Preview
Preview

Essay about The Pros and Cons of Gay Marriage

:: 8 Works Cited
Length: 1034 words (3 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Is it fair to be punished for loving a person of the same-sex? The Supreme Court of the United States ruled that the Constitution guarantees a right to same-sex marriage. Is this a good thing? Homosexuality is illegal in many countries. Leaders punish their own citizens by jail, or even death, for being gay. In the United States, however, many states allow gay marriage. Some people approve of it, but also, some do not. Society also plays a big part in the gay marriage legalization process. Same-sex marriage is a major controversial issue in the United States; specific examples would be the views of Americans, pros and cons of same-sex marriage, and the reality of it in the United States.
The views of Americans are extremely different from one another. The people of America have many different opinions about gay marriage. In 1996, 27 percent of United States citizens approved of legalizing gay marriage (Ford 20). A major reason certain Americans are against it is because of their belief in God. Romans 1:26-27 says
“That is why God abandoned them to their shameful desires. Even the women turned against the natural way to have sex and instead indulged in sex with each other. And the men, instead of having sexual relations with women, burned with lust for one another. Men did shameful things with other men, and as a result of this sin, they suffered within themselves the penalty they deserved.” (New Living Translation, Romans 1:26-27).
January Dodson believes that gay marriage is wrong in her opinion, because she is a firm believer in Christ. God is strictly against homosexuality. She is not the only one who has that perspective. Westboro Baptist Church believes that homosexuals, or gays, shall be put to death because of their s...


... middle of paper ...


...esident to openly support gay marriage. Our society today encourages us to accept gays in our community.



Works Cited

Buckley, Cara. “Gay Couples Choosing to say ‘I don’t’.” The New York Times. The New York Times Company, 25 Oct. 2013. Web. 13 Nov. 2013.
Dodson, January. Personal Interview. 20 Nov. 2013
Dooley, Teresa. Personal Interview. 20 Nov. 2013
Ford, Andréa. "A 40-Year Courtship." Time Apr. 2013: 20-21. Print.
"Histories of the National Mall | National March on Washington for Lesbian and Gay Rights."Omeka RSS. Histories of the National Mall, n.d. Web. 30 Nov. 2013.
ProCon.org. "Gay Marriage ProCon.org." ProCon.org. 13 Nov. 2013. Web. 8 Nov. 2013.
Von Drehle, David. "How Gay Marriage Won." Time Apr. 2013: 16+. Web.
"Westboro Baptist Church Home Page." Westboro Baptist Church Home Page. Westboro Baptist
Church, 1955-2013. Web. 7 Nov. 2013.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Gay Marriage Essay - Gay marriage is a very talked about topic in are country that shouldn’t be ignored. I believe men and women should be able to love freely and not be shamed by it. Marriage is a great factor in the United States. To some people it’s what we live for; is to get married and start a family. To not give everyone the same opportunity to have a happy marriage and family is unlike us. This problem is bringing a lot of hate, the same hate that was used in racial discrimination so why not give gays equal rights like everyone else....   [tags: marriage, United States, discrimination ]
:: 7 Works Cited
1629 words
(4.7 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Gay Marriage Essay - The Supreme Court of the United States recently ruled that the Constitution guarantees a right to same-sex marriage. Yet, same-sex marriage continues to be a highly debated issue. If we are discriminating against gay marriage then we are not the true land of the free. I believe men and women should be able to love freely and not be shamed by it. Marriage is a great factor in the United States. To some people it’s what we live for; is to get married and start a family. To not give everyone the same opportunity to have a happy marriage and family is unlike us....   [tags: Same-Sex Marriage Essays]
:: 10 Works Cited
1654 words
(4.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on The Legalization of Same-Sex Marriage - For many years and in many countries same sex marriage was ignored not tolerated by many. It took a few years and after many debates Spain legalized same sex marriage on July 03, 2005. After many years under the governmental control of Gen. Francisco Franco and the Roman Catholic Church who so quickly put the ban on gay marriage. Once the Prime Minister Jose Luis Rodriguez Zapatero became the leader of the nations socialist party he immediately began the campaign for this world wide issue. Through research I will discuss my findings on the statistics on this issue, the pros and cons and of course how the community and the church reacted to this new law that equalizes same sex marriage....   [tags: spain, catholic church, gay marriage]
:: 6 Works Cited
1322 words
(3.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about The Same Sex Marriage Debate - The Same Sex Marriage Debate The controversial debate over whether same sex marriage should be legalized has gained a lot of attention in recent years and there are strong arguments for each side of the issue. There are many different factors that must be looked at when considering same-sex marriage. A marriage is not something that is just slapped on a piece of paper to show a couple's love; it involves legal, social, economic, and spiritual issues. Throughout this essay, I intend to focus on all of the issues just mentioned, and how all of these issues are interrelated in some way, shape or form....   [tags: Gay Marriage ]
:: 5 Works Cited
1640 words
(4.7 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
God Hates Same Sex Marriage Essay - Marriage is a precious gift given from the good lord up above. Marriage is a privilege that should be allowed to only a man and a woman. In the bible there are many scriptures that back up my opinion on marriage, and none of the scriptures say same sex marriage is okay. In this modern day and age people are altering the definition of marriage. People are trying to add between a man and a man or between a woman and a woman. The importance of my topic is to keep the original definition of marriage which is, a union between a woman and a man where they become husband and wife....   [tags: Definition of Marriage]
:: 3 Works Cited
972 words
(2.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Gay Marriage Should NOT Be Legal Essay -  The Supreme Court of the United States ruled that the Constitution guarantees a right to same-sex marriage. Yet, same-sex marriage continues to be a highly debated issue that leaves our society searching for answers. Traditionally marriage is the union of a man and a woman. The Merriam-Webster Dictionary definition of marriage reads "to join as a husband and wife according to law and custom; to take as husband or wife; to enter into a close union" (452). Dictionaries are not a biased publication and serve as a guide to what words mean....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Essays]
:: 4 Works Cited
1742 words
(5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Pros and Cons of a Teenage Same-sex Relationship - Although same-sex teenage relationships were looked down on before and were not common, today many teens are in a same-sex relationship. This is critical to developing sexual and social identities. In this paper, readers will learn the ups and downs of teenagers in a world of relationships and sexuality. Growing up in a home with parents of the same sex is viewed in negative ways to a lot of people, but studies show that a child is well adjusted to being raised under a roof with parents of the same sex just as well as a child with a male and female parent under the same roof....   [tags: legal issues, same sex]
:: 1 Works Cited
888 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Who Should Be the Determining Factor? Essay - Who Should Be the Determining Factor. In today’s society more people are getting engaged in gay marriages and becoming more open to society. From our society changing from a highly conservative rate to a more liberal state, this will increase the amount of open mindedness towards gay marriages. These two short arguments represent the pros and cons of gay marriage; and why gay marriages should be allowed. Andrew Sullivan will be discussing why gays should be allowed to be married. In contrast to Sullivan, William Bennett wrote a response to give a heterosexual perspective....   [tags: Gay Marriage Homosexuality Essays] 984 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Defense of Marriage Act - Defense of Marriage Act Introduction Within our society and the western hemisphere, it is believed that only a man and a woman should be allowed to participate in the sacred ritual of marriage. These beliefs are instilled through the socialization of society and family. Our society illustrates marriage through the media. Our family illustrates marriage by first hand experience. In a traditional family, we perceive a man and a woman as our parents. Traditionally, people marry with the expectation that reproduction will occur, and one will grow old along side of children, and grandchildren....   [tags: science]
:: 7 Works Cited
1948 words
(5.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Gay Rights Essay - Gay Rights Two men are walking down the street very peacefully until they decide to kiss one another right out in the open. Some people look upon this as weird and others look upon it in disgust. Some even get angry about it. Is there a problem with what these men just did. Should they be left alone or reprimanded for what they have done. The issue of gay rights is very cloudy in our great nation. Most of this is due to the problems with the issue, the reasons for controversy, and pros and cons of the issue....   [tags: essays research papers] 1298 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]