Preview
Preview

Education: The Key to the American Dream Essay

:: 12 Works Cited
Length: 2032 words (5.8 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


I was raised by different parents than my older siblings. They weren’t different parents biologically, they were different parents economically. For years they struggled to get by with very little education. But once their children were all in school, they decided to make a change. A few years before I was born, my parents earned their college degrees. What this meant for me was a world of security, provision, and opportunity that far surpassed that of my brother and sisters. My story is very similar to that of Angela Whitiker, a former single mother who effectively pulled herself and her family out of poverty by achieving her nursing degree. Her movement from the projects to the middle class is a feat to be admired. But what gave her such upward mobility? And why is it that in our society so many seem to lack it?
According to the national census 46.2 million people in America lived in poverty in 2010. That is up nearly 3 million from 2009 and the fourth year in a row that we find an increase (US Census Bureau). Those numbers and that trend are simply unacceptable. It is clear something must be done to raise families out of poverty. Something must be done to create in others that same kind of positive change and class movement found in Angela Whitiker. According to Class Matters, “Upward mobility requires… the twin pillars of success: human capital and social capital. Human capital is a person’s education, job credentials, and employability. Social capital usually means emotional support and encouragement from a reliable stakeholder in one’s life” (230). Angela Whitiker used these pillars to build a strong foundation that changed her family’s life. If we want to make more Angelas in our country and in our...


... middle of paper ...


...eb. 10 Mar 2012.
Perdue, Andy. "Ste. Michelle Estates pledges $1M for Richland wine center." Yakima Herald Republic[Yakima] 10 Feb 2012, 2B. Print.
"Poverty Highlights." U.s. census bureau. U.S. Cenus Bureau, 2011. Web. 3 Mar 2012.
"Projected Supply, Demand, and Shortages of Registered Nurses: 2000-2020." American Health Care Association. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Jul 2002. Web. 10 Mar 2012.
Shepard, Michael, Bob Crider, Spencer Hatton, and Karen Troianello. "Wine tourism doesn't stop at the winery." Yakima Herald-Republic [Yakima] 21 Mar 2010, n. pag. Web. 12 Feb. 2012.
Snelgrove, Erin. "Local college students join the line for online classes." Yakima Herald-Republic [Yakima]28 Oct 2009, n. pag. Web. 3 Mar. 2012.
Thrive by Five Washington. N.p., n.d. Web. 20 Jan 2012.
Wilkerson, Isabel. “Angela Whitiker’s Climb.” Keller. 202-233. Print.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay about Women and the American Dream: Not Successful So Far - Since the first colonist stepped onto the shores of what would become the United States there has been a belief that life would be better, freer, and with boundless opportunity. The concept of the “American Dream” has changed over time, and means very different things members of different subgroups in the population. This is especially true for ethnic groups and for women. For the purposes of this paper, the “American Dream” is defined as, the ability for all individuals to have equal access to achieve success without restrictions....   [tags: Equality, Success, The American Dream]
:: 9 Works Cited
1240 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
F. Scott Fitzgerald: Living the American Dream Essay - F. Scott Fitzgerald is one of America’s most famous authors whose works were greatly influenced by his life and his economic crises. Fitzgerald was born on September 24, 1896, in St. Paul, Minnesota. He was named after his second cousin three times removed on his fathers side: Francis Scott Key, the man who wrote the “Star- Spangled Banner”. (Bio.com) Mary “Mollie” McQuillan, Fitzgerald’s mother, was an Irish immigrant with a large inheritance. Then, his father was Edward Fitzgerald, who was a failed wicker, but later was a salesman for Procter and Gamble....   [tags: American Dream Essays]
:: 6 Works Cited
1376 words
(3.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The American Dream Essay - The American Dream There are various individuals throughout the world who believe that the American Dream cannot be achieved by all people. Those who agree with this view believe that our culture contains too many roadblocks and obstacles. Some of these obstacles include prejudice, poverty, and social inequality. Another view on this matter is that others believe that America is the “Land of Opportunity”. They also believe that if you can believe it, you can achieve it. Back in the early 20th century, The American Dream meant something to people; nowadays it is a term that various people loosely throw around....   [tags: ideas, change, principles] 1072 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The American Dream is on the Way to Extinction Essay - ... Instead, the branch refers to opponents as “hostage takers’ and hope to succeed alone. The current administration deploys government officials to perpetrate “pain” on an average American in hopes to blame the opposite party. Also the management has perfected the disciplinary consumption of government by utilizing the IRS to target political opponents to silence them before the last election. The nation also sits on the edge of defeat when our debt is mentioned. The 17 trillion dollar debt is almost double when the President came into office....   [tags: survival, college, tuition] 553 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay about Dream Big; DREAM Act - To many people the word immigration simply means "the passing or coming into a country for the purpose of permanent residence" (Definition). But to undocumented students, commonly referred as Dreamers, it signifies a meaning of fear, family separation, job loss, different language and loss of hope after graduation. These students go through elementary, middle and high schools doing what their parents tell them which is to "be the best, get straight A's, and work hard", however; at the end none of it matters because their legal status does not allow them to continue pursuing their education....   [tags: Immigration]
:: 8 Works Cited
1257 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Obsession With the American Dream in John Cheever’s The Swimmer Essay - For countless years the American dream has been the golden opportunity for every person. An issue that John Cheever created in “The Swimmer,” is the obsession of the American dream. He portrays Neddy Merrill as a wealthy male with a family. Neddy is also a alcoholic and has a mistress he goes too. The story starts off with him being self center by choosing invitations that he wants to go to. He begins to swim through his neighbors pools to get to his house. As Neddy Merrill swims through the pools, it shows how his life is deteriorating into something worst....   [tags: The Swimmer Essays] 572 words
(1.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on My American Dream - The next generation is important. I want them to believe in the right things and stand up for what they believe in. I believe there are three main goals that should be fought for, for eternity. We need to pass this concept on and let it grow throughout their lives. I believe "life, liberty, and pursuit of happiness" are extremely important. They are the basis of my American Dream. I think we should pass on the goal of learning to live. Meaning, I want people to understand how important what it is to live in life....   [tags: Personal Narrative essay about myself] 708 words
(2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Andrew Carnegie Lived The American Dream Essay - What is the American Dream. According to Webster the American Dream is the ideal according to which equality of opportunity permits any American to aspire to high attainment and material success. Andrew Carnegie is the epitome of the American Dream because he is a classic example of rags to riches success story. He seemed to be touched by an angel. No matter what was wrong with the world, Andrew Carnegie was to consistently capitalize on success. Andrew Carnegie was born in Dunfermline, Scotland, in 1835....   [tags: Andrew Carnegie] 1051 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The American Dream in A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry Essay - “Check coming today?” The Life Insurance check that Mama will soon be receiving is the source of all the dreams in the Younger family. A major argument that Lorraine Hansberry makes in her play A Raisin in the Sun is the importance of dreams. Dreams are what each member of the Younger family is driven by. Mama wants to have her own home in a nice part of town; she does not want her children growing up in a place with rats. Walter wants to have a successful business so he can surpass the poverty that has plagued his family....   [tags: A Raisin in the Sun] 1014 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Education: Encouraging Lives Essay - Education: Encouraging Lives My desire to become a teacher goes beyond a professional aspiration; it is also a personal commitment to self-growth and societal advancement. Since the time I was in school I have had the opportunity and pleasure to work with young people and listen to their problems in school and in their lives on a level where I’m neither a peer nor an authority figure. During this time I have decided to devote myself to these young people; I want to know that I can make a difference in their lives....   [tags: Education Careers Teaching Teachers Essays] 1069 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]