Preview
Preview

Essay on Home Education: The Better Choice

:: 5 Works Cited
Length: 1505 words (4.3 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Where do you go to school? What clubs do you belong to? What sports do you play? These are all typical questions that teenagers ask one another in everyday casual conversations. Stereotypically, when the answer is simply that a child home-schools, often times they are looked at in a predetermined persona as if they are a weird, deprived, unsocialized individual who doesn’t know the first thing about life. The often received response of “Oh, you’re one of those people” is usually the norm. The following essay will expel several of the myths associated with today’s home-schooled students providing statics and support as to why home education is the better choice over public school education.
Ironically, in the beginning of the 1900’s, when our nation was evolving and becoming recognized as an actual world power, we were doing it with individuals who were educated primarily at home or in a one room school house. The children were also held accountable for their work, actions, successes, and failures. The children weren’t expected to spend countless hours roaming the crowded halls of an overpopulated school, all the while engrossing themselves with the “busy” work they were assigned; similar to the way public schools are operating today. Today, the system is broken. Changes in policy such as “no child left behind” are offering a cookie-cut-out solution to a situation involving children who don’t learn from a “cookie-cut-out” mold. Case and point to the failing public school system would be representative of the exponentially increasing numbers of children converting to home education. In 1960, home-schooling children numbered a mere 10,000 – 15,000 students which has grown to a number of over one million children in 200...


... middle of paper ...


...ng to homeschool their own child because they are unable to correct the failing public school system on their own. Homeschooling is increasingly becoming a way of addressing the concerns of the parents and allowing many more options for the students.




Works Cited

“Bullying Statistics: How Widespread is School Violence.” 25 Nov. 2007. Bullyingstatistics.com. 17 April. 2010
Groberg, Troy. “Homeschool vs. Public School.” The Conservative Front, 14 Aug. 2007. Web. 5 April. 2010.
Home School Legal Defense Association. “Academic Statistics on Homeschooling.” 22 Oct. 2004. Web. 18 April. 2010
Richman, Dr. Howard. “What do Homeschoolers do after Graduation?” pahomeschoolers. N.d. Web. 18 April. 2010.
Romanowski, Michael. “Revisiting the Common Myths about Homeschooling.” The Clearing House. Vol. 79. Iss. 3. (2006) 4 April. 2010


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Home School: A Family Decision Essay - Whether a family chooses to home school or send their child to public school has become a great concern for many parents. There are many important differences and similarities between the two. The choice a family makes will not be the same for all because they should base their decision on what is best for the family. Furthermore, a family should ponder the facts of both, home school and public school, before opting out one for the other. One difference between public school and home school is social development and peer pressure....   [tags: home schooling, Education] 572 words
(1.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Has Culture Enhanced or Hindered my Freedom of Choice Essay - How has my culture enhanced or hindered my freedom of choice. First I ask myself “What is culture to me?”. My definition of culture would be common thoughts, beliefs, and behaviors that are carried from one generation to the next. Then I ask “What is freedom of choice?” When I think of the expression “freedom of choice”, I think of an individual going through life making choices as they please. I, being that individual, do make my own choices but the more I think about it the more I realize that the choices I make are actually influenced by many factors in my life....   [tags: culture, choice, ] 714 words
(2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Is Homeschooling a Better Choice? Essay - Is Homeschooling a Better Choice. He is up with the sun, ready to go. He waits patiently for his brothers and sisters, but today is the first day of school and he is eager to start on his studies. All of the children are assembled in the front foyer as the big, yellow school bus zooms past their house. None of the children seem to notice. Instead, the group of eager students proceeds into their "schoolroom" to greet their teacher, also known as "Mom." Even as early as the turn of the century, children were often taught at home by their parents....   [tags: Education School Essays]
:: 4 Works Cited
1556 words
(4.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Home Schooling: A Form of Education on the Rise Essay - ... Clearly homeschoolers are shown to excel at national competitions. Though homeschooling is known to be effective, it is not for everyone. Homeschooling may seem like the ideal dream, but in reality it is demanding and hard. To begin with, homeschooling is a full time job. The parent or guardian teaching the student must be around anytime the child is doing schoolwork so that questions can be answered and help can be given. This makes homeschooling all but impossible for single parents or families who have two working parents....   [tags: alternative forms of education/learning]
:: 5 Works Cited
923 words
(2.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Innumerable Benefits to Home Schooling Essay - The Innumerable Benefits to Home Schooling In his book The Right Choice – Home Schooling, Chris Klicka argues that “Sending our children to the public school … is tantamount to sending our children to be trained by the enemy” (Crank 25). Though his words may be considered harsh by some parents, many Americans agree with him and feel that public school is only endangering their children; home schooling is the modern day alternative that many mothers and fathers have chosen to turn to. Those who feel that the world of the public school is detrimental to their children’s growth and health are not alone; they share the beliefs of many parents who feel that home schooling has many benefits and a...   [tags: Home-School Education Teaching Essays]
:: 6 Works Cited
1426 words
(4.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
What Home Schooling Really Is Essay - What Home Schooling Really Is The educational thesaurus defines home schooling as provision of compulsory education in the home as an alternative to traditional public/private schooling- often motivated by parental desire to exclude their children from the traditional school environment (ERIC [EBSCO]). Home schooling is also defined by The Well Trained Mind website as Home schooling occurs when parents take charge of their children's education -- organizing subjects, teaching lessons or arranging for tutors, evaluating progress, and supervising social contacts....   [tags: Home School Education Learning Essays]
:: 14 Works Cited
3905 words
(11.2 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
My Choice of Gallaudet University Essay - My Choice of Gallaudet University I was born deaf to deaf parents. I attended a deaf school from the beginning of kindergarten through high school senior graduation. I grew up using ASL (American Sign Language) as my primary language, and English as my secondary. ASL is the visual-gestural language that best fits my communicative needs as it does for most deaf people....   [tags: College Choice Personal Narrative] 1064 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Home Schoolong - By exercising the choice to home school, home schooling parents are selecting the type of education their children receive. The choice to home school is both a developmental philosophy and a political response to existing educational institutions and contemporary social order. Yet dissatisfaction with public schools has made many parents more receptive in recent years to different education reforms, including home schooling. Some parents also tout home schooling as a way to teach their children religious values, which they say are absent from the secular public school system....   [tags: Education]
:: 5 Works Cited
963 words
(2.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Home Education Essay - Education is a major concern in our society, and there is good reason for this concern. Many of these problems revolve directly around the public education system and include problems with peer pressure, lack of individual attention from the teachers, problems socializing or “fitting in” with other students, and various others. Although there is no real solution to all of these problems, there are many different ways of solving them. Private schools as well as tutors are a great way to give kids the individual attention that they need, however these methods can be very costly....   [tags: essays research papers fc]
:: 3 Works Cited
3095 words
(8.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Home Schooling Essay - ... As amount of drugs, school shootings and other dementia increases in these schools, more and more parents are making the choice to homeschool their children. Although many people claim that public education is better and more suitable for children, many facts and statistics show that homeschooling is equally, if not, more beneficial. Home schooling became more popular in today’s generation because its one on one contact in compare to public school. In home schooling most of the case parents teach their kids so they are free to share their difficulties with their parents, and there is no time limit....   [tags: education system, parents] 816 words
(2.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]