articles/20010630/fob4.asp23/07/2007 Math fears subtract from memory, learning [accessed July 2007]

Trujillo, K. M., Tracing the Roots of Mathematics Anxiety through In-Depth Interviews with Preservice Elementary Teachers http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0FCR/is_2_33/ai_62839422 [accessed July 2007]

Bibliography

Cofield, F. et al. 2004. Learning styles and pedagogy in post-16 learning: A systematic and critical review. Learning and Skills Research Centre, London.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Accommodations for Students with Learning Disabilities Essay - Introduction During my intermediate school years, one of my classmates was studying all the time even during breaks and recesses. Daily, all the students were playing, chatting, and enjoying their time with their friends except this girl who had no one to hang out with other than her books. Regardless of her consecutive hard work and perseverance, she was eventually getting low scores, and she was always failing. At that time, the schools at my country were not paying full attention to learning disabilities....   [tags: Learning Disabilities]
:: 7 Works Cited
1883 words
(5.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Teaching Writing to Students with Autism - Every year there are more and more children born with Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) and there is more of a need for accommodation for their needs. “The future will likely present teachers with even more students with learning disabilities” (Gerstle and Walsh 35). With these numbers increasing, it is important for teachers and the people around them to understand their struggles and needs. Children and adults with ASD struggle in many areas. They have difficulties taking on daily activities that most people take for granted....   [tags: Teaching Students with Autism]
:: 6 Works Cited
2045 words
(5.8 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Essay on Learning Disabilities - Learning Disabilities      When a child doesn’t seem to be learning, some teachers and parents in his/her life might criticize the child and think of them as stupid, or maybe just too lazy to want to learn. What they don’t realize is that the child might have a learning disability. But how are these children being helped. There are many programs, special schools and facilities, home teaching methods and many other ways in which children with Learning Disabilities are being helped. There are many different types of learning disabilities; the most common ones are dyslexia and attention deficit disorder....   [tags: Disability children Learn Education Essays]
:: 3 Works Cited
1295 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Educating Students With Disabilities - We are required as special education teachers by law under Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) to make sure that students with disabilities get a free and appropriate education in the least restrictive environment. When changes occur in education we are required to make sure that all students are included in those changes. According to the reading, research has shown that educating students with disabilities in the General Education setting has been successful based on data collected. Implementing inclusion/collaboration in the public schools was known as another step for improving the education of students with disabilities....   [tags: Education] 607 words
(1.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Educating Students With Emotional and Behavior Disorders Essay - In reading chapter seven of the textbook, the education of students with emotional and behavior disorders was not common before the turn of the twentieth century. Before children were thought of as having mental illnesses, many researchers thought that this was only diagnosed in adults. For a child to be known to have a mental issue back in the nineteenth century was said to be evil or satanic. It was very challenging to study emotional behavior disorders in children. Unfortunately, there was no way to describe the disorder....   [tags: special education, learning disabilities, teaching] 872 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Teaching Status Report Essays - Teaching Status Report After the wondering, dreading, and preparing, I am teaching in a middle school classroom. I entered the school feeling very ready. After weeks of studying, discussing, and writing about topics related to teaching, I was ready to implement my learning. During my first week I started by simply observing my cooperating teacher. From this observation, I have formed many opinions and views on my teacher’s approaches to classroom management and other topics. In regards to classroom management and discipline, my cooperating teacher is a naturally confident and strong-minded individual....   [tags: Education JPE Teaching Teachers Essays] 1386 words
(4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Dyscalculia: Misunderstanding Numbers - ... Typically adults don’t notice something’s wrong with students until the child have fallen two years behind in school. By then children learn to cover up their disability. A student named Steven Zupon is going to graduate with honors this spring and is waiting for his acceptance letters from universities from all over the country, but Steven says most of his academic career, he was a different kind of student. He said he wasn’t that nice to people, he was a bully. He had a lot of trouble concentrating in class, so instead he goofed off....   [tags: learning disabilities, socialization]
:: 8 Works Cited
886 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Special Education in the US and Denmark Essay - The human right to have access to education is an international concern for people with disabilities. Countries have evolved from desegregation and separation to inclusive educational systems where students with disabilities. Denmark was one of the first countries for inclusion in school systems and special education within the regular school system has existed for 99 years, and special teacher training has a 66-year history (Egelund, 2000). The United States government has passed laws to include students in general education by mainstreaming them into public schools....   [tags: special needs, disabled, learning disabilities] 1501 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Individuals with Disabilities Act Essays - Individuals with Disabilities Act Everyone says, "We need to help the schools more, it's all about the students." An act was created in 1975, to help those students who were disabled. This law has been criticized by many administrators and teachers. Over the years, because of these criticisms it has been revised and expanded throughout different schools. Higher education figures, such as principles, need to look closely at this act. They're have been cases in schools that have discriminated against this law....   [tags: essays papers]
:: 9 Works Cited
1553 words
(4.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Struggles Facing LD Students Essay - The Struggles Facing LD Students Students with learning disabilities are a part of the educational system and they always will be. These students have a single goal in mind, but their disability and social barriers keep them from it. On the other hand, educators have pledged to teach all students, but some fail to teach LD students. This represents an ethical, moral, and legal breakdown of their responsibilities. Educators need to be properly trained and aware of how to meet the needs of these students....   [tags: Learning Disabilities Education Essays]
:: 2 Works Cited
1320 words
(3.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]