Preview
Click here for more Persuasive Essays
Preview

Persuasive Speech: Solar Power Essay

Missing Works Cited
Length: 1587 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Specific Purpose Statement: To persuade my audience that that solar power should become the main form of alternative energy in the Unites States.

Introduction:
Attention Getter: Let’s look ahead fifty years and see what the world is like. Imagine a world that is in total war with no end in sight. The cause behind this war is simple, oil. Everyone is fighting over those last few reserves of oil. How can this future be prevented? The answer is solar power.

Claim: Solar power has the potential to become the United States main supply of energy and replace are needs for more conventional and harmful forms of power generation.

Significance: The United States must face the fact that the world is running out of oil and with today’s rising oil prices, economic and political instability in regions where the United States gets the majority of its oil, this country must begin looking into alternative means of energy to replace oil and end our dependence on foreign powers.

Preview: Today I will discuss the potential that solar power has to become this country’s main supply of energy and the latest research that can make solar power more efficient and cost effective. I will also present the environmental benefits that come with using solar power over other and more harmful forms of energy.


Body:

I. With the world’s supply of oil running dry the Unites States must begin looking into new sources of energy, and the most promising is solar power.
A. Scientists predict that in the next several decades the world will run out of oil. According to the article How Fast is the World Running out of Crude Oil by Umut Newbury accessed from the EBSCO Host database states that “world oil production o...


... middle of paper ...


... must be universally adopted, and solar power is the key to unlocking that bright future.





Works Cited


Clayton, Mark. "The Cost of Solar Energy Will Soon Compare with the Cost of Coal." Coal (2011). Print. 18 November 2014.

David, Leonard. "Proposed Satellite Would Beam Solar Power to Earth." 6 April 2012. Space.com. Website. 18 November 2014.

Environmental Health & Engineering, Inc. EMISSIONS OF HAZERDOUS AIR POLLUTANTS FROM COAL- FIRED POWER PLANTS. Environmental Report. Needham, 2011. Print. 18 November 2014.

Hamer, Glenn. "Solar Power Can Help Fuel the Future." Energy Alternatives (2006). Print. 19 November 2014.

Newbury, Umut. "How Fast is the World Running out of Crude Oil." Mother Earth News October 2004: 28. 18 November 2014.

Rotman, David. "Finding a Solar Solution." Technology Review 2 (2012): 48-51. Print. 22 November 2014.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Power for Spacecraft: Solar vs. Nuclear Essay example - When exploring the solar system, which is a better source: solar, or nuclear. One of the first concepts of using the sun as a power source in space, was from the science fiction writer Isaac Asimov (Barber, 2012). It is understood that the research done by Peter Glasser in 1968, provides the science for Assimov's short story from 1941 (Barber, 2012). It was proposed by Glasser, “That solar energy could be collected by earth-orbiting satellites and then beamed to power stations on Earth's surface,” (Committee for the Assessment of NASA's Space Solar Power Investment Strategy, 2001)....   [tags: space exploration, solar system, power source]
:: 26 Works Cited
1225 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Pros and Cons of Solar Power - “I am between a rock and a hard place when it comes to solar power,” states Ted Hilmes, CEO of KAMO Power. “I love the idea of a clean source of energy that does not deplete the earth’s non-renewable resources, but I hate the fact that if solar power were to take over the electric game, KAMO would have to reevaluate how we make our income.” Hilmes shares this opinion with a substantial amount of other energy companies that utilize fossil fuels in order to carry out their day-to-day activities; however, the popularity of solar power is on the rise—whether electric companies are on board with the trend or not....   [tags: Clean Energy, Solar Panels]
:: 7 Works Cited
1781 words
(5.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Persuasive Speech: Why You Should Oppose Same-Sex Marriage Essay - ... 2:14-15). C. Same sex marriages defeat the main reason of Benefiting Marriage; a marriage is bestowed numerous benefits for it provides conducive atmosphere for an affectionate, stable, loving and moral environment for proper nurturing of children. A same marriage is not based on such values as its primary objective is gratification of individuals involved in a sterile union. Same sex marriage does not produce children the natural way. This is because the union is basically sterile. The only way they can get children is by following expensive and artificial procedure such as artificial insemination and use of surrogates....   [tags: Persuasive Speech]
:: 6 Works Cited
1282 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Present and Future Benefits of Solar Powered Homes Essay - Present and Future Benefits of Solar Powered Homes Introduction      The following is a feasibility study on the need to apply solar power for homes and the benefits to be expected from it. This report contains information on the expected benefits of using solar power for homes in place of traditional methods of power such as electricity and gas. Solar power is beneficial to consumers because it saves them money compared to the increasingly high prices of conventional methods of generation. Solar power is also beneficial to society because it is much safer for our environment than the burning of fossil fuels or the use of nuclear power that is characteristic of gas and electricity power....   [tags: Argumentative persuasive solar power essays] 1278 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Solar Power Has a Future Essay - This is NOT a paper. It is an Annotated Bibliography Plan: I want to look into solar energy and assess how likely it is to change American energy usage through the 21st century. This type of energy has worked well in Germany and should be greatly considered in the US. I think widespread usage of solar energy can prove a large step in solving our current energy crisis and assist in the current climate crisis at the same time. Outline I. Introduction A. The current energy system needs a new solution B....   [tags: Solar Energy is the Future] 4421 words
(12.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Persuasive Speech: Marijuana Should Be Legal - General Purpose: Speech to Persuade Specific Purpose: To get my audience to be pro on legalizing marijuana Thesis Statement: Marijuana isn't harmful and should be legalized Organizational Pattern: Cause and Effect To the AIDS or cancer patient, marijuana is the plant that fights nausea and appetite loss. To the nutritionist, its seed is second only to the soybean in nutritional value and is a source of cooking oil and vitamins. To the paper or cloth manufacturer, it is the plant that provided much of our paper and clothing for hundreds of years and produces four times more fiber per acre than trees....   [tags: Example Persuasive Speech ]
:: 4 Works Cited
1717 words
(4.9 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Persuasive Speech: Against Gun Control Essay - Specific Purpose Statement: To persuade my audience that each individual must take responsibility for his or her own actions. The must not blame guns for problems caused by people. . . Attention Grabber: Gun control isn't about guns, its about control . Body of Speech . I'd like to read a quote by our 3rd president Thomas Jefferson. "Laws that forbid the carrying of arms disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants, they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an...   [tags: Example Persuasive Speech] 679 words
(1.9 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Solar Power for Homes Essay - Harnessing the Sun’s Energy: Solar Power for Homes The use of solar power is all around us. Calculators, roadside emergency telephones, and street-side speed radars all utilize the sun’s limitless rays to provide power for their simple functions. As simple as these functions may be, solar power is nonetheless capable of powering much greater things. The technology and motivation for this exists; all the planet needs is time and funding before it becomes a planet powered solely by the luminous rays of the great sun....   [tags: Solar PV Panels Photovoltaic Cells]
:: 8 Works Cited
1903 words
(5.4 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Solar Energy Essay - Someday, our energy sources are going to run out. What will we do. What can we do. Our major source of energy now is fossil fuel. If that were to run out, there must be an alternate way to get energy. Because of this problem, there has been a lot of research going on. Through that research, alternate ways to get energy have been developed. They include wind energy, solar energy, nuclear energy, tidal energy and many more. In this paper I will focus on the aspects of solar energy. I will look at the history of solar energy, cover the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy and then finally I will talk about the concept of solar energy (how it works) and ways that solar energy can be use...   [tags: Energy Sources, Solar Power]
:: 5 Works Cited
2168 words
(6.2 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Solar Energy - Solar Energy There is a bright future for solar power (no pun intended). On the average sunny day the sun shines approximately 1,000 watts of energy per square meter, enough energy to power all of our electricity needs and excess(“How”). This plethora of power and will be utilized in the future because we can't afford not to. It is predicted that in 100-500 years our fossil fuels will be depleted: this means that alternative sources of energy will be a necessity (Exxon). We consider solar power a renewable resource because it is conitinuosly supplied to us by the sun....   [tags: Renewable Energy, Solar Power, Environment]
:: 7 Works Cited
610 words
(1.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]