Preview
Preview

Protecting Our Ethics: The Choice Between Freedom and Morality Essay

:: 9 Works Cited
Length: 1779 words (5.1 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Aqua      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Protect Our Ethics: The Choice between Freedom and Morality
The United States is guided by strict, moral laws that attempt to keep America ethical in nature; however, the laws concerning censorship are not as strict as some citizens would like them to be. Some people do not know how censorship can help society, but “it is the restriction, absolute or merely to some part of the population, by the proper political authorities, of intellectual, literary, or artistic material in any formant” (Free), which can help keep provocative images to a minimum. Censorship laws are bent which causes certain material to get past the censorship laws. The media exposes American citizens to many types of provocative messages, such as those found in music videos, pornography, radio, and even normal advertisements on television. The entertainment media is one of the biggest aspects of the world today, affecting society both positively and negatively. For example, it informs citizens of current events, the weather, and economic issues, which prove beneficial when necessary information is need. On the other hand, there are also negative effects that the entertainment media presents. For example, MTV is full of provocative material, not only in their music videos, but also in their reality television shows. Censorship should be taken more seriously because provocative images affect people in many different negative ways. Many people argue that some ideas lead to harmful action, and the entertainment industry should censor such ideas in order to protect the community (Free). By implementing entertainment censorship, many Americans will be saved from the adverse effects of viewing provocative images. The entertainment industry must carefully regulate i...


... middle of paper ...


...e Expression Policy Project.” 9 Oct. 2008. .
“Link Between Rape and Pregnancy.” 20 Jun. 2001. 15 Oct. 2008. .
Kubasek, Nancey. The Legal Environment of Business. 4. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 2006.
Rigg, John. “Porn Degrades Women.” 14 Mar. 2008. 15 Oct. 2008. .
Sander, Bernie. “Censorship of the Media Creating Insidious Chill on Free Expression on our Airwaves.” 16 Feb. 2005. 9 Oct. 2008. .
“Worldwide Movie Ratings.” 18 Apr. 2009.
Weinraub, Bernard. “ Practicality Is Biggest Foe Of ID Plan For R Movies.” 15 Jun. 1999. 18 Apr. 2009. .


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Milton Friedman on Business Ethics Essay - ... Ensuring that employees understand the company's corporate values is achieved by the statement of 'Our Business Principles' which makes clear the behavior it seeks from employees. Ethics in the workplace is a supply chain and distribution process describes the way in which raw materials are acquired and transformed into the final product and delivered to customers. Have direct control over what happens in the transformation process itself and can also influence the behavior of suppliers and distributors....   [tags: Responsible Business]
:: 17 Works Cited
1917 words
(5.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Ethics and Morality in Philosophy Essay - Morality has always been an unacknowledged and crucial role in defining ethics. Principles tend to be a virtue that applies only within society and can be distinguished from law, religion, or ethics. Morality in its defining sense can be different from each other, depending on the foundations of the society that claim their morality. Different societies have a different sense of what their moral priority would be like. Their morality can be based on purity and honesty when others concerned with practices....   [tags: Ethics, Morality, Philosophy, ] 895 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Ethics in The Criminal Justice Profession Essay example - Ethics or being ethical is simply based on a person’s capability to choose what is right or wrong or good or bad. Ethics can be defined as the body of moral principles or values governing or distinctive of a particular culture or group. (Banks C. , 2009). Ethics is a branch of philosophy dealing with the study of questions of right and wrong and how we ought to live our lives; A system of moral principles (Banks C. , 2009). Over all, morality rests squarely on the shoulders one’s early social environment....   [tags: Morality/Ethics]
:: 4 Works Cited
1377 words
(3.9 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay about Philosophy: Ethics and Morality - Whether put simply or scrutinized, morality cannot be defined simply by looking at it from one or two perspectives. One must acknowledge the fact that there are several different factors that affect judgment between “right” and “wrong”. Only after taking into account everything that could possibly change the definition of righteousness can one begin to define morality. Harriet Baber, a professor at San Diego State University, defines morality as “the system through which we determine right and wrong conduct”....   [tags: Definition, History, Ethics]
:: 6 Works Cited
2484 words
(7.1 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Ethics and Moral Reasoning Essay - Aristotle's Virtue Ethics Aristotle in his virtue ethics states that a virtuous individual is someone with ideal traits. These characteristic traits normally come from an individual’s innate tendency but should be cultivated. After they are cultivated, these character traits supposedly become stable in an individual. Moral consequentilaists and deontologists are normally concerned with universal doctrines that can be utilized in any situation that requires moral interpretation. Unlike these theorists, Aristotle’s virtue ethics are concerned with the general questions such as “what is a good life”, “what are proper social and family values”, and “how should one live” (Bejczy 32)....   [tags: Morality/Ethics]
:: 3 Works Cited
2113 words
(6 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Ethics, Morality and the Internet Essay - <cite>"Information" is at best a superficial generic term for a broad range of categories whose forms can be described in terms of genres but whose nature can ultimately only be understood within a larger system of structural relationships and ideologies. The stuff that flows through a given institutional circuitry, then, is not information. The artifacts and media that convey this stuff through the circuitry will change as the institutions change or as technological innovations supply new options for strategic communication.</cite> (Agre) The "Information Superhighway", or internet, is a powerful medium for today's information driven society....   [tags: Exploratory Essays Research Papers] 2604 words
(7.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Shaping My Morality - G .K. Chesterton quoted, “I say that a man must be certain of his morality for the simple reason that he has to suffer for it,” and although I do not completely understood my own morality, I know I did not create it alone. For example, my parents illustrated the importance of kindness and finding my own personal beliefs about God. Additionally, my friends have taught me to not take small problems too seriously. Moreover, attending private school has caused me to trust in the safety of the world around me....   [tags: Morality/Ethics] 700 words
(2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay about Ethics and Morality - Ethics and Morality Is it immoral for a person to write lies on his/her resume. This question poses many questions in it's self. How fictitious is the lie, what are you lying about, what could be the consequences of this lie and whom and how will this lie affect the people involved. How would John Stuart Mill answer this question. Mill's general position seem to be that one should do what will produce the most happiness, pleasure and with the absence of pain. With this in mind for one to falsify their resume will produce the greater happiness to that person, and family....   [tags: Papers] 1363 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Computer Ethics Essay - Computer Ethics A Ten Commandments of Computer Ethics (see Appendix A) was first presented by Dr. Ramon C. Barquin's in his paper for the Computer Ethics Institute of the Brookings Institution entitled, "In Pursuit of a 'Ten Commandments' for Computer Ethics" in May of 1992. Computer ethics is about principles related to behavior and decisions made by computer professionals and users, including software engineers, operators, managers, policy makers, as well as educators and students. This means all these people involved should be supported with some "policies for ethical conduct" i.e....   [tags: Ethics Morals Morality]
:: 5 Works Cited
1355 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Morality Essay - Morality is defined as a system or code that we humans use to differentiate between right and wrong. This system could be derived from a number of factors: religion, culture, and upbringing. It is difficult enough to determine what an individual's morals are, but going further to determine how we came to possess those morals is even more ambitious. Still, regardless of its difficulty, this subject consumes many philosophers and psychologists. One such moral psychologists, Jonathan Haidt, is theorizing the possibility of evolution causing ones morality....   [tags: Ethics] 1592 words
(4.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]