How Do I Relate My Faith In Good God With All The Suffering In The World?

:: 6 Works Cited
Length: 1257 words (3.6 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Sometimes I wonder why tragic things happen and if it’s a part of God’s plan. My faith teaches me that God wants us to be in good health, even as our soul prospers in 3 John 2, (KJV, 1994). When I see events like 911, Hurricane Katrina, the Tsunami and the Haiti Earthquake I sometimes wonder why these things have to happen. I know that I can not blame God because some things are man made. Everyone suffers at some point in our lives, whether it’s a divorce, cancer, an accident, a disability or a homicide we all have pain.
The bible tells us God causes all things to work together for good for those that love Him and are called according to His purpose in Romans 8:28 (KJV, 1994). That suggests that some of the tragic events must happen to fulfill his purpose. God also allowed evil to come into the world and perhaps that is to help us with our choices. God gave us the liberty of making our own choices on whether to follow him or live a life filled with evil. He also wants us to live in love but people sometimes live with hatred (Hank Hanergraaff, 2011).
There have been many speculations about why the Haitian people suffered the earthquake and other bad things since January 12, 2010. Television evangelist Pat Robertson thinks that the people of Haiti are suffering because of a pact that they made with the devil when Napoleon was reigning (Ryan Smith, 2010). In Exodus 34:14 it says “Do not worship any other god, for the LORD, whose name is Jealous, is a jealous God”. This clearly says that anything can happen if you replace him with other gods. It could be his wrath or the evil influence of worshipping another god that will affect you (KJV, 1994).
I remember losing friends and loved ones, especially my grandmo...

... middle of paper ...

Jais, Vaiv. "Uses and Benefits of Plant Extracts." Submit Articles or Find Free Articles. 12 Oct. 2010. Web. 26 Feb. 2011.
O'neil, Dennis. "Early Modern Homo Sapiens." Anthropology. 22 Dec. 2010. Web. 26 Feb. 2011
Smith, Ryan. "Pat Robertson: Haiti "Cursed" After "Pact to the Devil" - Crimesider - CBS News Breaking News Headlines: Business, Entertainment & World News - CBS News. 13 Jan. 2010. Web. 26 Feb. 2011.
Wilkes, Paul. In Due Season: a Catholic Life. 1st ed. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass, 2009. Print

Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

This essay is 100% guaranteed.

Title Length Color Rating  
Essay on Depeche Mode's Songs of Faith and Devotion - Depeche Mode's Songs of Faith and Devotion Originally released in 1993, Depeche Mode's Songs of Faith and Devotion was unveiled to a stunned U.S. and U.K. audience. The band had undergone a transformation of truly Gothic proportions. Gone were the short crew cuts, the sole use of synthesizers, and the Gap image. In its place were long and flowing Jesus-like hair, distorted guitars and full drum sections, and a look that some described as the "heroine junky" mode. Much to the surprise of die-hard fans, the album was a commercial success, spawning a full length live album, 5 top twenty Billboard hits, and a relentless 18 month tour which ended abruptly when keyboardist Alan Wil...   [tags: Papers] 571 words
(1.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
A Christian View Of Suffering Essay - A consistent theme of mine is how critically important it is for us to have a foundational understanding about what Christianity is about. Most of us who have been in the church for a while know a few things: God loves us. Jesus forgives our sins. Unless you believe in Jesus you're going to Hell. We can have a relationship with God. We have these scattered bits of theological facts, but what we don't often have is an understanding of how it all fits together. I was wondering today what could be more important for the church than what I'm about to talk about....   [tags: Christian Religion Religious] 1961 words
(5.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
A Comparison of the Ethics of Characters in the Good Faith and the movie Glengarry Glen Ross - Good Faith is novel written by Jane Smiley is able to take the readers back to the age when real estate industry was on the boom. The writer of the novel Jane has done absolute justice with the writing as it can be commented that the people who have witnessed the boom in the real estate sector in the 1980’s can easily connect the emotions depicted through the book. Money has always been a matter which involves moral and ethical values in it (Wolfe, 2003). I would rather call it a sensitive topic as one need to be very sure of the same prior getting involved in it....   [tags: Good Faith, Jane Smiley ]
:: 6 Works Cited
2658 words
(7.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Islam, Judaism, Catholicism, and Protestantism Essays - Islam, Judaism, Catholicism, and Protestantism I. Islam The Muslims’ main sacred text is the Koran, which they believe Gabriel gave to Mohammad from God. Muslims believe that the Koran is the final revelation from God, as the Bible has been “corrupted” upon translation. My passage is Isaiah 53 where it talks about a suffering servant for Israel. While Christians believe this is a prophecy of Jesus, Muslims believe that Jesus was only a prophet. They believe Jesus was never crucified, and Allah made someone look like Jesus instead....   [tags: Religion Faith Theology] 1600 words
(4.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Pico Ier's Editorial 'The Value of Suffering' Analysis Essay - The question of suffering comes up much when talking about, or practicing any religion. Many ask why people suffer, and what causes suffering. The various religions try to answer these questions in their own way. Pico Iyer’s editorial, “The Value of Suffering” addresses the questions of suffering and how it is handled. This article could be compared to the Bhagavad-Gita which also addresses and explains suffering through different stories of the interactions of humans and different Gods. One can specifically look at “The Second Teaching” in the Bhagavad-Gita, which explains the interaction between a man named Arjuna and the god Krishna....   [tags: suffering brings out the faith in people]
:: 2 Works Cited
625 words
(1.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on A Personal View on the Three Tenets of the Christian Faith - ... He referenced two sections in the bible that clearly express God’s allowance of evil coming to existence. In the book of Genesis, chapter 3, the serpent tries to lure Eve to eat the apple when God specifically instructed her to not to do so. During her resistance he says to the serpent “We may eat fruit from the trees in the garden, 3 but God did say, ‘you must not eat fruit from the tree that is in the middle of the garden, and you must not touch it, or you will die.’” “You will not certainly die,” the serpent said to the woman....   [tags: good, god, powerful, belief, suffering] 2010 words
(5.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
good versus evil Essay - In the chapter titled Rebellion (or his book title), Feodor Dostoevski’s character, Ivan Karamazov, demonstrates that his angry and resentful attitude is the by-product of his very choosing. The fundamental principal of our own humanity is God’s acknowledgment of our expression of free will. Found between the boundaries of man’s ownership of worldly acts and thoughts, which can lead him to an eternity of joy or damnation, is that critical choice of what attitude we will wrap ourselves in for our finite time here....   [tags: essays research papers] 2419 words
(6.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Paradox of Faith Essay - Paradox of Faith In Fear and Trembling Kierkegaard examines the old story of Abraham being commanded by what is perceived to be god to kill his only child. Abraham had spent many years trying to conceive a child with his wife Sarah and finally successfully had a boy named Isaac. In what appears to be the test of ultimate sacrifice god, appearing as a burning bush, asks Abraham to take his only son to the mountain and kill him with a knife. The question most people ask is why would a god command Abraham to commit such an atrocious act....   [tags: Faith] 731 words
(2.1 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Building of Faith Through Suffering - Building of Faith Through Suffering People usually go to a rabbi for comfort and guidance when tragedy and misfortune intrudes into their lives. So what happens when the rabbi, who has counseled others concerning their despair, is hit with tragedy themselves. This is the situation for one particular rabbi. Harold S, Kushner, Author "When Bad Thing Happen to Good People," was faced with such a tragedy. Kushner had a son who possessed a terrible health condition called procera, a rapid aging disorder....   [tags: Papers] 1853 words
(5.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
A Christian View of Suffering Essay - The concept of suffering plays an important role in Christianity, regarding such matters as moral conduct, spiritual advancement and ultimate destiny. Indeed an emphasis on suffering pervades the Gospel of Mark where, it can be argued, we are shown how to "journey through suffering" (Ditzel 2001) in the image of the "Suffering Son of Man" (Mark 8:32), Jesus Christ. Although theologians have suggested that Mark was written to strengthen the resolve of the early Christian community (Halpern 2002, Mayerfeld 2005), the underlying moral is not lost on a modern reader grappling with multifarious challenges regarding faith in the face of suffering....   [tags: The Value of Suffering]
:: 8 Works Cited
1558 words
(4.5 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]