Preview
Preview

The Media Destroys the Lives of Women Essay

:: 6 Works Cited
Length: 1331 words (3.8 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Media is everywhere. From T.V commercials to popular magazines, media exist. It has created norms that people have adopted in their everyday lives. Women have been forced to believe that they are inferior to men and are incompetent individuals. Society has given women the short end of the stick. Woman have been led to a corner of insecurity and despondency due to the reprehensible effect of the media. There are many aspects that the media tries to alter about women, however, the media’s effect on women’s body image is greatly recognized. According to a statistic made by the journalist Ella Marsh, “Four out of five women in the U.S. are unhappy with their appearance.”(Marsh) How does media continue to control the body image of a woman? Is the true mirror reflection of a woman formed by the media’s ascendency?

In magazines, models are discretely displayed. They demonstrate concrete beauty and body perfection that is not ideal. However, magazine companies still advertise their products with these models. According to Cate Berring, a feminist journalist, “There has been a progression towards thinner and thinner models in ads and magazines: twenty years ago, the average model weighed 8 per cent less than the average woman – but today’s models weigh 23 per cent less.”(Berring) Many of the photos people see in magazines of models are altered or photo-shopped before they are displayed to the public. Businesses use this technique of photo alteration to create insecurity decencies for women. In her article, Jamie Sommer states that “advertising is so strongly associated with creating insecurities that when women are shown images of products such as shoes, perfume or deodorant in the context of fictional ads, they are mor...


... middle of paper ...


...and create their own unique image. The media has damaged the lives of women; women should want to fight back. The day that women obtain their true identity, history will be made. Some critics may argue that change will never occur and believer that media will reign for a very long time. However, even with this argument, women should still question whether or not their mirror reflection belongs to them or if it belongs to the media.





Works Cited

Berring, Cate. "Media Effect." N.p., 16 Feb. 2001. Web. 3 Mar. 2014.

Marsh, Ella. "Media on Body Image." N.p., 12 May 2004. Web. 3 Mar. 2014.

Sommer, Jamie. "Body Immage." Daily News, 8 Oct. 2006. Web. 4 Mar. 2014.

Reece, Katie. N.p., n.d. Web. 7 Mar. 2014.

National Eating Disorder Association, 5 July 2009. Web. 3 Mar. 2014.

The Heart of Leadership Association, 17 May 2012. Web. 3 Mar. 2014.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
The Media's Role in How Women are Viewed Essay - Media within our society constantly degrades women and sends negative messages about the ways in which women should be treated; women are becoming objectified in the sense they are viewed as objects with little value. The media, which seems to endlessly show women as sexual objects, has the capability of limiting a woman’s potential and damaging their self worth. More often than not the media depicts the way people go about their daily life. People look at the media to determine how they should dress, act and in some cases even how they should perform sexually....   [tags: Media's Portrayal Of Women] 987 words
(2.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Media's Destructive Influence on Women Essay - Everywhere you turn society is being presented with images of perfection, beauty, or sexuality. Some of these images represent unrealistic or unreachable expectations and can be truly harmful. It is common to see women exploited in reality TV shows and music videos. Young women are also influenced by the images that they see in commercials, billboards, internet sites, and movies. These images serve to harm a woman’s self confidence and also are affecting their overall health. Today’s mass media messages are having a negative effect on how women perceive themselves....   [tags: The Media]
:: 6 Works Cited
1206 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Media's Degradation of Women Essay - Women have been fighting for the right to be equal members of society for centuries. In the past women were treated as second class citizens and didn’t have the same rights as men did. Women later lead a movement to change these ways. Although some drastic changes did come about from these movements, equality wasn’t fully attained. In this day and age, equality between men and women still hasn’t been achieved and the media is to blame for that. For decades, the media has dominated society’s views and perspectives of others....   [tags: Media Exploitation of Women]
:: 10 Works Cited
1729 words
(4.9 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Media’s Effect on Women - Media’s Effect on Women Since the beginning of media history, it has been empowering and limiting woman in many ways. Some of these ways are how woman today view there own body image, what stereotypes the media puts on women, and how these things affect women’s health. The media has been altering the way everyone see themselves and each other. They can also change the way we dress, look, and even the way we act. The media is the largest source of stereotypical misinformation on earth, and this provokes others to stereotype as well....   [tags: Media]
:: 9 Works Cited
1006 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Negative Consequences of Women in the Media- Analysis of a Specific Ad that Exploits Women - When you first glance at this ad, you might say to yourself “I know what women in the media are all about, its sexism and stereotypes.” What you probably don’t know is that how; these visual cues are affecting women individually and collectively, in how they view themselves in the mirror. One of the largest influences on women and adolescent girls is the media. The media pushes body image, clothes, and fast food. At the same time they push weight lose with unrealistic results. This combination that I am referring to above leads to adolescent girls, and women having eating disorders and a discomforting self-image....   [tags: media and women] 1200 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about The Media's Negative Impact on Men, Women and Children in America - The media is responsible for the communication challenges we face in this society, from television, internet and entertainment. The media is influencing the minds of men, women, and children in negative ways. In the media men are known to have money, power, and respect and women are known to use their sexuality to gain any respect from this society. Children are brain washed to the point of violence; children want to carry weapons like the characters they play in the video games. The main objective in this society is to have control of people through entertainment, which includes television, music, video games and magazines....   [tags: media] 952 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Media's Effect on the Body Image of Women and Children Essay - Mass media is a part of society that helps connect people from all over the world. It does this through television, magazines, film and social media. These aspects of media, when used in the right way, can benefit society; however, mass media often shows a distorted view of the facts that people often take as the truth. This is often the case when it comes to the media’s effect on how women view their bodies. Since the media’s creation of the “ideal” body type, which is known to be tall and thin, body objectification has become a serious issue....   [tags: Media, Body Image, Women]
:: 5 Works Cited
1925 words
(5.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Effects of Media on Our Lives Essay examples - The Effects of Media on Our Lives Social Scientists say that the average American watches too much television and plays too many video games. I would agree with this, because in high school that is all I did, but not so much for me anymore. Back when I was in high school that is all I did. Watch television, play Nintendo, hang out with my friends. However, now that I am in college, I have had to change my ways. It helps a lot that I don't have either one of those in my dorms. The media though is a really good thing....   [tags: Cause Effect Media] 1472 words
(4.2 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on The Affect of Media Beauty Standards on Women's Self Esteem - The Affect of Media Beauty Standards on Women's Self Esteem In the daily fight for the emancipation of women and the pressures and influence of advertising, women of all ages are coerced into physical and psychological self-torment trying to achieve an optimum look or image. This is something not limited to a few. One can see the work of television advertisers in high schools everyday as girls wear the same clothing, makeup and accessories as their favorite stars. They may also try to imitate models they see in teen magazines....   [tags: Women Female Beauty Media]
:: 7 Works Cited
2170 words
(6.2 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Avatars Will Replace Faces And Profiles Essay - I never thought when I started blogging that I would receive over fifty thousand views from one website alone. That is a big compliment for an old guy that lives in Brooklyn. I guess whatever I have to say must be stimulating. The lack of comments that I and most other male writers receive is not a sign of poor writing only a sign that women are not interested in a mans individuality or creative ability. I have seen many extremely boring and frivolous articles written by women receive over fifteen compliments....   [tags: Internet Net World Wide Web Media] 738 words
(2.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]