Preview
Preview

Living With Terrorism Essay

:: 8 Works Cited
Length: 1022 words (2.9 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Terrorism has been in existence for ages, and is still relatively difficult to define. Though the word terror is clear, when it becomes applied to acts, or actors, it becomes confusing. A definition that can be retrieved from Google is “the use of violence and intimidation in the pursuit of political aims”. This gives a vague idea of what terrorism truly is. A more in-depth definition of terrorism would include characteristics such as, a crime of holy duty, a political tactic or strategy, an inexcusable abomination, or a justified reaction to oppression ("What is Terrorism?"). Historically, those who abused their power and superiority, often including different governments, committed the act of terrorism. An important historic event that demonstrates terrorism is World War II. A man named Adolph Hitler invaded Poland, as well as terrorized and killed many Jewish people. There was no legitimate reason for him doing so; he basically just did it because he could. Terrorism is an asymmetric form of conflict, which confers coercive power with many advantages of military force. Acts of terrorism have been in existence for a millennium, and have often been committed in order to prove something politically.

Throughout history there have been many terrorist attacks, both on small and large scales. After each one, different adaptations have had to occur in order to prevent these acts from re-occurring. Thus creating great need for anti-terrorism laws, not only in Canada, but in many other countries as well. The terrorist attack of September 11th, 2001 (9/11) is one that most people refer to when thinking of terrorism because it had created the need for big changes. 9/11 was the terrorist attack that had occurred in the United States, re...


... middle of paper ...


...st, 22 Jul 2013. Web. 21 Nov 2013. .

"Lawyers for Boston suspect Dzhokhar Tsarnaev to pin blame on brother." The Guardian. The Guardian, 23 Oct 2013.Web.21 Nov,2013.

By Staff, . "Global News." Global Toronto. Global News, 06 Nov 2013. Web. 21 Nov 2013..

"The United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime and Terrorism Prevention." UNODC (United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime). UNODC (United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime). Web. 21 Nov 2013. .

"What is Terrorism?." terrorism RESEARCH. University of St Andrews. Web. 14 Dec 2013. .



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Living in the Shadow of Terrorism Essay - “For most of [American] history, residents of the United States have never had to seriously consider the possibility of conventional interstate war on [American] soil or the possibility that nonstate terrorists could easily reach us on [American] soil” (Aber). On September 11th, 2001, a series of coordinated attacks by a group of terrorists known as al-Qaeda devastated the United States in a multitude of ways that define my generation. After “9/11,” members of Generation Y, including myself, were brought together under the shadow of terrorism – united in fear....   [tags: Terrorism Essays]
:: 11 Works Cited
1194 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Growing Up With Terrorists Essay - On September 11, 2001, I walked downstairs to have my breakfast and turned on the T.V. since I was alone. Coincidentally, I turned to the right channel at the right time when the news was informing the nation about an event that would change our lives and leave a mark in history. Everyday, things affect us in ways we have never experienced, teaching us new lessons and information which help us grow as individuals, or in this case, also as a nation. Events that affect us personally tend to change our perspective on life and introduce us even more into the "adult" world....   [tags: Living With Terrorism] 783 words
(2.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on History of Terrorism - We define terrorism as using force to influence or change a political decision. Given that there may be an array of situations the U.S. government and the American people are faced with on a daily basis, most would probably agree in saying that terrorism is the most imperative issue we are not only becoming victims to, but are interminably asked to deal with as well as finding a solution for. The history of terrorism can be traced back as far as the French revolution. Some of these acts of terrorism only seem as distant reminders of our past, but at the same time, are not a far cry from today’s brutal acts; and although these acts seem distant, it doesn’t also mean they are no longer in the...   [tags: Terrorism] 1538 words
(4.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Terrorism and the Muslim Community Essay examples - Much of the terrorism that occurs globally tend to have a link with the Muslim community. When a terrorism activity occurs, the media focus on the Muslim community as the potential masterminds of the criminal act. In most parts of the world, people associated with the Muslim culture receive a lot of discrimination considering that their colleagues associate with terrorism activities. The main question is that are all the terrorism activities that take place associate with the Muslim community....   [tags: Terrorism ]
:: 2 Works Cited
2034 words
(5.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about America's Part in Terrorism - The argument Chomsky makes in his book “Power and Terror” is that the United States is actively participating in terrorism. In many interviews, speeches, and conferences where Chomsky is involved, he makes reference to this point of view. The United States of America does participate and contribute to what most Americans would consider acts of terror. Webster defines terrorism as the use of violence and threats to intimidate or coerce, especially for political purposes. This explanation of the word terrorism accurately defines what the United States does on a fairly regular basis....   [tags: Terrorism ]
:: 3 Works Cited
1216 words
(3.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Terrorism Essay: War on Terrorism - Round 1 - War on Terrorism: Round 1 The Bush Troika´s war on terrorism reached first base after installing a new government in Afghanistan. One of the poorest and most defenseless countries on earth has been bombed into rubble by a megalomaniac superpower that can see no limits to its rights of domination. The country that harbors more Southern American terrorists, executioners and dictators than anyone else in the world has shown us all what happens when others harbor wanted men. What has been achieved if we look beyond Bush's clichés, Pentagon's hype and Rumsfeld´s and Ashcroft´s rhetoric....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays] 953 words
(2.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Terrorism Against America Essay examples - Terrorism is the use of violence and threats to intimidate or coerce, especially for political purposes. Recently on September 11, 2001 a terrorist group calling themselves Al-Qadea, planned a coordinated attack. Thus high jacking four planes which were targeted at what some people call the heart of the United States, (Twin Towers, Pentagon, and another landed in PA). With this said we call these people terrorists. So many people died on 9/11 not for their country but for oil. The terrorist attack was motivated from the sheer dislike of the US being in the middle east using their oil for our own personal gain....   [tags: Terrorism] 567 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Abandoning the Constitution in the Fight Against Terrorism Essay - Abandoning the Constitution in the Fight Against Terrorism   During his terms as governor of Texas, George W. Bush made it clear that he was ignorant of the Constitution by denying due process to the people he executed and refusing effective counsel to indigent inmates.  As president, Bush, terrorized by terrorists, is abandoning more and more of the fundamental rights and liberties that he-and his subordinates-assure us they are fighting to preserve. On Thursday, November 15, William Safire-The New York Times' constitutional conservative-distilled Bush's new raid on the Constitution: "Misadvised by a frustrated and panic-stricken attorney general, a president of the United States has...   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays] 1656 words
(4.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay The Historical Context of Terrorism and Our Next Steps - The Historical Context of Terrorism and Our Next Steps   As the horrific tragedy of September 11 settles into permanent corridors of our conscious life, our reactions as a society are manifold. There is shock, grief, anger and other emotions that we have not fully understood or found words to describe. As we search for explanations, our sages in government, the media and the academy try to help us articulate what we have experienced. We have been told that our innocence is gone, that the third world war has begun and that we are confronting a new and more lethal form of terrorism than the world has ever seen....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays] 1119 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Terrorism - After watching both Battle of Algiers and Bloody Sunday I have come to have a better understanding of the motivations behind these two very important revolutions. It is important to understand why the FLN and IRA decided to engage in “terrorist” activities, because analysis of the motivations behind their actions will allow us to see how “terrorists” are labeled and who is labeling them. The ways in which these groups are labeled and characterized has a large impact on the actions taken and the ramifications of these actions....   [tags: essays research papers] 1927 words
(5.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]