Preview
Preview

Steroids Effects on People's lives Essay

:: 13 Works Cited
Length: 1250 words (3.6 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bigger, faster, stronger. Is the use of steroids to achieve these physical traits worth the potential risk ? Not to mention the ethical questions that using performance enhancement poses in sports and competition. People all around the world are using steroids to either use for medical prescription or for physical sports. You may hear a lot about steroids abuse for athletes all around the world. People of most ages are using them and we don't even know it most the time. From middle school, high school, and adults use this type of drug. Steroids in fact are not illegal, but you would have to get a “special” prescription from the doctors. There are also a couple different types of steroids. In this essay, you will be learning and getting a whole lot of information about performance-enhancing substance.
There are many different types of anabolic steroids that have been manufactured over the past decades. The goal of the chemist is to promote the anabolic effect of the drug while decreasing the androgenic effects that are most often associated with potential side effects that can be life changing or threatening. The different types of anabolic steroids are Testosterone, Androstenedione, Stanozolol, Durabolin, Dianabol, Nandrolone. ( Anabolic Steroid Abuse Side Effects) Obviously, there are a bunch of different types of steroids. You shouldn’t be using steroids unless you get a doctor’s prescription directly from your doctor.
Stories about athletes and steroids seem to pop up regularly in the news. (Steroids) The most common sport that I notice that has the attention of “steroids users” is baseball. “Home Run King” Barry Bonds, Jason Giambi, Jeremy Giambi, Ryan Braun, Roger Clemens, Eliezer Alfonso, Nelson Cruz, and many more have b...


... middle of paper ...


...: Know the Risks.” -Mayo Clinic. N.P., n.d Web 26 Jan. 2014
"Steroids." KidsHealth - the Web's Most Visited Site about Children's Health. Ed. Steven Dowshen. The Nemours Foundation, 01 Oct. 2013. Web. 26 Jan. 2014.
"Steroids." KidsHealth. Ed. Steven Dowshen. The Nemours Foundation, 01 Oct. 2013. Web. 02 Feb. 2014.
"Anabolic Steroid Abuse." Why Do People Abuse Anabolic Steroids? N.p., n.d. Web. 02 Feb. 2014.
"Journal of Steroids & Hormonal Science." OMICS Group. N.p., n.d. Web. 05 Feb. 2014.
"Steroids: Just the Facts." Steroids: Just the Facts. N.p., n.d. Web. 05 Feb. 2014.
"All about Anabolic Steroids - Sustanon, Dianabol, Winstrol, Deca Durabolin." All about Anabolic Steroids - Sustanon, Dianabol, Winstrol, Deca Durabolin. N.p., n.d. Web. 06 Feb. 2014.
"Historical Timeline - Sports and Drugs - ProCon.org." ProConorg Headlines. N.p., n.d. Web. 27 Feb. 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Addiction to Steroids in the Book Drugs and Sports by Rodney G. Peck Essay - ... “ We know steroids use among boys usually is more driven by appearance- related motives as opposed to performance enhancement, as we see with pro athletes” Blashill said,” the motives are a bit different”.In the book “ Drugs and Sports” the author Rodney G.Peck states that, “ when a person is addicted to the drug, he or she craves the drug. The person that he or she needs the drug to feel normal.” Performance enhancing drugs have a lot of health problems. The National Institute on Drug Abuse states that,” the major side effects include liver and kidney damage, cancer, and high blood pressure.” You might say so is Ok i can beat all of those diseases, well probably you can but you might n...   [tags: gay and bisexuals, anabolic-androgenic steroids] 594 words
(1.7 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay about The Effects of Anabolic Steroids on Athletes - In today’s society in athletics, muscle mass and strength seem more important than in years past. It is believed that many athletes use anabolic steroids to increase their muscle mass and also their strength. Anabolic steroids are a group of synthetic hormones that promote the storage of proteins and the growth of tissue, sometimes used by athletes to increase muscle size and strength. Before the mid 1970’s the use of anabolic androgenic steroids (AAS) was used mainly by highly trained athletes especially those involved in weight training....   [tags: sports] 1662 words
(4.7 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on The Effects of Anabolic Steroids - ... Aggression is also the most reported side effects of the use of steroids in adults and teenagers. Those that used AAS were most likely to be aggressive and act in violent ways when those who were not. This is what the name “roid rage” comes from. (Lumia, McGinnis, 2010). The use in steroid use has increased dramatically in recent years with males. It is mostly used among adolescent males aging from as young as 11 to gain body mass and strength for completive sports. Using of this drug can serve life-long consequences and be permanent....   [tags: testosterone, growth, sexual functioning]
:: 8 Works Cited
1478 words
(4.2 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Mistakes People Make With Steroids Essay - Mistakes People Make With Steroids Most people have the goal and dream to have the perfect body. They believe they will be more popular, or attractive if they achieve the body that they desire. But what lengths will people go to, to get the perfect body. One of the biggest problems in sports today, as many people know, is Steroids. Steroids can do wonders for your body, not only on the positive side, but the negative side as well. We all know they work, but are we willing to risk our health and life to get stronger and bigger....   [tags: essays research papers] 1178 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Consequences of Steroids - Approximately one to three million people in the united states have used steroids (performance enhancing drugs) steroids are enhancement drugs that are used to increase performance in sports or to treat, cure or prevent health issues. These sports enhancements are a great tool to in to increase effectiveness in sport and everyday life, as well as maintaining a healthy life lifestyle. All forms of steroids should be available for public to buy over the counter in stores to help treat, cure, prevent health issues, and increase overall effective in everyday life style.Steroids can come in pills or injections that can ease the pain....   [tags: Rheumatoid Arthritis, Psychosis]
:: 4 Works Cited
1113 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on About Steroids - Many people have had their lives ruined by the use of illegal steroids, yet the desired effects are so overwhelming that people tend to overlook the consequences. Steroid users believe taking anabolic steroids will enhance their performance, strength, size,etc. They regard the use of them as legitimate as any other aspect of training. To begin with, the term "anabolic " means "to build tissue," therefore anabolic steroids tend to increase constructive metabolic pathways within the body....   [tags: essays research papers] 1059 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Steroids: A Growing Role in Society Essay - Steroids: A Growing Role in Society Dear Mr.: Here is my research project on steroids and its effect on society. While conducting my research I have learned that steroids are becoming a serious and dangerous problem in society. I believe that my research project would be a good reference for anyone interested in the science and culture of steroids in America. Some of the topics I covered in my project are topics that have for the most part been ignored by most scholarly works on steroids. For example, I have devoted a whole section of my paper to the prevention and care of steroid use....   [tags: Sports Drugs Steroid Essays ]
:: 6 Works Cited
2945 words
(8.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Appearance and Steroids Essay - Appearance and Steroids Why does our appearance have such an impact on our lifestyles. Do people need huge muscles and beautiful bodies to be noticed. Many people feel we do, and that's why steroid use is at its highest. People still use the drug even though they know the risks. Is this shortcut for muscular gain worth sickness, disease or fatality. People should understand what steroids do to their bodies and minds before they decide to use the drug. The consumption of steroids has a negative effect on the body and people that use steroids are destroying their lives....   [tags: Papers] 2853 words
(8.2 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay about Steroids - A bloodcurdling high-pitched squeal followed by the sound of flesh tearing disrupts the humid and misty environment. The ground shakes as the smell of blood draws in the masses, a feeding frenzy soon follows. Competitions have been held on planet Earth since the beginning of time. Humans began to compete as soon as we laid foot upon our beautiful planet. At first, our competitions were held to see who would eat, who would drink, or to see who would reproduce. Human competition was about life or death and only the strong were guaranteed survival....   [tags: essays research papers] 2856 words
(8.2 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Anabolic Steroids - Anabolic Steroids "Anabolic steroids" is the familiar name for synthetic substances related to the male sex hormones (androgens). They promote the growth of skeletal muscle (anabolic effects) and the development of male sexual characteristics (androgenic effects), and also have some other effects. The term "anabolic steroids" will be used through-out this report because of its familiarity, although the proper term for these compounds is "anabolic-androgenic" steroids. Anabolic steroids were developed in the late 1930s primarily to treat hypogonadism, a condition in which the testes do not produce sufficient testosterone for normal growth, development, and sexual functioning....   [tags: Papers Research Drugs Essays] 4384 words
(12.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]