Preview
Preview

Essay on Censorship in Alison Bechdel's Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic

:: 9 Works Cited
Length: 1431 words (4.1 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Ray Bradbury, one of America’s most renowned 20th century writers once said, “You don’t have to burn books to destroy a culture, just get people to stop reading them” (Bradbury). In today’s society books are not burned, but some are being censored thus preventing people from enjoying the books they want to read. So what is censorship? Censorship is when an individual or an organization wants to restrict or limit access of a book to readers to avoid offending a group of people. Censorship has affected classrooms and public libraries across the nation due to people like parents, teachers and sometimes students themselves protesting against certain types of books. There is hardly a week that goes by that a book is challenged to be censored. The most common reason why a book is censored is for “violence, sex, race, Encouragement of "Damaging" Lifestyles, witchcraft, and political bias” (Butler University).

A graphic memoir such as Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic written by Alison Bechdel has been the center of a censorship debate by many parents and students to remove the book from classrooms and libraries due to its message and images; which some consider sexually graphic or obscene. There are many qualities that make this book a great read. Alison Bechdel’s graphic memoir Fun Home should not be censored or challenge because it is a great book to read and be shared.

Time Magazine Best Book of 2006, Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic is a graphic memoir of the childhood of Alison Bechdel, an American cartoonist best known for her “Dykes to Watch Out For” comic strips and for being nominated for a National Book Critics Circle Award (Bechdel). Fun Home is a story “about a daughter trying to understand her father through the common and uns...


... middle of paper ...


...hdel." Dykestowatchoutfor.com. Alison Bechdel, Jan. 2001. Web. 11 Dec. 2013.

Bechdel, Alison. "The Canary-Colored Caravan of Death." Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2006. 125. Print.

Bradbury, Ray. "Ray Bradbury Quotes." Goodreads. Goodreads, Inc., n.d. Web. 11 Dec. 2013.

Butler University Libraries. "Banned Books ." Common Reasons for Banning Books. Butler University LIbraries Knowledge Connections, n.d. Web. 08 Dec. 2013.

Bowers, Paul. "CofC Freshman Book Ruffles Conservative Group's Feathers ." Charleston City Paper. Charleston City Paper, 25 July 2013. Web. 11 Dec. 2013.

Internet Public Library: IPL2. "Graphic Novels." IPL2: Graphic Novels. College of Information at Florida State University, n.d. Web. 10 Dec. 2013.

Wilsey, Sean. "The Things They Buried." The New York Times. The New York Times, 18 June 2006. Web. 11 Dec. 2013.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Fun Home by Alison Bechdel Essay - ... He wants what every father wants for his daughter, to be successful with a family of her own. For example, we can see throughout Fun Home that Bruce makes his daughter wear jewelry and feminine clothes, despite her complete distaste to the feminine style. There are three occurrences where Allison and her father are fighting about jewelry to wear (97). Allison refuses to wear pearls to the, but her father insists because there is an internal alarm going off in his head (99). As a child Bruce dressed himself as a girl, now as an adult he wants to prevent his daughter from cross dressing (221)....   [tags: identy, trouble, feelings, teenager]
:: 1 Works Cited
1388 words
(4 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
"Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic" Analysis Essay - Alison Bechdel's graphic memoir, Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic, documents the author's discovery of her own and her father's homosexuality. The book touches upon many themes, including, but not limited to, the following: sexual orientation, family relationships, and suicide. Unlike most autobiographical works, Bechdel uses the comics graphic medium to tell her story. By close-reading or carefully analyzing pages fourteen through seventeen in Fun Home one can get a better understanding of how a Bechdel employs words and graphic devices to render specific events....   [tags: Literary Analysis, Alison Bechdel] 2233 words
(6.4 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Finding True Identity in Alison Bechdel's Fun Home Essay - ... I would also like to enforce the movement of the characters. Alison is the only character moving in these panels, while her father faces forward. Maybe this is the fact that he is driving and must “keep his eyes on the road,” however, I believe that the father is ashamed of his sexuality and simply cannot face his daughter (221). He finally realizes the truth about his daughter, which I believe eternally, hurts him. He does not want to see his daughter suffer through the same fate as he has encountered throughout the years....   [tags: panels, father, homosexuality] 1280 words
(3.7 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay on Sexual Self-Discovery in Fun Home by Allison Bechdel - ... At one point Bechel states, “It was a vicious circle, though. The more gratification we found in our own geniuses, the more isolated we grew. Our home was like an artists’ colony. We ate together, but otherwise were absorbed in our separate pursuits. And in this isolation our creativity took on an aspect of compulsion” (Bechel 134). Allison here depicts of the dysfunctional culture that was constantly present in her household, but most importantly the impact this had on her. With all of the turmoil constantly occurring in her household, it did not allow for a comfortable and delightful environment especially in the development of Bechdel’s identity....   [tags: homosexual, self-development] 1178 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about The Pros and Cons of Censorship - Remember the day when you could say anything you wanted without worrying about someone telling you, “That’s not correct”or “don’t say that.” Yes. Everybody does. Many long to live in that era once more; they long to be able to speak their mind in public without anyone thinking they are weird or crazy. Lately it seems as though you have to retain your thoughts inside your mind and not say anything. Many college campuses and websites have started to establish rules which prevent people from saying what’s on their mind and writing or saying something which may harm others....   [tags: Censorship,] 628 words
(1.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay about Censorship in China - The Freedom of Speech is granted to every American citizen and has been since it was founded in 1776; however, not every nation grants that right. China, as a communist nation, retains most individual freedom rights from its citizens. Although in the Peoples Republic of China’s (PRC) 1982 constitution, people are guaranteed Freedom of Expression and Press; it is often violated by the current corrupt government. The government demands the news to be 80% positive and 20% negative, altering the facts n occasion....   [tags: Censorship] 965 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Censorship: Simply Not Enough Essay - Not too long ago, an evening television program caught mine and my daughter’s attention. It was a cute family comedy verging close to her bedtime. I was relaxed as we spent some quality time together, and out of nowhere I felt as if I had been punched in the face when a curse word came out of the so-called 15 year old actor’s mouth. Playing it cool, I glanced down at my young daughter who did not even flinch. I thought to myself, when were those words allowed to be uttered on television. Even worse, was my daughter’s reaction, or in this case non-reaction, because of desensitization or did she simply not hear it....   [tags: Censorship]
:: 6 Works Cited
2117 words
(6 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Censorship or Responsibility: Which is the Lesser of Two Evils? Essay - What If the entertainment that people indulged in was suddenly taken away in a flash and replaced by what the government believes is more appropriate. Government censorship is a hot topic that has surfaced once again. Many citizens of the country believe that the government should get involved in the censoring of video games, because many crimes committed by youths have been linked to violent video games, or so it seems. The truth is that there has never been any case declaring that there is a link between the two....   [tags: Censorship]
:: 11 Works Cited
1876 words
(5.4 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
First Amendment And Music Censorship Essay - The First Amendment to the Bill of Rights exists because the Founders of our country understood the importance of free expression. The First Amendment states "Congress shall make no law . . . abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press . . ." (Commission on the Bicentennial of the United States Constitution 17). One of the ways the American people use this freedom of speech and expression is through the creation of the art form known as music. Music's verbal expression bonds our society through our emotions and experiences....   [tags: Censorship]
:: 6 Works Cited
1287 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Censorship in Cuba - The Republic of Cuba is an island in the Caribbean, located between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean (CIA, 2009). Among many facts about Cuba, such as the militaristic regime, communism, Fidel Castro, cigars, etc, with which Cuba can be associated, there are a prominent historical issue that puts the country in a negative leading position in the world. Such issue is censorship. In that regard, this paper analyzes the issue of censorship in Cuba, specifically addressing the era of electronic expression and the recent trends for change....   [tags: Censorship] 597 words
(1.7 pages)
Good Essays [preview]