Preview
Preview

Racial Profiling of Arabic People after September 11 Essay examples

:: 4 Works Cited
Length: 1196 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

A series of tragic events occurred in United States. On September 11th, 2001 the Twin Towers in New York City were destroyed by two planes that were hijacked by Arabic people. As planes were crashing into the Twin Towers, regular people saw the tragedy take place. All they could do was stare in despair as they watched the towers come crumbling down. The Pentagon in Virginia also was also crashed into by a hijacked plane. Thousands died and many were left injured. The Arabian people laughed and cheered at the sad moment that took place in the United States. The Unites States will never forget what happened. The Arabian People scarred us for life. After the attacks on September 11th, 2001, there was a dramatic increase in racial profiling against Arabic people in the United States.
Americans were pissed off and angry at the Arabian race. As they giggled and smiled, we were all frowning and crying at the sadness that took over our nation. The Unites States defines racism as a discrimination of another race made by another race or the same race; also known as hatred. The Arabian community had a huge controversy in Israeli. “The Israeli citizens are forcing the Arab people to migrate and disguard their citizenships. Israeli “public opinion” on Arabic people is that they’re “enemies” and “traitors”. (Crider 1). It may feel unfair to them, but why would you want terrorist living in the community. Since the dramatic event that occurred in the Unites States, there has been many, not only local but global racial comments towards the Arabian race. Did you know that Arabian people have a much greater fear of immigration or hate crimes than any other race since September 11th, 2001? (Ramahi 1) Arabian race is discrimi...


... middle of paper ...


...o accept the people for their flaws and overall their race. Arabian people have yet to be forgiving for an incident that happened over 10 years ago, for the United States future, I see us getting stronger and maybe even being more accepting on the Arabian race. The Historical Impact is that since September 11, 2001, the Unites States has been racist towards them, leaving many with broken dreams and hard lives.





Works Cited
Ramahi Swanson. “Israel’s discrimination against Arab citizens..” Memo: Middle East Monitor. June 2010. Print.

Haulley, Fletcher. Critical Perspectives on 9/11, New York: The Rosen Publishing Company, 2005

Roleff, Tamara. America Under Attack: Primary Sources. San Diego, California: Lucent Books, 2002

Elliott, Andrea, After 9/11, Arab-Americas Fear Politics Acts, Study Finals.” New York Times. June 2006, 2. U.S. 3/8/11



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Stereotyping and Racial Profiling Essay - Stereotypes can be defined as sweeping generalizations about members of a certain race, religion, gender, nationality, or other group. They are made everyday in almost every society. We develop stereotypes when we are unable or unwilling to obtain all the information we would need to make fair judgments about people or situations. By stereotyping, we assume that a person or group has certain characteristics. Quite often, we develop these ideas about people who are members of groups with which we have not had firsthand contact....   [tags: Racism, Prejudice, Racial Profiling Essays] 520 words
(1.5 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Racial Stigmas: Who is to Blame ? Essay - ... By singling out these Arab and Muslim individuals in a particular race it made it harder for them to progress in society because they were viewed as dangerous and untrustworthy. These assumptions "of prejudice and negative… beliefs about members of certain [race] groups … reinforce the status quo", and can often lead to unnecessary situations (Pager 11). A personal account of a social stigma, like the one that the Bush Administration indirectly created, that escalated and had a negative impact on an individual's psychological security** Psychological security- the measure of the stability of one's mental state, which can affect their emotional and psychical health....   [tags: racial profiling and discrimmination]
:: 9 Works Cited
2034 words
(5.8 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay on Racial Profiling by Police -   There are many types of racism in America that cause people to make accusations against law enforcement for discrimination. One type of racism is racial profiling. It is a strategy that encourages police officers to stop and question minorities only because of their race. It takes place in a variety of routine police encounters. Unmotivated searches occur everyday among the minority groups. Could you imagine waking up and being scared to walk outside your house because of the color of your skin....   [tags: Race Racism Prejudice Essays]
:: 3 Works Cited
1254 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Police Profiling is Racist Essay - Many people in the United States are against police profiling in our cities and towns against African-Americans and other minorities, while they are supporters of racial profiling in our airports. This research paper investigates how profiling everywhere can help improve our security, while not crossing the fine line into racism. This paper also shows some examples of when profiling has turned into racism, and how we can prevent this. There are many people in the United States that are against police profiling....   [tags: Police Prejudice Racism]
:: 5 Works Cited
1050 words
(3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Racial Indifference in America Essays - Racial Indifference in America America the home the free and the brave is a term coined by past generations as a well known saying that patriots hold true,however not all people feel that is a true statement. America a place known for its freedom of speech,right to bear arms and the freedom to be whomever you want, however, for some the American dream is not a reality privileged to all. Millions of people walk the streets of American suburbs and shuffling cities everyday,some just stopping at their local corner store or hustling to get to their place of employment....   [tags: racism, minority, stereotype, discrimination]
:: 10 Works Cited
1688 words
(4.8 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay Racial Profiling after Pearl Harbor and September 11th Attacks - Racial Profiling is the discrimination of someone’s race. Many think that it is wrong thing to do and many think it’s right. Some people may think that it will help out scoping out the ones that might do bad and some think that it is wrong because it is like judging a book by its cover. Racial profiling has been a major problem for many years. Major events like the bombing of Pearl Harbor or the attack on the twin towers make it worse because people that don’t originate from the U.S get seen as a problem....   [tags: race discrimination, racial profiling, terrorist]
:: 8 Works Cited
1752 words
(5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Racial Profiling by Law Enforcement is Not Justified Essay - When we are children we are taught not to judge a book by its cover, for most of us this is easier said than done. Racial profiling is something that affects millions of people in the United States alone. Seemingly innocent people are being targeted solely by the color of their skin and their nationality. Whether racial profiling somebody is appropriate or not is a topic widely discussed by individuals everywhere. The question is however, is it right to judge somebody just because they look different then you....   [tags: Racism, Prejudice, Racial Profiling Essays]
:: 1 Works Cited
1062 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Racial Profiling in America Essay - In today’s world we live in a very media driven manner. The media can sway people’s attitudes towards a certain direction depending on the circumstances. Racial Profiling is a very sensitive topic every individual can relate to. It is known as the inclusion of racial or ethnic characteristics in determining whether an individual is considered likely to commit a particular type of crime or illegal act. For example, the media has “essentialized” the meaning of terrorism destroying the sweet religion of Islam....   [tags: racism, discrimination, racial profiling]
:: 6 Works Cited
986 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Racial Profiling After September 11 Essay example - Hessian Abbess says he watched in humiliation as two security officers yanked clothes out of his carry-on bag in plain view of dozens of other travelers at Baltimore/Washington International Airport.  Hessian Abbess, an Arab lawyer going to a convention, was kept at the gate for 30 minutes that October day. He tried to show them a business card that identified him as member of the National Bar Association, but they paid no attention.  "I felt threatened. I felt if I protested too much, I was going to eat airport carpet," Hessian Abbess says....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays] 1028 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Racial Profiling of Arabs Essay - "I'm Not the Enemy" is a great article that we should all read after the attacks on September 11th. It conveys an important message that we should not see our fellow Americans as our enemy based on the color of their skin, or their religion. The author, Reshma Memon Yaqub, feared racial profiling against Muslims and people of Middle Eastern descent after the attacks. She shared the same religion and ethnicity of those who committed the act. That is where her fear steams from. As a Muslim, she and many others feared that America would consider them guilty for the crimes as well....   [tags: Racism, Prejudice, Racial Profiling Essays] 467 words
(1.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]