Preview
Preview

Military Draft No longer Necessary Essay

:: 10 Works Cited
Length: 1749 words (5 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Military Draft No Longer Necessary
Over forty years has passed since the United States inducted the last draftee through the Selective Service System. The Selective Service System is an independent agency of the United States, which gives the President the right or power to conscript men for military service. There have been different Acts passed by congress since 1917 that require men of various ages to register for service. Although, the name of each Act and the age requirements of the registries changed, the Acts were all similar in nature. They all gave the President the right to call men to war when he deemed necessary. In January 1973, Secretary of Defense Melvin Laird announced the creation of the all-volunteer service, retracting the need for the draft (GAO.gov). Under current law, all men between the ages of 18-25 must register within 30 days of their 18th birthday, however this information is used mostly for recruitment purposes and in case of any future crisis. There has been much controversy over this matter since the Vietnam War, when people started to realize the draft was unfair due to loopholes and draft exemptions making the draft unfair for working men. At one point in time the military draft may have been necessary, but today’s all-volunteer military has eliminated the need for a draft.
Simply put, the United States has no need for a draft. As of December 31, 2013 the United States has the second largest military in the world according to the Department of Defense. The largest military in the world is China’s People’s Liberation Army which is also all voluntary. The People’s Liberation Army consists of approximately 2,300,000 members. As of the end of 2013, the United States military consisted of approximately ...


... middle of paper ...


...012. 558-563. Print.
Induction Statistics. 2007 Selective Service System. sss.gov. n. pag. 1 April 2014.
Laird, Melvin. “We Don’t Need a Military Draft.” My Opinions. washingtonpost.com. February 21, 2013. n. pag. Web. 2 April 2014.
Paul, Ron M.D. “The Military Draft and Slavery.” Weekend Edition. March 23-25, 2002. counterpunch.org. n. pag. Web. 5 April 2014.
Rhem, Kathleen. “Rumsfield: No Need for Draft; Disadvantages Notable.” U.S. Department of Defense. Defense.gov. Jan 7, 2003. n. pag. Web. 29 March 2014.
“Military Draft: Potential Impacts and Other Issues.” U.S. Government Accountability Office. GAO.gov. March 10, 1988. n. pag. Web. 1 April 2014.
USLegal.com n. pag. Web. 2 April 2014.
“40th Anniversary of the All-Volunteer Force (ARMY).” Stand-To: The Official Focus of the U.S. Army. Stand-To! Edition. July 1, 2013. army.mil. n. pag. Web. 1 April 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Reinstating the Military Draft Essay example - When you enjoy the freedoms you have living in the United States, you can thank those men and women who serve in the armed forces. But in recent years, our armed forces have seen a decline in enlistments, which has reignited and old debate. Should we reinstate the Military Draft. This one question has sparked a debate nationwide, between friends, family, and even perfect strangers. Reinstating the draft is just one way to ensure people can continue to enjoy those freedoms the armed forces have fought for over the years....   [tags: Argumentative Essays] 875 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Anyone´s Son (or Daughter) Will Do Essay - Anyone’s Son (or Daughter) Will Do: The Debate of Conscription in America I served in the United States Army for 24 years. My service to this country was life transforming, taking me from being a direction-less 18 year old boy and molding me into a mature, responsible adult by the time I hung up my uniform for the last time in 2007. Over the course of my career I trained, mentored, or supervised young Americans from nearly every walk of life or cultural background. Many were like I was when I enlisted; lost and clueless about which direction to take in life....   [tags: Conspriction, United States, military service]
:: 2 Works Cited
898 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on The Military Draft is Unconstitutional - There is a Time and a place for everything, for instance there were times when a militarized force wasn’t nearly large enough for an impending war as necessary to stand even that of a fighting chance towards victory. Our nation’s solution to this problem was creating the military draft, which most recently was used during the Vietnam War. The military draft, or Selective Service System, is Conscription, or in other words “forced labor demanded by some established authority” (Worddiq). “From 1948 until 1973, during both peacetime and periods of conflict, men were drafted to fill vacancies in the armed forces which could not be filled through voluntary means.” (Landscaper) 2/3 of the American...   [tags: Argumentative Essay] 733 words
(2.1 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Historical Analysis of the Military Draft Policy Essay - Historical Analysis of the Military Draft Policy The Constitution adopted in 1789 gave Congress the "power to raise and support armies," but it neither mentioned nor prohibited conscription. The Framers left that issue to the future, although most of them believed that the United States like Britain would enlist its men rather than conscript them, and would pay for its armies through the power to tax. Not until World War I did the United States rely primarily upon conscription. The Selective Service Act of 1917 was adopted in large part because a civilian-led "preparedness" movement had persuaded many Americans that a selective national draft was the most equitable and efficient way for a...   [tags: Military Army Drafting History Essays]
:: 5 Works Cited
2067 words
(5.9 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Was The Draft Unfair? Essay - On August 7th 1964 the United States Congress passed into law the Gulf of Tonkin Resolution which, for all intents and purposes, officially brought the United States into the Vietnam War. Following this resolution, a draft was instated to increase the number of men that could be sent to war. Shortly after men started to be signed into conscription for the United States Military, a public outcry started over the use of a draft to increase military size. The draft was found to be unfair to American Citizens because certain groups of men were severely disadvantaged, the draft was illegal in many ways, and veteran’s future lives were harmed, among other reasons....   [tags: Military Issues]
:: 9 Works Cited
1187 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Draft in the USA Essay - The Draft in the USA The draft is a taboo subject in America, but regardless of its controversy it is a subject that must be examined. The daft, however rash, is essential for America in case of a national emergency. Many people in this age of America lack patriotism for their country. Of course, many citizens ignore the fact that they are living in one of the only countries that offer you freedom and the choice to succeed as far as you want. However, “Of those to whom much is given, much is required” (Mackenzie) and all that is asked of you in America is to give yourself to her when asked....   [tags: Army Military War Essays Papers]
:: 3 Works Cited
659 words
(1.9 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay on The Military Draft is Against the US Constitution - The Military Draft is Against the US Constitution The military draft has been a controversial topic for many years in American society. The idea of a military draft has drastically changed between World War II and the Vietnam War. During the times of World War II, military service and draft was widely accepted by many Americans. During the World War II era, citizens felt that they had an “unlimited liability to perform military service when required by the state” (James 2). But as time progressed, military service and draft in the Vietnam War, constructed many doubts amongst many Americans....   [tags: Essays Papers]
:: 5 Works Cited
1328 words
(3.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
We Should Not Reinstate the Military Draft Essay - We Should Not Reinstate the Draft I never thought I would say this but I think we should reinstate the draft. It has been years since we have wanted or needed a draft, but in view of the United States being attacked on September 11, 2001, I feel our country must be ready and prepared to defend itself. If being prepared means reinstating the draft, a mandatory summons for military service, then I think we should consider this a reasonable proposal. I think the tragic events of September 11 will evoke most people to agree with me....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Argument Essays]
:: 2 Works Cited
1583 words
(4.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Military Draft: An Unwise Solution Essay - The Military Draft: An Unwise Solution      The United States of America's military is currently involved in two major wars with U.S. opposition in Afghanistan and Iraq. All though both of these efforts can be said to be in the clean-up stages, many more soldiers will be needed to stabilize the regions, to provide police work, and to fight the insurgencies that have risen in opposition to the invasion of U.S. troops into foreign lands. The current presidential administration states that to adequately deal with the problems of post-war Iraq and unstable Afghanistan the United States needs to increase the number of active-duty soldiers serving over-seas....   [tags: Bush Iraq War Afghanistan Essays] 1352 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Against Reinstating the Military Draft Essay - Against Reinstating the Military Draft On July 1, 1973, Congress chose to end the draft in favor of an All Volunteer Army. According to "The Professional Bulletin of Army History, No. 27," the last man was drafted in December 1972 and reported for training in June 1973. Now, not only might the renewed military draft come back but also the age of compulsory service in the meat grinder might be extended from its former limit of 26 years up to 42 years of age. As Ken Adachi, the editor of ?Educate Yourself,....   [tags: essays research papers] 1512 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]