Preview
Preview

Media Violence: Jenni Herd Passionate Letter To The Times Essay

:: 12 Works Cited
Length: 937 words (2.7 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

A young girl named Jenni Herd, 16, presented the world with a new thought in March of 2014. She wrote a passionate letter to The Times where she explains how she was fed up with adults who tried to explain a teenager’s behavior. Jenni wrote, “We no longer flinch at bloody images of war because we’ve grown up seeing the chaos in the Middle East and elsewhere. Most of us are cynical and pessimistic because of the environment we’ve grown up in…” She continues on trying to explain how teenagers feel in today’s world, how angry they are at the world, the way we live, and the fact that their generation will be left to fix the problems the generation before will leave them with. She wants to be treated like an adult and not as some “strange creatures from another world” (Herd). This may serve as a new outlet to why kids are behaving more dramatically these days. There’s nothing wrong with them mentally, it’s the world we all live in and the way kids and teenagers are treated.
It makes sense when you realize how often we see violence, we ourselves are used to it because we have also grown up observing an unnecessary amount of negative news on our ordinary stations. For every one positive report there is approximately seventeen negative ones, which is outrageous (Williams). There are people in our society doing positive things and I believe we should embrace those rather than the negative ones. The sad realization is still that we have become people who are entertained by violence and murder. Business Insider pointed out the seven most violent shows on cable as well as the seven most violent dramas on broadcast TV in the fall of 2013, all of them airing on big networks such as FX, AMC, FOX, and NBC (Acuna). It is interesting that ABC did ...


... middle of paper ...


...o The Times." The Huffington Post UK. N.p., n.d. Web. 28 Apr. 2014.
Kessler, Glenn. "HeraldNet.com - The History of Mass Shootings in the U.S." The Daily Herald. The Washington Post, 12 Jan. 2013. Web. 21 Apr. 2014.
Kesten, Lou. "Shooting Renews Argument over Video-Game Violence." The Big Story. N.p., 19 Dec. 2012. Web. 21 Apr. 2014.
National Television Violence Study, Volume 3. Sage Publications, (1998): n. pag. ERIC. Web.
"Personality Disorders." Definition. N.p., n.d. Web. 04 May 2014.
Plumer, Brad. "Why Are Mass Shootings Becoming More Common?" Washington Post. The Washington Post, 14 Dec. 2012. Web. 21 Apr. 2014.
Trend, David. The Myth of Media Violence: A Critical Introduction. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2007. Print.
Williams, Ray. "Why We Love Bad News." Psychology Today: Health, Help, Happiness + Find a Therapist. N.p., 30 Dec. 2010. Web. 21 Apr. 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay about A Passionate Heart in Nathaniel Hawthorne's Scarlet Letter - The Scarlet Letter - A Passionate Heart       One of the many literary talents of Nathaniel Hawthorne in the Scarlet Letter is his ability to make a clear contrast between Hester Prynne and the Puritan=s doctrines.  As a strict religious community, the Puritans condemned her for her shameful sin of adultery.  The words Hawthorne uses to describe Hester and the letter show that her attitude toward the scarlet letter contradicted what the Puritans intended as a merciful punishment.  The scarlet letter clearly emphasizes the burning passion Hester holds within her heart....   [tags: Scarlet Letter essays]
:: 1 Works Cited
634 words
(1.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Media During Times of War Essay - The Media During Times of War The media has always tried to keep us as informed as possible on the events around us. Recently with the war in Iraq, the media has been doing what they can to keep all of us back at home aware of what’s happening. Some people feel that the amount of coverage given is “Un-American” while others think that the media is just doing what ever George W. Bush wants. The media has done only what they’ve always done, tried to get the story and make a name for themselves....   [tags: Television Media TV Essays] 637 words
(1.8 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay on The Chico Times: Newsworthy or Not? - Issue In California, there was a large anti-gay rights protest with 3,000 people who marched down a closed-off street. The local newspaper chose not to run the story, although it was a big enough story to be covered in national news. The protestors had sent the paper a press release, as it was important that the citizens be informed of the march and its results. The newspaper argues that it has the right to publish what it deems newsworthy. The protestors argue that the community has a right to be kept aware of important topics, and say that the paper didn’t publish the story of the successful march because of the impact it would have....   [tags: Print Media]
:: 2 Works Cited
2055 words
(5.9 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Love in Desire's Baby, The Passionate Shepherd to His Love, and The Nymph's Reply to the Shepherd - Love in Desire's Baby by Kate Chopin, The Passionate Shepherd to His Love by Christopher Marlowe, and The Nymph's Reply to the Shepherd by Sir Walter Raleigh The socioeconomic condition and status of a person greatly impacts whether or not love will be reciprocated. That is evidenced by the story of “Désirée’s Baby”, by Kate Chopin and the poems “The Passionate Shepherd to His Love”, by Christopher Marlowe and “The Nymph’s Reply to the Shepherd”, by Sir Walter Raleigh. All these literary works relate love with socioeconomic status and how love is subordinated to society’s norms....   [tags: The Passionate Shepherd to His Love]
:: 3 Works Cited
1063 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Trial By Media Essay - A crime is an act punishable by the state that causes harm or discontent against a community or individual. Crime is known to be “an action or omission that constitutes an offense that may be prosecuted by the state and is punishable by law”1. Crime can be classified through a variety of elements which violate the rights of a community at large. Acts of crime are punishable upon proof of guilt that are presented in the court of law. Consequently, criminal law is the law which defines these crimes and may aid or establish their subsequent punishments....   [tags: Media]
:: 7 Works Cited
1419 words
(4.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
The Symbol of Guilt in Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter Essay examples - The scarlet letter is a symbol of guilt with the power to transform not only its wearer, but everyone involved in its inaugural scandal. Pearl and the letter share a certain relationship, and at times seem to mirror each other, as they exhibit similar tendencies. As children of indignity alike, they unconsciously serve as emotional grim reapers, and together, they unwillingly carry out the supernatural mandate of punishment rationed to them through sadistic and demoniac means. Because the two chosen are but unwilling situational puppets strewn by fate, it is impossible for self proclaimed vigilantes of the paranormal to come out unscathed....   [tags: the scarlet letter]
:: 1 Works Cited
1833 words
(5.2 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay about Media Proposal - The media industry has experienced a great deal of upheaval over the last several years. This process is best exemplified by all the changes in the music industry. Albums were a secure and controlled delivery method from their introduction in the 1940s until well into the 1980s when they were overtaken by the more portable cassettes. However, the most important innovation of cassettes was the ability for consumers to create their own cassette recordings. As the next generation moved to recordable CDs, this spawned the adoption of CD “ripping” and allowed consumers to make mp3 versions of their songs that could then be re-recorded in any order or mix they wanted....   [tags: Media] 854 words
(2.4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Letter To The Principal Essay - Dear Mr.Johnson, This Letter is on the issue of closed campus, in my opinion this should not even be an issue. County High Scholl students should be able to go out during lunch, we have a right to choose what we pay for and we have the right to seek a comfortable environment. I have very strong reasons to back up my opinion. If I want to not wait in line for at least five to eight minutes for food I must skip the trip to my locker and lag around a heavy bag which has my first, second, third and fourth hour books in it....   [tags: Letter To The Principal] 620 words
(1.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Hester's Isolation and Alienation in The Scarlet Letter Essay - Hester's Isolation and Alienation in The Scarlet Letter In Nathaniel Hawthorn's The Scarlet Letter, Hester Prynne and Reverend Dimmsdale have committed adultery, an unacceptable sin during the Puritan times. As a result of their sin, a child is born, whom the mother names Pearl. Out of her own free will Hester has to face major punishments. She has to serve many months in prison, stand on the scaffold for three hours under public scrutiny, and attach a scarlet letter, "A" on her chest every day as long as she remained in the town of Boston....   [tags: Scarlet Letter essays] 732 words
(2.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Hypocrisy Lies And Videotape At The L.A. Times Essay - The L.A. Times is in possession of a videotape of a 2003 event – variously characterized as a “banquet,” as a farewell party, as a tribute, and by the Times itself as a “celebration of Palestinian culture -- a night of music, dancing and a dash of politics” – all in honor of a friend and frequent dinner companion of Barack Obama, Palestinian scholar, Rashid Khalidi, who was leaving Chicago for a job in New York. About this tape only one thing is certain: Its release will not help Barack Obama get elected on Tuesday....   [tags: Los Angeles Times Obama Election] 1259 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]