Preview
Preview

Genetic Engineering: Major Advancement or Major Setback? Essay

:: 10 Works Cited
Length: 1335 words (3.8 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

As the Biochemist Isaac Asimov once said, "The advancement of Genetic Engineering makes it quite conceivable that we will design our own evolutionary progress.” Scientists have always thought about new ways to progress through technology in this era, and in 1946, scientists discovered that Genetic material from different viruses can be combined to form a new type of virus. This was a major discovery that trickles down to the modern era of Genetics. Current scientists have pioneered new ways to decode human DNA, beating the $3 billion government-run Genome project to its goal. Many people say that this method of life will go against the natural force of nature, but Genetic Engineering should be allowed because of the advances of technology it brings, it will help third-world countries access cheap and nutritious food, and it will create cures for diseases currently incurable.
Some believe that Genetic Engineering must be reprimanded because it can release new organisms into the natural world, be in places that was not intended, leading to unintentional consequences. In Faye Flam’s article “Advance or Horror: The First Lab Created Organism” Penn’s Caplan said “[Genetic Engineering] could also have unintended consequences when used with good intentions, especially if new organisms are let loose”. But even though there is a “chance” of having something going wrong, there is no such thing as zero risk. Everything that is done has some sort of risk, no matter how small. Plus, if the bigger picture is observed, the good definitely will excel the bad. As Paul Arnold says, “There is no such thing as absolute safety or zero risk. Every new technology has some risk attached to it. As long as the benefits far predominate any negative effect...


... middle of paper ...


...IRS Researcher. Web. 28 Feb 2011.
Forsyth, Sheila. “Tampering with the Garden of Eden." Futurics 24.3 (2000): 9. ProQuest Discovery. Web. 28 Feb. 2011.
“Genetic Engineering.” Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc., 24 Feb 2011. Web. 28 Feb 2011.
"Genetically Engineered Corn May Harm Stream Ecosystems." NSF News. Oct. 9 2007: n.p. SIRS Government Reporter. Web. 28 Feb 2011.
Jalonick, Mary Clare. "Super Salmon or 'Frankenfish'? FDA to Decide." Juneau Empire (Juneau, AK). 20 Sep 2010: n.p. SIRS Researcher. Web. 28 Feb 2011.
Kaplan, Karen. "Stem Cell Method Finds Cure." Los Angeles Times (Los Angeles, CA). Dec. 7 2007: n.p. SIRS Researcher. Web. 28 Feb 2011.
Pollack, Andrew. "Drug from a Goat With a Human Gene." New York Times (New York, NY). 07 Feb 2009: B.1. SIRS Researcher. Web. 28 Feb 2011.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Genetic Engineering: Major Advancement or Major Setback? Essay - As the Biochemist Isaac Asimov once said, "The advancement of Genetic Engineering makes it quite conceivable that we will design our own evolutionary progress.” Scientists have always thought about new ways to progress through technology in this era, and in 1946, scientists discovered that Genetic material from different viruses can be combined to form a new type of virus. This was a major discovery that trickles down to the modern era of Genetics. Current scientists have pioneered new ways to decode human DNA, beating the $3 billion government-run Genome project to its goal....   [tags: Genetic Engineering ]
:: 10 Works Cited
1335 words
(3.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Dark Side of Genetic Engineering Essay - I never knew what genetic engineering was until I watched a special on the Discovery channel. The special showed scientists forming the first “perfect” embryo. What was very shocking was that the scientists kept asking each other what traits this embryo should compose of. To me that was disturbing and unethical to make a living human being based on what traits the parents would want them to have. This process goes against nature just as Francis Bacon said “if we would control nature, we must first obey her” (Fox 193)....   [tags: Genetic Engineering Essays] 1104 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Genetic Engineering: The Controversy of Genetic Screening Essay - The Controversy of Genetic Screening      Craig Ventor of Celera Genomics, Rockville, MD, and Francis Collins of the National Institutes of Health and Wellcome Trust, London, England, simultaneously presented the sequence of human DNA in June of 2000, accomplishing the first major endeavor of the Human Genome Project (HGP) (Ridley 2). As scientists link human characteristics to genes-segments of DNA found on one or more of the 23 human chromosomes-prospects for genetic engineering will increase dramatically....   [tags: Genetic Engineering Essays]
:: 4 Works Cited
1609 words
(4.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on The Benefits of Genetic Engineering - The engineering of deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) is entirely new, yet genetics, as a field of science, has fascinated mankind for over 2,000 years. Man has always tried to bend nature around his will through selective breeding and other forms of practical genetics. Today, scientists have a greater understanding of genetics and its role in living organisms. Unfortunately, some people are trying to stop further studies in genetics, but the research being conducted today will serve to better mankind tomorrow....   [tags: Genetic Engineering Essays] 1109 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Human Genetic Engineering: Unnatural Selection - Introduction Technology has a significant influence across the world, as it has become a fast growing field. Modern biotechnology has been in the major forefront of this influence. From the discovery of DNA to the cloning of various animals, the study of genetic engineering has changed the way society views life. However, does genetic engineering have the capacity to influence the world to its best abilities. Products, which are genetically engineered, may cause severe negative effects on our society....   [tags: Genetic Engineering Essays]
:: 3 Works Cited
1509 words
(4.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Understanding Genetic Engineering Essay - ... Genetic engineering has also been used to save the lives of children and their birth mother in very rare cases but has not quite been used to create a so-called ‘designer baby’. The technology is so close to that stage though that it has sparked debates on whether or not it’s ethical, legal, the consequences, and the possibilities. Parents have the right to do a lot of things when it comes to the decisions that they have to make about their children, but is this one that they can be in control of....   [tags: creating crops and animals, dna, ethics] 1534 words
(4.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
The Pursuit of Genetic Engineering Essay - The Pursuit of Genetic Engineering Imagine a world where diabetes is effectively treated, where cancer has a cure, and where food is altered for higher quality and increased production. This “fantasy” world is on the brink of becoming a reality due to advances in genetic engineering and cloning. These medical innovations have the potential to revolutionize our lives in numerous ways. However, the fear of controversy and the fear of the “new” could hinder and possibly halt any progress that we are capable of making....   [tags: Genetics Science Technology Science Essays]
:: 7 Works Cited
4069 words
(11.6 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Genetic Engineering: Genetic Research and Gene Therapy Essay - Genetic Research and Gene Therapy The human genome is the key to gene therapy, genetic diagnosis, and even to genetically engineer human beings. The human genome is a map of the entire DNA sequence, a blue book, of the individual, which is currently being mapped by the Human Genome Project. Knowing where and which gene controls what trait and causes what genetic disease will armed doctors with a powerful tool to treat their patients in the molecular level. On the other hand, people can jump at the opportunity to manipulate genes to create the perfect baby or enhance a specific trait....   [tags: Persuasive Argumentative Essay Examples] 730 words
(2.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Potential Power of Gene Therapy Essay - One of the innate qualities that every human poses is the desire to make his or her life better. In our quotidian life, we endeavor to enhance the every aspect of our life ranging from our diet to clothes. This century is deemed to be persuaded greatly by enormous advancement in biotechnology. Biotechnology is a very broad field. It comprises neuroscience, genetic engineering, human cloning and much more. Among all of those fields, gene therapy is going to be the most demanding and discussed subject in the near future....   [tags: Genetic Engineering ]
:: 8 Works Cited
1640 words
(4.7 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Benefits of Genetically Modified Organisms Essay - Even though we may not know it, GMO’s are everywhere. From the trees in a lumberyard, the pets we own, and most common, the food on our plates. GMO’s are genetically modified organisms. They have even been called “part of the fabric of American life” (Lambrecht 3). New controversies have risen up to fight these “deadly” foods. Do we really know what we are eating. Does it even matter. Biotechnologies and altering the characteristics of food have been around for many centuries. These uses were put into use to create useful products such as wine and bread and more recently to create resistant crops and antidotes in the medical field....   [tags: Genetic Engineering ]
:: 2 Works Cited
1908 words
(5.5 pages)
Term Papers [preview]