Preview
Preview

Essay about Gun Control and the Black Market

:: 7 Works Cited
Length: 1634 words (4.7 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Criminals are running around with illegal guns. So we are not able to find the guns and the murder weapons. Their should not be able to get the gun at all but their find ways. This need addressing because if we do not address the problem, it will just get worse and more people will die from are mistaken. The worse it gets, the more people that die from this. People should not have to worry about the criminals who were in jail, having guns and what they would be doing with them. Gun control laws should stop criminals not law abiding citizens.
Everyone wants to own a gun, but some people cannot like criminals. Their need to get there on the black market. The black market is how people get gun under the radar. It is normally in regular gun stores and they do not do background checks, fill out the paperwork or go to the classes. There are a lot of school shooting and people being shot for no reason. It crazy how someone can leave the house in the morning and not come back at night. According to David Lester in his article Police Officers Killed and The Guns Used by Criminals “It may be that criminals who are more likely to kill police officers utilize different types of gun than do criminals who are unlikely to kill police officers” (Par.4). Their should not even have guns. If they did not have the guns, then they would not have killed the police and then maybe they could have caught some more criminals and we would not be having this problem right now. Also, we would be able to have other crimes solved because the police are still alive and not dying for the bad guys.
So you see if we cut down on the black market, then they would not be able to get guns and they will not be able to shoot the police. It would make our w...


... middle of paper ...


...f Drugs and Firepower. (Cover Story)." Newsweek (1999). Web. 21 April 2014.
Kates Jr., Don B. "Gun Control versus Gun Prohibition." American Bar Association Journal (1982).Web. 21 Apr. 2014.
Lester,. David. “Police Officers Killed and the Guns Used by Criminals.” Psychological Reports: Volume 50, 1982, web, 21 April 2014
Schwartz, Emma. "A Well-Worn Path to a Gun Shop Door." U.S. News & World Report (2007). Web. 21 Apr. 2014
Smaldone, Joseph P. "Small Arms Control: Old Weapons, New Issues/Running Guns: The Global Black Market in Small Arms." Armed Forces & Society (2002). Web. 21 Apr. 2014.
Soriano, Cesar, Jim Michaels, and Mohammed al-Asdui. "Gun licenses a tough task where rifles bring respect." USA Today. 8 Nov. 2004. Web. 21 Apr. 2014.
Thomas, John, and Robert Antall “Perform universal checks to reduce gun violence?" USA Today. 18 Feb. 2013. Web. 21 Apr. 2014.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Gun Control Laws Will NOT Reduce Crime Essay examples - Some people believe that extremely tight gun control laws will eliminate crime, but gun control laws only prevent the 'good guys' from obtaining firearms. Criminals will always have ways of getting weapons, whether it be from the black market, cross borders, or illegal street sales. New gun control laws will not stop them. Since the shootings of Columbine High School, Virginia Tech, and Sandy Hook, the frequency of mass shootings has increased greatly. Gun control is not effective as it has not been shown to actually reduce the number of gun-related crimes....   [tags: Gun Control Essays]
:: 10 Works Cited
2312 words
(6.6 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Gun Control Will NOT Stop Senseless Gun Violence Essay - Gun violence in the United States is higher than ever, and criminals with guns will “…kill as many as 1000 people each day” (Alpers&Wilson). Taking this into perspective, it is only right to fight fire with fire or, in this case, use a gun to protect yourself and those around you. Gun control does not only decrease the ability for protection, it also decreases our rights as U.S citizens. The constitution clearly states that we are given the right to bear arms, meaning we may carry fire arms. Even if we have stricter laws for guns, it will not stop killers from shooting innocent people....   [tags: Gun Control Essays]
:: 12 Works Cited
1542 words
(4.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Gun Control Essay - Firearms are dangerous weapons used to intentionally and unintentionally kill people, which lead to one of America�s most heated debates: gun control. With increasing crime and violence, many people look to gun control laws as a way to slow these trends down. On the other hand, others believe that owning a gun is a constitutional right that should never be taken away. James Q. Wilson�s essay �Just Take Away Their Guns� is an attempt to offer a solution to both sides of this argument. He claims that illegal possession of firearms is the problem and that frisking suspicious characters would be a good solution to the debate of gun control....   [tags: Gun Control, 2015]
:: 3 Works Cited
1142 words
(3.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Gun Advocates! The Crème of the Crop of Americans Essay - Have you been told repeatedly that something is really dangerous. Have you been told to stay away and perhaps report things that seem risky. Have you learned that those things as time goes on aren’t as jeopardizing and are even beneficial to people. Gun ownership is an example of things that may seem threatening, but really isn’t. Legalizing gun ownership reduces the crime rate dramatically, is a Second Amendment right in the Constitution, and helps control animal populations from exploding out of control....   [tags: argumentative, persuasive, gun control]
:: 4 Works Cited
1445 words
(4.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on The Fairy Tales of Gun Control - When a madman in Dunblane, Great Britain rampages and kills 16 children, it was the fuel politicians needed to fire the anti-gun movement. Great Britain banned the sale and ownership of handguns in 1997. But nobody expected the surge of violent crime that followed. Britain's rate of assault, robbery, and burglary now exceed those in the United States. Murder and rape figures are now getting closer to U.S. rates. Between 1997 and 1999 were the highest murder rates in the past 10 years. According to Dr....   [tags: Second Amendment The Right To Bear Arms] 793 words
(2.3 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
An Argument Against Gun Control Essay - The Gun Control issue has sparked major controversy in America today. People who support gun control feel that guns are the reason for the soaring crime rate in our country. I disagree with the supporters of gun control. I feel that because of the black market, violent criminals being released from prison early, and the need to ensure personal safety, stricter gun control will have very little impact on violent crime in America. I believe that gun control works in theory, but not in real life. Sure, there are many violent crimes where guns are used, but most of these guns are obtained illegally, because the gun control laws enforced are not enough....   [tags: Firearms Brady Bill]
:: 8 Works Cited
1758 words
(5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Gun Control Essay - Since the early days, gun control has been a never-ending debate. It is because of the fast increase in crime, the fight for the right to own a hand gun, the introduction of legislation for gun control in order reduce the crime in the United States, that this issue has been hotly debated in recent years. The streets of America are now a war zone especially right here were we live. ?Florida has the highest crime rate of any state and the sixth highest homicide level?(www.guncite.com). A sad fact but true....   [tags: Second Amendment The Right To Bear Arms] 1022 words
(2.9 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Gun Control Is Not Crime Control Essay example - Gun Control is not Crime Control Americans are faced with an ever-increasing problem of violence. The streets of America are now a war zone. Teenage gangsters murder one another for drug territory, and innocent victims are caught in the crossfire. However, most recent and most abhorrent, is our children are killing one another. They are killing with extreme prejudice. Our children are killing, exhibiting little or no remorse for lives they have taken. We cannot ignore the carnage our society endures due to the criminal behavior of a minority, obviously lacking the basic moral behavior regarding human life....   [tags: Second Amendment The Right To Bear Arms] 945 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Gun Control - Gun Control A problem that has developed recently in our society is the debate over gun control. Many questions arise concerning who should be able to own guns, and how those particular guns are obtained. One major debate is over our Constitutional right to own guns. I want to know when the government should draw the line. Statistics are not the only way a point can be proven about the harmful effects that guns have on our society. Stories from parents who have lost children, or children left fatherless or motherless due to gun violence hit home harder than graphs on paper....   [tags: Second Amendment The Right To Bear Arms] 1296 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Gun Control Essay - Gun control in the United States has been a controversial issue for some time now. So much so that the Supreme Court even refuses to address this issue directly. Gun control really boils down to the the Second Amendment of the Constitution. Many people have different interpretations of the Second Amendment and the trenches are dug in deep on this issue. The Second Amendment can not provide the right to bear all types of arms to protect the people from governmental tyranny. If the Second Amendment was absolute, then we would allow the public to possess nuclear weapons, missiles, and other such arms, because like the 9 mm handgun that is an arm, a nuclear warhead is also a type of arm....   [tags: Second Amendment The Right To Bear Arms] 1078 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]