Preview
Preview

Nutrition, Exercise and Cancer Prevention Essay

:: 9 Works Cited
Length: 1362 words (3.9 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

In 2006, Harvard Men’s Health Watch stated that “About 1.4 million Americans will be diagnosed with cancer this year, and some 560,000 will die from the disease” (Exercise and Malignancy 5). Many individuals and families have fought the battle of cancer for a number of years. There is not yet a perfect cure for this number one deadliest disease, and it is unknown how long it will take to find one. While many risk factors of developing cancer cannot be changed such as genetics, environmental carcinogens (substances that cause cancer), or a certain number of hormones, fortunately, there are several studies that show there are ways to somewhat reduce the risk of cancer. It is not possible to be immune, but by following a nutritional diet and developing a physically active lifestyle, it is possible to reduce the risk of cancer immensely.
Many substances or factors cause cancer, but any type of cancer develops the same way. Normally, the cells that make up the body grow and then divide. Eventually these cells die and new cells are produced. Cancer results from a mutation that has altered the DNA that make up a cell. These mutations affect certain cancer genes that are in the body, tumor suppressors and oncogenes. Tumor suppressors tell the cell to slow down cell division which prevents the cells from over-dividing. Cancer mutations destroy these genes, causing cells to divide uncontrollably. Mutations also affect an oncogene, which tells the cell when to grow. These mutations keep oncogenes in an “active state”, causing an overproduction of cells (Gibbs 60). The body does not need these extra cells and may become a mass, or a tumor. Fortunately, not all tumors become cancer. A tumor that is not cancerous is called a be...


... middle of paper ...


... Harvard Men's Health Watch 11.4 (Nov. 2006): 4-6. Student Research Center. Web. 24 Sept. 2011.

Belasco, Jessica. "Breast Cancer Patients See Benefits from Exercise, Nutrition." San Antonio News. San Antonio News, 9 July 2010. Web. 22 Sept. 2011.

Gaskell, Karen Jean. "Exercise & Cancer Prevention." LIVESTRONG.COM. Lance Armstrong Foundation, 23 Mar. 2010. Web. 25 Sept. 2011.

"What Is Cancer?" Cancer.gov. National Cancer Institute, 29 July 2011. Web. 25 Sept. 2011.

Young, Graeme P. "What Do We Know About Diet and Cancer?" Nutridate 19.3 (2008): 1-4. Student Research Center. Web. 3 Oct. 2011.

Reynolds, Gretchen. "Phys Ed: Does Exercise Reduce Your Cancer Risk?" Editorial. Well. The New York Times, 18 Aug. 2009. Web. 25 Sept. 2011.

"BRCA1 and BRCA2: Cancer Risk and Genetic Testing." Cancer.gov. National Cancer Institute, 29 May 2009. Web. 1 Oct. 2011.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Personalized Nutrition and Exercise Plan Essay - Proper nutrition and exercise is the key to maintaining a healthy weight and lifestyle. A problem that I am suffering from is obesity, and it has been an issue with my family for generations. By following an eating plan designed specifically for me, I will be capable of progressing toward a healthier weight, and hopefully live a longer life. Also included in my personalized eating and exercise plan, is taking steps to stop smoking which will assist me with meeting my goals of losing weight and improving my health....   [tags: Healthy Lifestyle Essay]
:: 3 Works Cited
1368 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Exercise and Disease Prevention - Exercise and Disease Prevention Over the past century we have become increasingly sedentary due to the technical advancements of today's world. Ironically, while machines and improvements in transportation and communication have made our lives easier, studies show that the decline in our physical activity associated with these advancements plays a large role in the decline of our health. A Surgeon General's report (Anonymous,1996) addresses the finding that continuous and consistent physical activity is proven to enhance longevity and the quality of life for people of all ages....   [tags: Health Nutrition Papers]
:: 10 Works Cited
2537 words
(7.2 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
The Importance of Exercise Essay - The Importance of Exercise Imagine one day lying in your death bed with a chronic disease just because you ignored the importance of exercise. This may sound dramatic but this can really happen to anyone if they don’t get an adequate amount of exercise in their lives. One major problem I see all around me almost every day of my life is the common lack of exercise. Including myself, I don’t think most people understand the importance of exercising to stay healthy in our daily lives. This is a very significant issue in the United States today because it is not appreciated enough for what it does for us....   [tags: healthy habits] 1391 words
(4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Prevention of Obesity Essay - This Neighbourhood Study aims to research the profile of Hillingdon Borough in relation to the prevention of obesity. An insight into the prevalence of obesity as well as the causes and its effects shall be evaluated. Public health strategies on the prevention of obesity and its effects in relation to Government strategies shall be addressed. A snapshot about the role of the nurse as an educator in relation to this public health issue as well as strategies formulated by Hillingdon PCT to prevent obesity and how it focuses on other diseases associated with obesity shall be discussed....   [tags: Health, Diseases] 1257 words
(3.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Importance of Flu Prevention in Children Essay - ... Proper hygiene, good nutrition and exercise are also essential in fending off the flu virus. Prevention It is true that prevention is always better than cure. Taking all the necessary precautions in avoiding flu is far better than having your child go through the symptoms and complications of flu. Here are several tips that can help you and your child against the risk of contracting this disease: Teach them proper hygiene - Flu viruses usually spread by direct contact, thus teaching children the proper hygiene will immensely help in lowering their against this disease....   [tags: influenza, symptoms, vaccine, virus] 622 words
(1.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Clean Eating for Disease Prevention Essay example - ... This will eventually lead to numerous diseases and weight gain. Avoid sugary beverages such as fruit-flavored punches and carbonated drinks. Avoid processed foods - Anything that has unknown ingredient or more than one ingredient on the label are processed foods. These packaged foods are loaded with high amounts of unhealthy substances such as sugar, salt, saturated fat and trans fat. Excessive consumption of processed foods can cause obesity, indigestion and chronic inflammation thus the best option when it comes to choosing food products is sticking to those that are natural and fresh....   [tags: food, processed, inflammation] 637 words
(1.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Indicators that may Enhance Community Health Essay - Indicators that may Enhance Community Health Inside any type of community there are many indicators of health, but now I am going to focus only in five of them. The proper good health of communities it is a very strong matter for governments and society in general. This indicators are important because gives us objectives, data, and resources to guide us in what are the mains community problems when we talk about health. The five indicators that I am going to discuss are: access to health services, physical activities, nutrition and weight status, sexual transmitted diseases, and immunization and infectious diseases....   [tags: Indicators, Exercise, Nutrition]
:: 5 Works Cited
1056 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Eating Ourselves to Death Essay - In the words of French author and social critic Francoise La Rochefoucauld, “To eat is a necessity, but to eat intelligently is an art” (“Food Quotes” 1). Perhaps this is why science seems to have failed us in defining what exactly intelligent eating is. If indeed it is an art, it would be far more fruitful to ask an artist (in this case a chef or a gourmand) what constitutes a healthy diet. But this is the 21st century, and we look to dieticians and nutritionists to tell us what to eat. The problem as I see it is they can’t seem to agree on anything or make up their minds for any length of time....   [tags: Nutrition]
:: 10 Works Cited
1678 words
(4.8 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay about The Obesity Epidemic Hitting America and How to Stop It - ... 31% of low-income preschoolers are overweight or obese. Weight related diseases are are no longer just a health concern, but an economic problem. The Center for Disease Control and Prevention has stated that The estimated annual medical cost of obesity in the U.S. was $147 billion in 2008 U.S. dollars. Additionally, The medical costs for people who are obese were $1,429 higher than those of normal weight. Solution In order to decrease the chances of becoming ill due to what Americans continue to consume, we must begin to alter what and the way that we eat....   [tags: better nutrition and health, exercise] 885 words
(2.5 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Adolescent Obesity Has Increased Essay - Over the last decade the obesity rate in the United States has increased dramatically. The obesity rate as of 2012 in teen’s ages 12-19 is between 20% and 30%. This number has well over doubled since the 1980s. Doctors and specialist are all trying to find a way to decrease the number of obese adolescents in America. This is a growing issue in the United States and it could be blamed on a number of things including: lack of exercise in adolescents, poor nutrition habits, the society surrounding, or even school and government supplied food....   [tags: Social, Health, Exercise] 897 words
(2.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]