Preview
Preview

Education: The Key to the American Dream Essay

:: 12 Works Cited
Length: 2032 words (5.8 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


I was raised by different parents than my older siblings. They weren’t different parents biologically, they were different parents economically. For years they struggled to get by with very little education. But once their children were all in school, they decided to make a change. A few years before I was born, my parents earned their college degrees. What this meant for me was a world of security, provision, and opportunity that far surpassed that of my brother and sisters. My story is very similar to that of Angela Whitiker, a former single mother who effectively pulled herself and her family out of poverty by achieving her nursing degree. Her movement from the projects to the middle class is a feat to be admired. But what gave her such upward mobility? And why is it that in our society so many seem to lack it?
According to the national census 46.2 million people in America lived in poverty in 2010. That is up nearly 3 million from 2009 and the fourth year in a row that we find an increase (US Census Bureau). Those numbers and that trend are simply unacceptable. It is clear something must be done to raise families out of poverty. Something must be done to create in others that same kind of positive change and class movement found in Angela Whitiker. According to Class Matters, “Upward mobility requires… the twin pillars of success: human capital and social capital. Human capital is a person’s education, job credentials, and employability. Social capital usually means emotional support and encouragement from a reliable stakeholder in one’s life” (230). Angela Whitiker used these pillars to build a strong foundation that changed her family’s life. If we want to make more Angelas in our country and in our...


... middle of paper ...


...eb. 10 Mar 2012.
Perdue, Andy. "Ste. Michelle Estates pledges $1M for Richland wine center." Yakima Herald Republic[Yakima] 10 Feb 2012, 2B. Print.
"Poverty Highlights." U.s. census bureau. U.S. Cenus Bureau, 2011. Web. 3 Mar 2012.
"Projected Supply, Demand, and Shortages of Registered Nurses: 2000-2020." American Health Care Association. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Jul 2002. Web. 10 Mar 2012.
Shepard, Michael, Bob Crider, Spencer Hatton, and Karen Troianello. "Wine tourism doesn't stop at the winery." Yakima Herald-Republic [Yakima] 21 Mar 2010, n. pag. Web. 12 Feb. 2012.
Snelgrove, Erin. "Local college students join the line for online classes." Yakima Herald-Republic [Yakima]28 Oct 2009, n. pag. Web. 3 Mar. 2012.
Thrive by Five Washington. N.p., n.d. Web. 20 Jan 2012.
Wilkerson, Isabel. “Angela Whitiker’s Climb.” Keller. 202-233. Print.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay about Women and the American Dream: Not Successful So Far - Since the first colonist stepped onto the shores of what would become the United States there has been a belief that life would be better, freer, and with boundless opportunity. The concept of the “American Dream” has changed over time, and means very different things members of different subgroups in the population. This is especially true for ethnic groups and for women. For the purposes of this paper, the “American Dream” is defined as, the ability for all individuals to have equal access to achieve success without restrictions....   [tags: Equality, Success, The American Dream]
:: 9 Works Cited
1240 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
F. Scott Fitzgerald: Living the American Dream Essay - F. Scott Fitzgerald is one of America’s most famous authors whose works were greatly influenced by his life and his economic crises. Fitzgerald was born on September 24, 1896, in St. Paul, Minnesota. He was named after his second cousin three times removed on his fathers side: Francis Scott Key, the man who wrote the “Star- Spangled Banner”. (Bio.com) Mary “Mollie” McQuillan, Fitzgerald’s mother, was an Irish immigrant with a large inheritance. Then, his father was Edward Fitzgerald, who was a failed wicker, but later was a salesman for Procter and Gamble....   [tags: American Dream Essays]
:: 6 Works Cited
1376 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
American Women - A Battle Across All Fronts Essay - ... Lastly, Mary Wollstonecraft’s works of literature may have: “ brought no women to the barricades, [yet] she inspired passion in all her readers” (Brody), which would come to contribute to the American Dream and its identity. To explain, Wollstonecraft’s Vindication was ahead of her time and it was not until the 1960s and 1970s, with the materialization of feminist denunciation in the academic world, that popularity brought the Wollstonecraft book back into the foreground. To summarize, the Vindication far exceeded her imagination of success as it would come to obtain a certain notoriety in Europe and America, as the book of all books about the predicament of women....   [tags: The American Dream, American History]
:: 7 Works Cited
1638 words
(4.7 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
The American Dream Essay - ... No one can predict the future, but just like a captain that is headed out to sea in a bad storm with his crew, we as a society, we as a people can change our courses of direction for the greater good. Herbert also states “We’re in denial about the extent of the rot in the system and the effort that would be required to turn things around” (They Say I Say 564). He goes on to say “It will likely take many years , perhaps a decade or more to get the employment back to a level where one could say that the economy is thriving” (They Say I Say 564)....   [tags: ideas, change, principles] 1072 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The American Dream is on the Way to Extinction Essay - ... Instead, the branch refers to opponents as “hostage takers’ and hope to succeed alone. The current administration deploys government officials to perpetrate “pain” on an average American in hopes to blame the opposite party. Also the management has perfected the disciplinary consumption of government by utilizing the IRS to target political opponents to silence them before the last election. The nation also sits on the edge of defeat when our debt is mentioned. The 17 trillion dollar debt is almost double when the President came into office....   [tags: survival, college, tuition] 553 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay on Equality and Inequality in the American Dream - ... The idea of an “American Dream” differs person to person, but it is universally agreed on that making minimum wage is going to make it hard to reach the dream. “While federal law requires employers to cover the gap if tips don’t take workers at least to the regular full minimum, now $7.25. Deluca says her didn’t” (Smialek). Employers of tipped based workers fail to inform their employees of the law that they must cover the money not made in tips if the wage does not meet $7.25. It is nearly impossible to live off of minimum wage to start with, let alone even less....   [tags: class, money, treated, behave]
:: 4 Works Cited
773 words
(2.2 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
The Evolving American Dream Essay - ... Casey Muir is a twenty-six year old, currently working as a veterinary receptionist, she classifies her success through her talents and skills, her newlywed life, and constant hard work. Retired children’s librarian Karen Hart, found success in the family she has built. When she was in high school, “not everyone went to college” so her success was turned more family oriented (Hart). Success comes from achieving goals, working hard, and being surrounded by loved ones. Part of being successful in achieving the American Dream is creating a career specific to an individual's personal passion....   [tags: success, career, family]
:: 5 Works Cited
659 words
(1.9 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
The American Dream: Malcolm X and Rugged D. Essay - ... During the tour, Dick is falsely accused of thievery on several occasions. Watching Dick maneuver his way out of the tricky situations, Frank discovers Dick’s wit and likeability. The next day Dick, with his hard-earned five dollars, opens up his first bank account. The following morning, Dick returns fifteen cents he owed to a previous customer, Mr. Greyson. Mr. Greyson, in awe of Dick’s honesty invites him to his Sunday class. Later on in the day, Dick meets a fellow bootblack, Henry Fosdick....   [tags: discrimination, povery, better, life, education] 1655 words
(4.7 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Essay on My American Dream - The next generation is important. I want them to believe in the right things and stand up for what they believe in. I believe there are three main goals that should be fought for, for eternity. We need to pass this concept on and let it grow throughout their lives. I believe "life, liberty, and pursuit of happiness" are extremely important. They are the basis of my American Dream. I think we should pass on the goal of learning to live. Meaning, I want people to understand how important what it is to live in life....   [tags: Personal Narrative essay about myself] 708 words
(2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Andrew Carnegie Lived The American Dream Essay - What is the American Dream. According to Webster the American Dream is the ideal according to which equality of opportunity permits any American to aspire to high attainment and material success. Andrew Carnegie is the epitome of the American Dream because he is a classic example of rags to riches success story. He seemed to be touched by an angel. No matter what was wrong with the world, Andrew Carnegie was to consistently capitalize on success. Andrew Carnegie was born in Dunfermline, Scotland, in 1835....   [tags: Andrew Carnegie] 1051 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]