Preview
Preview

Negative Effects of Overpopulation on the Environment Essay

:: 6 Works Cited
Length: 2004 words (5.7 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Aqua      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Jacques-Yves Cousteau once said, “Overconsumption and overpopulation underlie every environmental problem we face today” (“Population,” Internet). With the current statistics, Jacques could not be more accurate. Every second, 4.2 people are born and 1.8 people die, which would be a net gain of 2.4 people per second (“Population,” Internet). At this steady rate, the environmental health is spiraling downwards, and it is safe to assume humans are responsible for this. As the population increases, harmful effects on the land, water, and air also do.
First of all, overpopulation drastically affects the land. Possibly the most prominent example of the depreciating health and amount of land is the need for developments. Due to the exploding population in the United States, about 1.2 million acres of land every year is being converted to subdivisions, malls, workplaces, roads, parking lots, resorts, and many other developments (“Overpopulation,” Internet). That is a substantial amount of land being overturned to satisfy human desires. To put it in better perspective, between 1982 and 1997, the land mass lost to development is equal to the size of Maine and New Hampshire combined, which is approximately 25 million acres (“Overpopulation,” Internet). While soil is being ruptured for human preference, the number of cities has remarkably modified. In 1975, Mexico City, Tokyo, and New York City were the only cities considered as megacities (“Special,” Internet). In today’s world, that number is considerably small. Now, there are 21 megacities in the world. A megacity is when the population of that city becomes greater than 10 million people (“Special,” Internet). Therefore, the 21 megacities that are currently in the world holds more than 21...


... middle of paper ...


...iant garbage dump?






Works Cited

Fitzsimmons, Juliette. "Environmental Effects." Overpopulation - Home - GEOG 3104. N.p., n.d. Web. 2 Mar. 2014.

"Human Population Growth and Oceans." Center for Biological Diversity. Center for Biological Diversity, n.d. Web. 7 Mar. 2014.

"Overpopulation: Environmental and Social Problems." Effects of Overpopulation on the Environment and Society. Institute for Population Studies, 2010. Web. 2 Mar. 2014.

"Population Growth." YouTube. YouTube, 19 Apr. 2010. Web. 02 Mar. 2014.

"Special Series: 7 Billion - National Geographic Magazine." Special Series: 7 Billion - National Geographic Magazine. National Geographic Society, n.d. Web. 02 Mar. 2014.

Stancheva, Tina. "Effects of Overpopulation on the Environment." Human Nature, Technology & the Environment. Swarthmore College Environmental Studies, 6 June 2003. Web. 2 Mar. 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Overpopulation and the Environment Essay - Humans have greatly impacted the global environment. Throughout the course of history, human populations have rapidly increased. Especially in Africa, these numbers have reached extraordinary proportions. Out of all the continents in the world, Africa’s population is increasing the most. The type of growth here is exponential. “Overpopulation is a condition when an organisms numbers exceeds the carrying of its ecological niche.” The growth rate of a population is equal to the birth rate minus the death rate....   [tags: Overpopulation, Environment]
:: 12 Works Cited
2021 words
(5.8 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Overpopulation’s Effect on Environment Essays - In today’s society there are many economic problems, such as pollution, global warming, and overpopulation. These problems have taken a toll on the environment, and its resources. Although all of these issues have an impact on our society, overpopulation stands to have the greatest impact on our environment, due to the large masses of people and the limited resources. There are many solutions to this problem but the common factor is the human race. The human race has to put controls in place and take care of the environment, so the required resources do not become extinct....   [tags: Overpopulation, Environment]
:: 2 Works Cited
932 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on The Environmental Impact of Overpopulation - The human population has continued to grow through the decades. The increasingly large number of people that have become apart of the world population has become a major problem. The consequences of the world being over populated has numerous effects which include: Environmental effects, depletion of natural resources, effects on the economy, food and water instability, and mass species extinction. Without a solution to the rise in human population, by the year 2020, 8 billion people will live on earth and by the year 2050, 9 billion people will inhabit the planet....   [tags: Overpopulation, Environment]
:: 4 Works Cited
846 words
(2.4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Overpopulation: The Only True Environmental Problem Essay - In today’s society that we live in, there are countless of environmental problems that we face, such as global warming, fishing, pollution, and many other topics of that matter. These issues have affected our environment for the worse and have caused problems physically and economically. Yet, out of all the issues that effects our world on a daily basis, it is shown that overpopulation is one if not, is our biggest issue in our environment that is only getting worse due time, especially due to the rapid growth of the human population and the limited resources that are left on earth that we absolutely need to tend to our growing population....   [tags: Overpopulation Destroys the Environment]
:: 1 Works Cited
2087 words
(6 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Overpopulation Essay - Stories of current times could sound surreal to citizens of the year 2552. Tales of water coming out of the ground, fuel sources called fossil fuels, or vast areas covered in trees would all be stories around the virtual campfire. Lands once known as Africa have become uninhabitable to even the most resilient organisms. At the poles, it is so cold that the fuel lines in vehicles freeze in eleven seconds. The descendants of seven billion people currently inhabiting this world would be faced with hard times if we fail to take action....   [tags: Overpopulation, Environment]
:: 7 Works Cited
913 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Pollution and Environment Essay - Overpopulation and Personal Responsibility - Overpopulation and Personal Responsibility Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve dreamed of having a large family when I was older. I envied friends with three or four siblings. I’d proudly tell anyone I was going to have six children when I grew up. Now, I’m a little older, and still far away from making that decision, my conscious will still face a looming dilemma. With my knowledge negative impacts caused by overpopulation, how can I deliberately have a large family, while upholding my environmentalist values....   [tags: Environment Environmental Pollution Preservation] 977 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay Overpopulation and the Environment: We Must Act Now - Overpopulation and the Environment: We Must Act Now Is the planet doomed. The short answer is no, we're not doomed, since the verb implies inevitability. (1) Population is not growing everywhere, and the areas where growth rates are near zero or even negative (such as the United States and Western Europe) provide clues to addressing the problem in other regions. The longer answer to the doom question is that growing population is a problem that left unsolved could indeed have very harmful effects, both on the environment and our current life styles....   [tags: Environment Environmental Pollution Preservation]
:: 7 Works Cited
2065 words
(5.9 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Human Population Destroys the Environment: Any Questions? - Joel E. Cohen once stated in his How Many People Can the Earth Support?, “A little boy wanted to know the sum of one plus one. First he asked a physicist, who said, “If one is matter, and the other is antimatter, then the answer is zero. But if one is a critical mass of uranium and the other is a critical mass of uranium, then that's an explosive question.” Unenlightened, the little boy asked a biologist. She said, “Are we talking bacteria, mice or whales. And for how long?” In desperation, the boy hired an accountant....   [tags: Environment ]
:: 8 Works Cited
1931 words
(5.5 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Effects of Over Population Essay - The world as we know it is slowly being depleted of its natural resources. Habitats are being destroyed, and wildlife animals are facing extinction, these are just a few of the effects of over population. Over population not only affects nature and the planet but the human way of life. Imagine a world where the water is polluted, the soil produces no crop and the air is so toxic that we can’t breathe; this is where the world is heading. Due to the fast growth of people, humanity itself faces great danger....   [tags: Environment, Sustainability]
:: 4 Works Cited
1261 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Overpopulation’s Effect on Environment Essay - The increasing world’s population is a global issue and becomes a source of anxiety for many scholars and decision makers around the globe. U.S. Census Bureau estimated that population growth will persist into the 21st century, growing from 6 billion in 1999 to 9 billion by 2044 (2010). In a longer term, it is also projected that human population may keep increasing up to 36.4 billion in 2300 (United Nations, 2003). Population upsurge is considered a centre piece for a range of problems world would encounter in the future....   [tags: Overpopulation, Environment]
:: 14 Works Cited
899 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]