Preview
Click here for more Persuasive Essays
Preview

Drugs, Money, Media and Advertising Essay

:: 9 Works Cited
Length: 1850 words (5.3 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Drugs, Money, Media and Advertising


Ads for pharmaceutical drugs are everywhere. They are in magazines, on television and radio, on billboards, and on the little bags that you get from the pharmacist. These days it is difficult to get away from all the drug advertising. All these ads are for products that require a doctor's prescription. The goal of advertising is to increase profits. By advertising so heavily for drugs that the majority of the population does not need, pharmaceutical companies attempt to create as large a consumer base as they can. In advertising directly to the consumer, the drug companies accomplish two objectives. First, they get information directly to the consumer. Second, they promote the product and generate demand for their particular drug.

Whether this type of direct-to-consumer advertising is good or bad depends on your perspective. The controversy about drug advertisement lies in how drug companies use the money generated by ads and how they choose to advertise their products. Some argue that the pharmaceutical companies just pocket the profits generated by ads, while the companies themselves say that the money is needed for the research and development of new cutting-edge drugs. The information that the drug companies provide in the ads can be both informative and misleading. Deciding which side is right or wrong may be more difficult than we think, as both sides make good arguments for their case. More likely than not, the answer lies somewhere in between, with both sides being right and wrong.

Allergy drugs such as Claritin, Allegra, and Flonase have become very popular in recent years. In 2000, Claritin was fifteenth in the 200 most prescribed drugs in the US, wh...


... middle of paper ...


... No. 21

Public Citizen. (31 Aug. 2000). Schering-Plough Political Money Pushes Claritin Patent Extension and Distorts Report. Public Citizen. http://www.citizen.org/pressroom/release.cfm?ID=369. (7 Oct. 2001).

Sanes, K. (2000). The Fake Haven of Claritin. Popular Culture. http://www.transparencynow.com/claritin/claritin.htm. (7 Oct. 2001).

Scott-Levin (2001) The Top 200 Prescription for 2000 by Number of US Prescriptions Dispensed. http://www.rxlist.com/top200.htm. (6 Oct. 20001).

Secondwind (2001) Direct-to-Consumer Advertising. Second Wind. http://www.secondwindmagazine.org/issues/2001/spring/feature.html. (7 Oct. 2001).

Swanson, Jack. (2001). Personal Interview. 17 Aug 2001.

Tidwell, J. (31 Aug. 2000). Claritin Patent Gets Extension. Allergies. http://allergies.about.com/library/weekly/aa082100a.htm?once=true&. (7 Oct. 2001).


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Trademarks As A Media For False Advertising Essay - Advertising, an annoyance the average American deals with every single day. Advertising is “1 tr. to promote (goods or services) publically to increase sales. 2 tr. To make generally known” (The Oxford 14). By definition alone, it doesn’t sound so bad: bringing information to the public, sharing products, etc… Yet when money comes into the equation, things go crazy. Advertisers will say almost anything to sell their products and get ahold of that elusive green paper. False advertising is the siren that catches many foolish sailors… So in that case, it’s probably best to assess what you’re buying in a coherent, thought out manner....   [tags: fraud, sales, consumers]
:: 8 Works Cited
1386 words
(4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Media's Negative Impact on Body Image - One's body is what makes us who we are. Every single person is unique due to an individual physical trait. Even though everyone has an opinion about what his or her perfect body would be, changing one's personal features would take away from individuality. I personally would never have plastic surgery because when I look at myself, I do not see a tall, skinny young man with a funny looking nose and big "bug" eyes, rather I see a beautifully sculpted masterpiece that God has made just for me. I take pride in the fact that there is no one else on this earth exactly like me....   [tags: self esteem, media] 1409 words
(4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Media Influence on the Female Form Essay - The American definition of beauty is visible in any one of our forms of popular culture, whether it’s TV, movies, music videos, magazines, and advertisements, even billboards. “Women’s bodies sell products that have nothing to do with women, like tires, cars, liquor, and guns” (Pipher, Reviving Ophelia 42). As if using women’s bodies to sell completely unrelated products weren’t harmful enough, the women used to sell these products are a far cry from what most women in America look like....   [tags: Media and Body Image] 1185 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Young Consumer: Their Value To Media Advertising And The Economy Essay - The Young Consumer: Their Value To Media Advertising And The Economy An advertiser of new trend setting products often struggles with choosing a target market but now the choice is becoming clear. The young consumer market has developed itself into an empire in which companies flourish. Boys and girls ages 13-25 set the wave for what is considered cool and what isn’t. As a result, companies have carefully listened to what these “kids” have to say and then tried to develop products and ideas that resemble what they consider to be cool....   [tags: Essays Papers]
:: 10 Works Cited
2962 words
(8.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Advertising in America Essay - Advertising in America (All need revisions in italics) Are advertising companies out of control now a days. Do they play on the average Americans fears about certain events in life to sell their products. Do they try to attack events that are one and a million to sell us useless things. Advertising companies use all of those tactics to sell things to the average everyday concerned American. This is especially evident in security systems, new cars, and also in equipment. This aspect of advertising is also apparent in commercials trying to stop Americans from buying things such as cigarettes and drugs....   [tags: Advertisements Media Essays] 1190 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Advertising: Manipulation and Deception Essay - High school students engage in the weirdest fads, making up words like Swag and acronyms like YOLO. That’s where the trend usually increases in popularity because of the music they listen to and the videos they watch. Usually these trends grow with those people for the rest of their lives. They don’t start at high school or college though. Most trends start from the media in order to sell products to consumers. Advertising, like commercials and billboards, has a lot of behind the scenes psychological antics that only trained professionals can catch in order for us to buy the product their selling, which we as people should note and use to our advantage....   [tags: Individualism, Psychological Principles]
:: 16 Works Cited
1785 words
(5.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Teens and the Media Essay - People are subject to advertisements from the moment they are born. The American Psychological Association, as stated in “Facts About Marketing”, reveals that “the average American child today is exposed to an estimated 40,000 television commercials a year.” The money being spent on these advertisements, according to Susan Linn; director of the coalition Campaign for a Commercial-Free Childhood “is estimated at over $15 billion annually” (“Facts About Marketing”). Businesses use this marketing strategy in order to “[make] people aware of a product” (Sukati)....   [tags: Marketing ]
:: 3 Works Cited
2074 words
(5.9 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
American Advertisements Essay - America's film industry, whether it be movies or television series, spans the globe. In almost every country in this world American entertainment reigns supreme. While I was in a rural village of Indonesia, an elderly man approached me, knowing I was an American, and asked me about who I would be voting for in the 2004 Presidential Election. The extent that our media reaches is astounding. So I ask myself: what would a person think about our country by simply viewing our television advertisements....   [tags: Advertising] 1138 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Most Deadly Drugs are Already Legal Essay - This is your brain. This is your brain on drugs. Fried egg is probably the most influential commercial of our generation. We feared it, we laughed at it, some of us stopped eating eggs, and we made a lot of t-shirts about it. And who was scaring us. Who was so concerned about our health. Our loving friends: The Partnership for a Drug-Free America (PDFA). We used to watch those commercials and get all warm and fuzzy inside, someone out there cared enough about us to spend a lot of money on those frightening ads....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Topics] 1141 words
(3.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Crime and the Media Essay - Crime and the Media The public depends on the news media for its understanding of crime. Reportedly three quarters (76%) of the public say, they form their opinions about crime from what they see or read in the news (Dorfman & Schiraldi, 2001). After reviewing five hours of reality crime television shows, one is left with a very dismal look on society and a prejudice towards minorities as they are largely depicted as the perpetrators of crime. This new genre commonly referred to as reality television appears to be sweeping the nation by storm....   [tags: essays research papers] 1281 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]