Preview
Preview

The Illegal Immigrant Controversy Essay

:: 4 Works Cited
Length: 977 words (2.8 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

It seems that everyone has an opinion on the illegal immigrant issue. We read about it in the newspaper, see the issue addressed on television, and hear that our elected officials are proposing new laws to address the problem. At one end of the spectrum are those who propose that we build a wall to keep illegal immigrants out, or deport them if they have managed to enter the country illegally. At the other end, are the proponents who want America to accept the “undocumented” and grant them amnesty. Because of the strong feeling surrounding the issue of illegal immigrants, the controversy will not be resolved to everyone’s satisfaction. However, we should work together to come up with a solution that is in the best interest of our country while legalizing the status of the illegal immigrants.
As we consider options for a legalization process, we should ask ourselves if amnesty is the answer. It is defined as “a blanket overlooking of an offense by the government…” (Amnesty Law). Would granting a “pathway to citizenship” be a preferable method? (Werner). Many of our citizens are opposed to either choice. They feel that the individuals gained access by illegal means, or failed to return home at the prescribed time; therefore, they should be returned to their native countries. Their concerns are justified, and we should make an effort to understand their reasoning. There are approximately twelve million undocumented workers in the United States who are hiding in the background awaiting a decision.
It is not too difficult to understand why someone would be opposed to illegal immigrants that are jeopardizing our citizens’ jobs, and incurring no tax liability. All the while, they enjoy the benefits of free education and med...


... middle of paper ...


...ted

“Amnesty Law and Legal Definition.” U.S Legal.com.Web. 3 April 2014. .
Krayewski, E. “Ed Krayewski: 5 Reasons to Grant Amnesty to Illegal Immigrants.”
Reasons.com. 2 Feb. 2013. Web. 4 Apr. 2014. < http://reason.com/blog/2013/02/07/
ed-krayewski-on-the-case-for-amnesty-for-illegal-immigr/1>.
Rodriguez, Cindy Y., and Adriana Hauser. “Deportations: Missing Parents, Scared Kids.” CNN.com. 27 Oct. 2013. Web. 12 Apr. 2014. us/immigration-parents-deported-children-left-behind/>.
Werner, Erica. “Immigration Reform Bill: 'Special' Path to Citizenship Creating Knot.” Huffington Post.com. 2 Sept. 2013. Web. 4 Apr. 2014. .



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Illegal Immigrants: Amnesty Essays - The United States is known to have one of the most accepting immigration in the world. It has contributed to the country's population growth as well as social change. However, the policy remains to be a controversy because of the topic that is illegal immigration. According to the Department of Homeland security in 2010, there are 10.8 million illegal immigrants residing among the 300+ million Americans. Since then, the number has grown to 11+ million people. The U.S. Congress has always sought to find the solution for illegal immigration, with amnesty being an option....   [tags: illegal immigration, United States, legalization]
:: 6 Works Cited
1022 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Controversy of Opinions on Labeling Immigrants Essay - Some would think that the terms illegal immigrant and undocumented immigrant or anything with labeling is offensive. Many would people suggest that terms like illegal or undocumented and etc. is acceptable. People think the labeling of immigrants is offensive because the emphasis on the word illegal or undocumented. The opposing groups think that it’s acceptable because they weren’t born in their country so, there is a need to call them a specific name to identify. I understand where the group who opposes labeling illegal or undocumented because all their doing is coming from a different country from their native country which, no violent or even a misdemeanor has been committed....   [tags: illegal, undocumented, residence]
:: 3 Works Cited
823 words
(2.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Problems of Illegal Immigration Essay - Illegal immigration to the United States refers to the act of foreign nationals violating U.S. immigration policies and national laws by entering or remaining in the United States without proper permission from the United States government ("Illegal Immigration"). Illegal immigration has been going on since the 1880's and till this day the number of aliens has been increasing each year. The Page Act of 1875 was known as the first federal immigration law that prohibited the entry of immigrants. This law dealt with immigrants from China and Japan only, but eventually as years went on, laws formed against many other individuals....   [tags: Negative Effects of Illegal Immigrants 2014]
:: 7 Works Cited
915 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Pros and Cons of Illegal Immigration Essay - Many people have come to America for a better life and to get away from all the troubles of their homeland. These immigrants, like those throughout U.S. history, are generally hard workers and make important contributions to the economy through their productive labor and purchasing power. America is considered a melting pot of many diffrent ethinic group. Immigrants should be able to enter America with little if any resistance from any border patrol. Immigrants in america take the low paying, hard labor jobs that , unfortunately, some americans don't want....   [tags: immigrants] 1494 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Illegal Immigrants in America Essays - ... In this recession the US needs to continuously put money into the economy and illegal immigrants help with that. The US labor force would not survive if it was not for illegal immigrants. If there were no illegal immigrants our labor force would decrease by four percent (Isidore 5). “We could not have grown as much as we did in the 1990s if we did not have immigrants… our growth would have been slower (Isidore 5).” Having illegal immigrants in our labor force increases the amount of resources we have, which increases the amount of production in the country....   [tags: media, equal, economy] 1012 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on The Controversy of Approving the Dream Act - Over the past few years the controversy of approving the Dream Act has been a topic that seems to not have an end. About ten years ago, young Ivan Nikolov immigrated from Russia with his mother, and missed a court date a year after they arrived. Nikolov's mother was married to a U.S citizen, yet she was deported back to Russia. Charged for an immigration violation Nikolov sat in prison for three months, however he did not commit a single crime or had a choice to stay in the U.S without legal statues....   [tags: US immigration policies]
:: 5 Works Cited
1023 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Illegal Immigration and Equal Rights Essay - Illegal Immigration and Equal Rights Should immigrants receive the same tolerances that other minority groups have received in the past decades. Should their struggle for equal rights over- shadow the fact that immigration laws are ignored. Pro Amnesty and Anti-Immigration groups have different opinions about these issues The immigration laws that exist in the U.S are not the problem, the problem exist with the people who refuse to enforce them because they contrast the immigrant’s struggles with those of early equal rights movements....   [tags: Immigration, informational, pros, cons]
:: 6 Works Cited
1626 words
(4.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Illegal Immigrants and the Educational System Essay - Illegal Immigrants and the Educational System Secondary education is a highly debated subject. Many critics of secondary education say that inner-city high schools and students are not receiving the same attention as students from non inner-city high schools. Two of the biggest concerns are the lack of school funding that inner-city high schools are receive and the low success rate in sending inner-city high schools graduates to college. Critics say that while inner-city high schools struggle to pay its teachers and educate its student’s non inner-city high schools don’t have to deal with the lack of school funding....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Essays]
:: 3 Works Cited
1001 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Dream Act Promotes Illegal Immigration Essay - Today, there are about 80,000 undocumented students who will graduate from high school in the United States. Nearly 65,000 of these students will not only be graduating, but have been living in the country for five years or more. Undocumented students face various challenges as they move along the academic pipeline. Yet, a growing number of them are graduating from U.S. high schools each year prepared to enter our nation’s colleges and universities. These students are most likely in favor of the Dream Act, Development Relief and Education for Alien Minors Act....   [tags: Argumentative, Persuasive]
:: 4 Works Cited
1602 words
(4.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
We Must Educate the Children of Illegal Immigrants Essay example - Immigration laws have been a subject of debate throughout American history, especially in states such as California and Texas, where immigrant populations are high. Recently, some citizens have been questioning whether we should continue to educate the children of illegal immigrants. While this issue is steeped in emotional controversy, we must not allow divisive "us against them" rhetoric to cloud our thinking. Yes, educating undocumented immigrants costs us, but not educating them would cost us much more....   [tags: Critical Thinking Essays]
:: 2 Works Cited
727 words
(2.1 pages)
Better Essays [preview]