Preview
Preview

Essay about College Expense

:: 4 Works Cited
Length: 1207 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Purple      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Congrats! You’ve been accepted to the college of your choice; now all that’s left to figure out is how you’ll pay for college. Unfortunately, college costs don’t end at tuition and room and board you’ll also have to pay for textbooks, meals, transportation, and a computer with working internet. We have been told that we live in a free country, but if our country is so called “free,” how come paying for an education isn’t? The most important in my case and many low income students is trying to attend college and being able to pay without going into debt. I find myself, since 2010, hearing the same stories of previous college graduate, who have gone into debt by the time they reached their sophomore year of college. Excited to venture out into the “college life,” I begin to notice that paying for college isn’t like paying a couple of fees in high school. Although college has brought many advantages to our society, paying for it hasn’t.

By the age of fourteen we enter a whole different atmosphere, to than find out that right as we’re getting comfortable we have to leave our high school life and start fresh in college, but we notice that college is just like high school, except this time around we have to pay to get an education in a “free” country. We’re told, by our parents or administration, “Don’t mess up, it’ll cost you in the long run,” do we listen? Some us do, some of us don’t, than we realize when senior year comes around, that we literally my actually have to pay for college. The cost of attending college has become 500% more expansive now then it was in 1985. By the increase in college tuition and the income of low income families causes daily less and less students to achieve a college degree, unfortunately having to...


... middle of paper ...


...ips, but only 2,000 out of the 40% admitted are awarded scholarships. Someone is winning those scholarships and it could be you for just applying early, but the odds of winning however, remain limited, sounds more like winning a scholarship? Not much chance of that.



Works Cited

Cohn, Scott. "The Debt That Won't Go Away." CNBC.com. N.p., 20 Dec. 2010. Web. 18 Nov. 2013.
Sheehy, Kelsey. "Pay for College Without Taking on Student Loan Debt." US News. U.S.News & World Report, 10 Sept. 2013. Web. 18 Nov. 2013.
Hero, Martin. "Construction of New Dorms, Parking Garage Begins; Make Note of Road Closure." News at FIU Florida International University. N.p., 09 Mar. 2013. Web. 23 Nov. 2013.
Mosbergen, Dominique. "Cost Of College Degree In U.S. Has Increased 1,120 Percent In 30 Years, Report Says." The Huffington Post. TheHuffingtonPost.com, 15 Aug. 2012. Web. 21 Nov. 2013.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Is College Worth the Expense? Essay - Throughout the years, America has always debated whether education is needed- if it helps people succeed or not. The argument in the past was always over high school education, which is now mandatory. That decision has helped the US rise economically and industrially. Today, the US is in the middle of the same debate- this time, over college. Some, like David Leonhardt, a columnist for the business section of The New York Times, think a college education creates success in any job. Others, such as Christopher Beha, an author and assistant editor of Harper’s Magazine, believe that some college “education” (like that of for-profit schools) is a waste of time, and can even be harmful to student...   [tags: education, college pays off]
:: 2 Works Cited
1203 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Is Shortening the Length of College the Answer? Essay - With most of the world economy trying to recover from the reeling affect of the global recession over the past two years, a new education concept seems to be emerging. In recent times, authors like Jennifer Epstein and Lamar Alexander have posted articles on websites, such as USAToday.com and Newsweek.com explaining how giving newer opportunities to students to finish their four year bachelor’s degree within three years will prove extremely beneficial. While both the authors sport similar sentiments, we will take into consideration those as projected by Jennifer Epstein....   [tags: Education College University]
:: 3 Works Cited
960 words
(2.7 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay on College Athletes: Should They be Paid? - A lot of people believe college athletes are like employees and should be paid to play. College athletes spend most of their time playing their sport for the college, most athletes see themselves more as athletes than students, and they feel like they should be paid for risking their body’s every day. American colleges and universities should recognize college athletes are paid through scholarships and other opportunities and does not need to provide them additional pay. My goal in this paper is to bring some knowledge to people that people college athletes have it bad, or need more help....   [tags: College Athletes, Athletics, School, Sports]
:: 1 Works Cited
1690 words
(4.8 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
College Athletes Need Stipends, Not Payments Essay - Many problems exist in college sports today. One of the major problems in college athletics today is the issue of athletes receiving impermissible benefits from colleges and their boosters. It seems as if players and universities are constantly under NCAA investigation for impermissible benefits. College athletics today and the perceptions of them are changing. Some people are just plain sick of the NCAA and their old-fashioned rules. There are many different opinions of what the NCAA should do regarding payment for players....   [tags: College Sports, Issues, NCAA]
:: 1 Works Cited
1117 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Unfair Advantages: The Loss of Lowering College Acceptance for Athletes Essay - College bound students around the world are in search of an easier route to be accepted into college. What about college athletes. These students are those who stand out. Many college athletes feel as though they deserve a “reward” for enhancing the school’s program. Though they may deserve acknowledgement of their participation, lowering admission standards will lower their effort in school as well. Intercollegiate athletic programs corrupt their educational institutions by advertising a double standard and devaluing scholarships in favor of athletic competition....   [tags: college, accept, athletes]
:: 5 Works Cited
807 words
(2.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Cost of College Essay - In the economically depressed world we live in today, the bottom line for students and parents when choosing a college is money. Although the thought of going off to college in the big city is both alluring and exciting, the price tag that goes along with it is not. Due to tighter wallets and budget cuts, students are beginning to re-consider their firm stance that they must go out of state for college. With all expenses considered, it is obvious that going to a local college is much cheaper than going to a university across the country....   [tags: Higher Education]
:: 6 Works Cited
1143 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Fighting the Cost of College Tuition - Fighting the Cost of College Tuition College tuition is a hot topic these days. For a long time, people did not pay much attention to tuition. Today, things are changing. More and more, people are realizing how high tuition has gotten and now they want that to change. In the following essay, I have tried to tackle a very difficult topic. The problem with this topic was that, during research, I found that almost all of the information regarding it was attack after attack on the college administrations....   [tags: Teaching Education College Financial Essays]
:: 5 Works Cited
1793 words
(5.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Free College Admissions Essays: Friday - Friday It arrived on a Friday afternoon. The idea probably originated somewhere over the Atlantic, off the coast of Africa. It slowly spun its way to the northwest, and the thought finally made landfall in Florida. From there it gained speed and zipped across the eastern seaboard, through South Carolina, over D.C. and up the New Jersey Turnpike. There the idea slowed again, and had been downgraded to a concept by the time it crossed the Hudson. Once across the water it regained speed at the expense of power, and it flew like a sparrow, darting through cars and trucks and people, until it finally found me, stuck in traffic, and flew through my ear into my head....   [tags: College Admissions Essays] 491 words
(1.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
College Admissions Essays - Something Daring and New - College Admissions Essays - Something Daring and New Think about something you never did in high school but wish you had done. Now imagine your time at college. Propose taking up something daring and new, and describe how it might affect your life. For years I have harbored a secret desire to become a cheese aficionado. This is not entirely arbitrary. Cheese, as an independent entity outside of any broader alimentary context, is at once worldly and whimsical. It provides the ideal complement to that side of my personality which has historically been dominant....   [tags: College Admissions Essays] 648 words
(1.9 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Free College Admissions Essays: I Traded it All to Be a Filmmaker - I Have Traded it All to Be a Filmmaker I left a secure job and a lifestyle that would have catapulted me into the upper middle class by age 30. I disappointed my family and shocked my friends, but the applause from the packed auditorium vindicated my decision to pursue my passion. At great expense, I decided to follow my dreams, to refuse to be disappointed or discouraged by life. As I reflected on all the difficulties I persevered through in reaching that point in my life, I felt a hand patting me on my shoulder praising my work....   [tags: College Admissions Essays] 1033 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]