Preview
Preview

Is Technology Improving our Education? Essay example

:: 10 Works Cited
Length: 1229 words (3.5 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Before delving in and seeing if technology has bettered our education in the 21-century, we should probably go back and explore how it originated. Marcia Clemmitt, in the article Digital Education discharges that “Electronic computers were invented in the early 1940's and used as early as 1943 for a wartime educational purpose -- as flight simulators.” (Clemmitt 1012). Clemmitt, in her article states the nature of the first computers coming into use in order to shine light on the original purpose they had. Helping our men and women in the line of battle, but once computers came out it was time to find other applications this wonderful technology could be integrated amongst. Clemmitt writes that, “More schools have computers, but most are used for record-keeping, other administrative purposes.” (1011). Clemmitt, displays how things progress as time moves on by telling us that computers are moving their way into schools. Clemmit mentions that, “Schools sensibly start by giving the teacher a computer to serve as a grade book, communicate using websites and email and replace audio-visual aids. Helping teachers become comfortable with technology is an important first step toward helping them figure out how to use it productively for student learning, she says.” (1019). Before technology can take hold in an environment it first need to go through baby steps. Clemmitt, wrote that Acts are providing brick and mortar schools with technology. For example the programming language BASIC was invented, along with additional computer learning programs (1011). These applications will help development of computers and the versatility of them, and how suitable they will be for school function. Clemmitt, then mentions that the amount of schools gra...


... middle of paper ...


... Web. 12 Feb. 2014.
Koch, Kathy. "The Digital Divide." CQ Researcher 28 Jan. 2000: 41-64. Web. 12 Feb. 2014.
"Laptops in Schools." Issues & Controversies On File: n. pag. Issues & Controversies. Facts On File News Services, 11 Jan. 2008. Web. 12 Feb. 2014. .
"Online Classes Can Increase Learning." Has Technology Increased Learning? By Roman Espejo. Detroit: Greenhaven, 2009. 53-59. Print. Rpt. of "Welcome to the Cyber Classroom." The Education Innovator 6 (2008): n. pag.
Sovern, Jeff. "Laptops in class: How distracting are they?." Christian Science Monitor 06 June 2011: N.PAG. Academic Search Premier. Web. 12 Feb. 2014.
van der Meij, Hans, Eefje Albers, and Henny Leemkuil. "Learning From Games: Does Collaboration Help?." British Journal Of Educational Technology 42.4 (2011): 655-664. Academic Search Premier. Web. 28 Feb. 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Technology in Education Essay examples - Introduction Technology, as we all know, is helping and improving many disciplines of life. Technology, in Britannica Encyclopedia, is defined as the application of scientific knowledge to the practical aims of human life. (Britannica, 2009) Using technology in education for the purpose of better understanding is a positive step taken by most of the schools, colleges and universities all around the world. Technology can play vital role in improving education systems. You can see electronic gadgets and computers being used in schools, colleges and universities....   [tags: Technology, persuasive, argumentative] 1681 words
(4.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay The Importance of Improving Public Education - Compromises are what this country, the United States of America, was founded upon. Every decision made is done by compromise. This includes all the laws that are passed, and more specifically the “No Child Left Behind Act.” The No Child Left Behind Act was not the first law passed to affect the nation’s educational systems, nor will it be the last. There have been several problems laid out with the various educational systems put into place, and there are many things we could do today to better our educational systems in the future....   [tags: public schools, NCLB, education reform]
:: 5 Works Cited
1442 words
(4.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Perspective on Global Education Essay - “Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school” this quote by Albert Einstein states the importance of education, its influence on our daily lives and its power over all other devices. My teacher once asked me what’s easier, to remember or to forget. I answered confidently “to forget” but he made me realize I was wrong, I can never forget the alphabet “a” for example even if I try erasing it from my memory; moral of the story is that education will stay with you for the rest of your life....   [tags: education expansion, students, technology]
:: 1 Works Cited
1074 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Educational Technology Theories and Theorists Essay examples - Introduction Technology is becoming more and more predominant in society. The concept of technology is a reality that has pervaded not only our everyday lives but our mere state of existence. Technology has affected every aspect of society. There is no doubt that technology holds great potential for improving the way that people learn and ready or not, technology is affecting education. Educational Technology Ever since the integration of educational technology there has been a dramatic shift in most of the paradigms on which traditional learning exists....   [tags: Educational Technology ]
:: 5 Works Cited
1156 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Importance of Education in Improving the American Economy Essay - As a child, I knew money was scarce. Though my family had one parent and one income, we sufficed. On the news, reporters spoke of the economic downfall. Elementary teachers discussed the economic social ladder and daily statistics about increasing poverty levels. But what is poverty. About two years ago, our financial status began to follow the economic trends. My father could no longer afford rent or groceries for dinner. For months we were living off the few food stamps available to us. This was the most petrifying moment of my life....   [tags: The Importance of Education] 1119 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Does Technology Affect Education? - To begin with, the generation today and the generation yesterday are two completely different worlds. In the past, if you didn’t understand the material presented in math class nor had generous friends who would tutor you, chances are you didn’t do very well on the test. Today however, we have so many resources available to students to help them understand the concepts covered in class. Not to mention most of these resources can be found on the internet which can be accessed twenty four hours a day, seven days a week....   [tags: faster learning, math, education]
:: 4 Works Cited
1058 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Technology and Participation - Common forms of technology found in today’s classrooms have impacted the way students participate in class. Many forms of technology are available to teachers; some more common tools include interactive white boards, laptop computers, and personal response systems. Interactive white boards are perhaps the most common technological tool in school districts today, and support for them continues to grow. In higher levels of education laptop computers are prevalent among students, while personal response systems, also known as clickers, are modestly mixed throughout all levels of education....   [tags: Technology]
:: 7 Works Cited
897 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
How Technology Effects Education Essay - How Technology Effects Education The best method for improving educational standards is to utilize every tool available, including state-of-the-art technology. Computers and the Internet have expanded the way in which information can be delivered to the students of today. Today's networking technologies provide a valuable opportunity to practice new learning techniques. Educators are discovering that computers are facilitating learning. Computer based communications, or Telecommunications, can offer many educational opportunities; therefore, educators will need to adapt current teaching methods to incorporate this new media into the classroom....   [tags: science] 646 words
(1.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Higher Education Essay - Many nations have relied on education to gain social and economic stability. They supported their educational system by undertaking continuous constructive changes to be abreast of global demands. For the same reasons, high education should develop a new philosophy which promotes global competitiveness, creativity, and productivity to respond to the twenty-first century demands. To successfully support students to acquire these universally shared skills, it is imperative that higher education challenges established traditions and values which are no longer in alignment with the new academic perspectives....   [tags: American Education, School System, Traditions] 927 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Communication Technology - Introduction People in the present society have turned from the use of the old means of communication to the more advanced and technological ways of communicating. Technology has made it easier for people to communicate in a faster, efficient, and cost saving means through the introduction of the communication channels. The world has turned out to be the centre for technology with different technologies emerging daily as the people continue to develop from time to time to cope with the growing technology....   [tags: Technology ]
:: 4 Works Cited
1046 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]