Preview
Preview

The Effects on Media Violence Essay example

:: 9 Works Cited
Length: 1860 words (5.3 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Aqua      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I chose this topic because I want to be a videogame designer and I wanted to defend my right to create what I want. Unfortunately, after researching this topic it is clear that it is no longer possible to say violent media is completely harmless. Videogames and television do have harmful effects on children and young adults. Research has been done since the 1950’s and almost all studies show clear evidence that media violence does cause increased violent tendencies, desensitization, and antisocial behavior – which is the same as sociopathic and psychopathic behavior, it does not mean introverted.
Understanding this, I want to make it clear that censorship should not be the solution. I believe that artists should be able to make and produce the content they want to and they should not be limited in what they can do because it is the easiest solution. I want to find out just how damaging media violence is to our society and what can be done to fix it, without limiting what content can be created. I do not want artists, producers, or developers to be limited in what they do; I want for their content to only be available to the correct age group. When I become a videogame designer I do not want to be told “you cannot do that” because the content available to children cannot be controlled.
Research Questions
Questions I have are, when and where did this research start? What effects does media violence have in the short term? What are the long term effects? How much exposure is okay and how much is too much? What can be done to alleviate this problem? What other factors contribute to increased violence and antisocial behavior in children?
I am curious what efforts are being put forward to censor media and what parents, companies, an...


... middle of paper ...


...ouncil on Communications and Media. “Media Violence” PEDIATRICS. American Academy of Pediatrics, 1 Nov. 2013, Web. 6 Feb. 2014

Esposito, Richard, Jack Date, Pierre Thomas, and Lee Ferran. "Aurora 'Dark Knight' Suspect James Holmes Said He 'Was the Joker': Cops." ABC News. ABC News Network, 20 July 2012. Web. 24 Feb. 2014.

Harvard Medical School. "Violent Video Games and Young People." Harvard Mental Health Letter 27.4 (2010): 1-3. Academic Search Complete. Web. 10 Feb. 2014.

Kaplan, Arline. "Violence in the Media: What Effects on Behavior?" Psychiatric Times 29.10 (2012): 1-11. Academic Search Complete. Web. 10 Feb. 2014.

Reaney, Patricia. "Violent Videogames Harmless for Most Kids." Reuters. Ed. Paul Casciato. Thomson Reuters, 09 June 2010. Web. 24 Feb. 2014.

Ruschmann, Paul. Regulating Violence in Entertainment. New York: Chelsea House, 2010. Print.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
The Effects on Media Violence Essay example - I chose this topic because I want to be a videogame designer and I wanted to defend my right to create what I want. Unfortunately, after researching this topic it is clear that it is no longer possible to say violent media is completely harmless. Videogames and television do have harmful effects on children and young adults. Research has been done since the 1950’s and almost all studies show clear evidence that media violence does cause increased violent tendencies, desensitization, and antisocial behavior – which is the same as sociopathic and psychopathic behavior, it does not mean introverted....   [tags: videogames, media, social impact]
:: 9 Works Cited
1860 words
(5.3 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay on The Effects of Media Violence on Teenagers - Media Violence has been discussed and debated for many years. Authors, such as Jonathan L. Freedman reveal issues that reveal how corporate storytellers are less concerned with imparting positive cultural values than they are with making great sums of money. These multimillion-dollar corporations know violence is a major profit boost and use it indiscriminately to increase their income. Unfortunately, among the consumers of this unwarranted violence are young children and teenagers who observe and absorb its content....   [tags: Violence ]
:: 7 Works Cited
1261 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on The Effects of Media Violence on Children - If a child acted violently towards someone else, like if he or she punched another child, there would be consequences for that child. Perhaps detention or grounding, but then their act of violence is mostly forgotten about. Rarely do the parents or school officials investigate why the child acted violently in the first place. If asked, the adults might say something like “the child probably watches a violent television show, like Powerangers, or he/she plays violent video games, like Grand Theft Auto.” Most people would consider that an acceptable reason....   [tags: Media Violence 2014]
:: 5 Works Cited
2094 words
(6 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
The Effects of Media Violence on Children Essay examples -   Abstract             In recent times, the news media has cried out against violent media, painting it as the leading cause for youth violence. Following events such as the Columbine massacre, news sources have vilified violent media, claiming that it is a primary cause of violent behavior in youths. This analysis provides firm research on the subject from the opposing and supporting sources, giving a thorough definition to the term “violent media” and  brings forth evidence that other psychological effects and environmental factors are more significant causes of increased youth aggression than violent media....   [tags: Media Violence 2014]
:: 7 Works Cited
3368 words
(9.6 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
The Positive Effects of Media Violence Essay - A school shooting has just taken place. As I write this, the newscaster wonders if there is any connection between this and other school shootings, whether through method or motive. There will likely be a discussion on one of the myriad talk shows later, the ubiquitous scrolling headline at the bottom reading something along the lines of “Shooters Played Violent Video Games” or “Teen Killers Watched Action Movies.” And why not. Violence in the media has received an ample amount of attention in the past few years....   [tags: Media Violence, 2014]
:: 3 Works Cited
1484 words
(4.2 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
The Effects of Media Violence on Children Essay - Acts of minors killing minors across our nation is sadly becoming trendy and familiar. School shootings are tragic and yet that is all that is said about them. It seems as though words of action to stop such tragedies are just that. Educated experts study reasons why such crimes take place, but the findings are rarely put into action. The violence and content that the media of the United States displays to children causes hidden irreversible damage that most deny. What it would take to minimize the spread of school shootings is simple and the results would surprise American society....   [tags: Television Violence ]
:: 5 Works Cited
1200 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Negative Effects of Media Violence on Society Essay - Negative Effects of Media Violence on Society   Given the importance of social learning in contributing to violent behavior, we should pay careful attention to the kinds of role models we provide to one another. A powerful source of role models is located in almost every home: the television. Television is the source of more knowledge in the past several decades than any other type of knowledge distributor, such as books and news papers. It is by far the most influential invention of the twentieth century and has established more role models than radio or magazines combined....   [tags: Media Argumentative Persuasive Argument]
:: 9 Works Cited
2940 words
(8.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Negative Effects of Media Violence on Children Essay - Americans have felt a growing uneasiness from the growing problem of youth violence with teens from the ages of twelve to eighteen. It is a controversial subject that is an increasingly rising with families and the in the government. Some people believe that the reason behind this national problem is because families are no longer a united unit and are not home to take responsibility of watching their children. There are others who believe that it is the influence of the media and technology....   [tags: Television Violence 2014]
:: 10 Works Cited
3860 words
(11 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Media Violence and Its Effects Essay - Imagine one day you lost your television. You lost your favorite talk show, your CNN, your favorite cartoon and all of your connections to the whole world. Throughout decades, media have became one of the most powerful weapons in the world. As time passed, more and more varieties of media were shown, like television, magazines, and internet. From reporting the news to persuading us to buy certain products, media became the only connection between people and the world. But violence in media is shown everywhere, it is hard to turn on your media source and not find violence displayed on the screen, no matter its television, internet, print media, or even radio....   [tags: Media] 708 words
(2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Effects of Violence in the Media Essay - The Effects of Violence In the Media “Someone just got shoot on the streets due to the violence in the media.” That is what some people are saying that violence in the media is the cause of that. The controversy of the effects that violence has on people has been going on for a long time. This paper is going to prove both sides of the controversy and let one decide which side is right. Violence is on the news and on everyday action shows. Theses everyday shows are targeted for the kids of the world who are in the stages which are important for their lives....   [tags: essays research papers] 1531 words
(4.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]