Preview
Preview

Knee Brace: An Athlete's Uniform Essay

:: 7 Works Cited
Length: 1348 words (3.9 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

When an athlete catches the sound of their knee crack and pop, they better prepare themselves for a long journey. The Center for Injury and Policy (CIRP), from Science Daily, reports that, “Knees are the most accident prone part of the body in high school athletes.” Knee injuries are very common; in fact, they are responsible for 45% of the injuries that occur in high school athletics across America. Knee injuries are well known to not just those in the medical field, but also to athletes. Injuries to the knee are caused by many factors, and what happens after the injury has taken place is what’s most concerning (Science Daily).
So what causes athletes to tumble to the ground? According to the Osteoarthritis Health Center, “The knee is a vulnerable joint.” The knee is a complex system, made up of many parts that are made like delicate pieces of glass; they can easily be destroyed. The knee is formed by tendons, cartilage, ligaments, muscle, and some bone (Web MD). All of these components are sensitive pieces of the body. The Knee Pain Health Center suggests that the knee experiences wear and tear every day from a variety of activities. Sports, running, and even walking wear down the building blocks of the knee; the most common worn part is cartilage. Knees injuries are unpredictable. Aggressive actions, also suggested from the Knee Pain Health Center, includes any twisting or forceful turning. A swing of a bat, or winning tackle, puts the knee at risk for injury. Athletics that are dangerous to the knee include softball, basketball, volleyball, hockey, baseball, gymnastics, and football (Web MD).
Athletics are sometimes blamed completely for knee injuries, but athletics are not always the main cause of knee injuries. Knee inju...


... middle of paper ...


... Center for Injury and Research Policy (CIRP). “High School Injuries by Sport and Gender.” May 23, 2008. www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2008/05/080522072325.htm. Retrieved on 1/10/14.
Staff, Mayo Clinic. Mayo Clinic. Diseases and Conditions. “Knee Pain.” March 29, 2013. www.mayoclinic.org/diseas-conditions/knee-pain/basics/definition/con-20029534. Retrieved on 1/25/14.
Web MD. Knee Pain Health Center. “Knee Problems and Injuries- Treatment.” August 5, 2011. www.webmd.com/pain-managment/knee-pain-problems-and-injuries-home-treatment. Retrieved on 1/24/14.
Web MD. Osteoarthritis Health Center. “Osteoarthritis.” 2005. www.webmd.com/osteoarthrits/default.htm?name-dropdown=mo. Retrieved on 1/25/14.
Wilk, Bruce. Post Injury Running Blog. “Runners Knee can be a very Frustrating Running Injury.” November 4, 2013. postinjuryrunning.com/blog/?p=145. Retrieved on 1/25/14.




Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Knee Pain Associated with Misalignment of the Knee Joint Essay - Knee Pain Associated with Misalignment of the Knee Joint Introduction & Background I chose to write about knee pain and the misalignment of the knee joint, because it is something that I suffer from on a daily basis. In the last 11 years I have had three knee surgeries I have had part of my medial meniscus taken out and then followed it seven years later with the complete removal of the lateral meniscus. Due to my very valgus alignment, which is when you knee joint points towards the midline they then decided to do a distal femoral osteotomy....   [tags: knee brace, distal femoral, surgery]
:: 7 Works Cited
1290 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Patient Needing Total Knee Arthroplasty (TKA) - A total knee arthroplasty is indicated for an effective way to treat late stage arthritis in the knee. According to Trojani et alˡ two thirds of the patients who have a total knee arthroplasty (TKA) have the degenerative disease in both knees. Twenty percent of those patients will have to have surgery on the other knee within two years of having the first surgery.ˡ When the disease affects both knees the patient only benefits when both knees joints are replaced. With the appropriate patient, an orthopaedic surgeon may elect to do a simultaneous bilateral total knee arthroplasty where the patient undergoes a total knee replacement on both knees at the same time....   [tags: Total Knee Arthroplasty] 913 words
(2.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Knee Dislocations - In today’s sports world, athletes are pushing themselves to the limits to accomplish a sound victory for themselves or their team. But sometimes they succumb to pushing themselves too hard and get injured. They put them in a position where the only option they have is getting an injury. Lots of injuries happen to the leg of the athlete, but the knee is where the most damage is. Although it does not happen often, a knee dislocation is a serious injury. Being different than a patellar dislocation which is where the patella relocates to another spot of the knee, a knee dislocation is where the tibia and femur are forcibly separated....   [tags: sports, athletes]
:: 10 Works Cited
2151 words
(6.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
To Tape or To Brace the Ankle Joint Essay - ... Research done by Simpson, Yom, and Fu measured ground reaction forces and the effects on lower extremity kinematics when wearing an ankle brace.4 In the results of their study they found that in sagittal plane movements the brace displayed ten degrees less displacement in dorsiflexion of the ankle along with eight degrees less plantar flexion.4 The study also found that knee displacement was three degrees less. When they looked at internal/external rotation, ankle external rotation and knee internal rotation during the braced landing were less....   [tags: sports medicine, traumatology]
:: 6 Works Cited
1303 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Housman's To An Athlete Dying Young - Housman's "To An Athlete Dying Young" A. E. Housman's "To an Athlete Dying Young," also known as Lyric XIX in A Shropshire Lad, holds as its main theme the premature death of a young athlete as told from the point of view of a friend serving as pall bearer. The poem reveals the concept that those dying at the peak of their glory or youth are really quite lucky. The first few readings of "To an Athlete Dying Young" provides the reader with an understanding of Housman's view of death. Additional readings reveal Housman's attempt to convey the classical idea that youth, beauty, and glory can be preserved only in death....   [tags: Poem Housman Athlete Dying Essays]
:: 6 Works Cited
1640 words
(4.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
School Uniform Debate Essay - “School Uniforms: Yes, or No” The concept of having school uniform is a topic that has been debated fir any years. Some students find uniforms necessary, others just hate the colors. I think that the students who think uniforms are unnecessary are wrong. Uniforms are an excellent idea and can help school students be more disciplined, have an equal environment, and enjoy greater academics. School uniforms are a great way to maintain a level of social equality. There are more positive effects of wearing school uniforms than negative....   [tags: School Uniforms] 521 words
(1.5 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Analysis of Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee Essay - Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee:  An Analysis Dee Brown's Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee is a fully documented account of the annihilation of the American Indian in the late 1800s ending at the Battle of Wounded Knee. Brown brings to light a story of torture and atrocity not well known in American history. The fashion in which the American Indian was exterminated is best summed up in the words of Standing Bear of the Poncas, "When people want to slaughter cattle they drive them along until they get them to a corral, and then they slaughter them....   [tags: Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee Essays] 708 words
(2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Magic Johnson More than an Average Athlete Essay example - Magic Johnson More than an Average Athlete In my life, I had many people who I really admire from Tiger Woods, Michael Jordan, Sean Carter (Jay-z), and Robert Johnson. Others who have influenced me in my development of a person were my parents; my mother and my father were there for everything I have done in my life. The person who I model myself after is Earvin Johnson jr. also known as Magic Johnson. There are many reasons why but all really point to him defeated in adversity in many facets of life....   [tags: Basketball athlete hero role model] 1159 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about NASA A.T.H.L.E.T.E. - 1. INTRODUCTION: The NASA A.T.H.L.E.T.E (All-Terrain Hex-Limbed Extra-Terrestrial Explorer) is a vehicle developed by the NASA Johnson Space Centre, NASA Ames Research Centre, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Boeing Company and Stanford University. It is part of the Lunar and Planetary Surface Operations element of the NASA Technology Maturation Program and constitutes the “effort for a sustainable, affordable and safe human lunar return” [1]. Two approximately half-scale prototype “Software Development Model” vehicles have been built (figure 1) and tested between 2005 and 2009....   [tags: Space Exploration]
:: 12 Works Cited
1291 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Knee Essay - The Knee Most doctors agree that the dehumanization in the clinical setting can lead to the loss of a patient because of the lack of respect they are given. That is a great incentive for doctors to try to get to know their patients and make them feel as comfortable as possible. When a patient attends a teaching hospital where aspiring doctors exam patients in groups, there is no real reward for them learning personal information about the patient. They will move on to start their own practice and probably never see the patient again....   [tags: essays research papers] 659 words
(1.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]