Preview
Preview

An Interview with a Roughneck Essay

:: 8 Works Cited
Length: 2683 words (7.7 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Green      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

On a bright sunny, but breezy afternoon my friend Jack and I made our way out towards Delta 18, an oil rig that he works on. On this day its location is close to the town of Smallville, near the intersection of county roads 34 and 51. The derrick of the rig rises up from the middle of a field, standing tall and white, like the Eiffel Tower, surrounded by large blue, yellow, or white containers. There is a small sign, letting you know that this is the entrance of Delta 18; this dirt path is made from all the trucks which move the rig to its current location. There are approximately 30 different companies, which assist in making the location, where the rig stands. The average speed to go down this path is 10 MPH, if any of the supervisors see dirt flying, someone will be in trouble. This path is only wide enough for one vehicle, so sometimes it is a bit of a wait, to go in the opposite direction. Since its virgin ground, meaning it has not been traversed much, it’s a bumpy, rough ride to the rig.

The rig is surrounded by several large over-sized containers, most look like rail cars, seen on the trains as they pass upon the tracks, and are considered buildings. These buildings serve from anything such as a room for someone to mix gel and caustic with the mud, along with a platform where a Peak company man goes to from time to time to check out these mud mixtures; this is an important step, because the fluids are there to lessen the friction of the drill bit churning into the Earth, it acts as a lubricant. There are other rail cars used for such things as a boiler room, which creates the steam lines; along with one called the light house, where a satellite dish sits on top of, and holds power generators ins...


... middle of paper ...


...ions Occupation Vary." University of Northern Colorado Libraries The Source Catalog. Oil & Gas Journal, 16 Jan. 2006. Web. 28 Mar. 2015.

Sander, Jack. Personal Interview. 1 February 2015.

Keveney, Bill. "'Black Gold' drills deep into TV's tough-guy reality field." USA Today 18 June 2008. ADeltamic Search Premier. EBSCO. Web. 28 Mar. 2015.

Wrangler, Kurt. Personal Interview. 20 February 2015.

"Oil Field Workers." Oil Field Trash, Promoting the Oilfield Industry & Oilfield Workers. 19 May 2010. Web. 28 Mar. 2015.

Prashad, Sharda. "Macho men." Canadian Business 81.19 (2008): 23-24. Academic Search Premier. EBSCO. Web. 28 Mar. 2015.

Sillars, Les. "A collective home for rig hands?" Alberta Report / Newsmagazine 21.21 (1994): 22. ADeltamic Search Premier. EBSCO. Web. 28 Mar. 2015.

Reynolds, Hank. Personal Interview. 20 February 2015.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
An Interview with a Doctor Essay - Medicine, medical supplies, and medical treatment are multi-billion dollar industries crucial to the wellbeing of the public. Doctors and other members of the health-care industry do their best to provide excellent care for the nation’s sick and injured, while scientists and researchers work to develop new drugs and technologies to fight disease. We often view medical care as a basic human right; something that all persons, rich or poor, should have access to in times of need. But despite our notions of what healthcare should be, those who make a living in this industry, specifically owners of firms, must contend with the same economic questions facing businesses in any industry....   [tags: Interview Essay] 1080 words
(3.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Interview With a Walgreens Manager Essay - Since 1901, Walgreens has had a strong passion for customer service. The founder, Charles Walgreens, goal was to create a drugstore that was like no other. He said that for as many drugstores as he had worked at, he had never worked for one that had a focus for good customer service and low prices. Walgreens has grown by leaps and bounds since 1901 and is now recognized as the leader in the market with over 7000 stores. Charles Walgreen had an eye for good managers. He said he was able to pick people that he knew were smarter than him so to promote them and make them the heads of his drugstores....   [tags: business interviews, career interview] 1872 words
(5.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Daughter of a Roughneck Essay - Daughter of a Roughneck Juanita "June" was born in the mid-1940's, the firstborn of Q.D. and Hazel. Q.D. was a driller on oilrigs, a crew called "roughnecks." Over the years the family lived in Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Oklahoma, and Texas. For the first 16 years of her life, June lived with her father, mother, and two younger brothers in a trailer that was so small it could (and was) pulled by the family car from oil patch to oil patch. Despite social prejudices, educational setbacks, and trauma in her life, she overcame those obstacles....   [tags: Biography Descriptive Essays Papers] 2346 words
(6.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
An Interview With An Entreprenuer Essay - I interviewed Manuel, co-owner of All Pro Motor Sports, because his business is extremely innovative and growth-oriented. The purpose of this interview was to learn the following: § how to identify a business opportunity § how to successfully launch a business § how to deal with perceived risks prior to start-up § how to solve problems encountered during start-up and over the lifetime of a venture BACKGROUND I was introduced to Manuel through a mutual acquaintance that knows I am truly fascinated by the ability to customize vehicles, but more specifically, expensive luxury vehicles....   [tags: Interview Essays] 1248 words
(3.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
An Interview With An Entreprenuer Essay - Although entrepreneurial success is occasionally a result of luck, most would agree that it is achieved through a combination of sound business sense, planning, and spirit. An excellent example of the seamless execution of these elements of entrepreneurial success is PMA member Maia Haag of I See Me. in Wayzata, Minnesota. Here are some highlights of my recent interview with her. Q: My Very Own Name is certainly an innovative book. What was your inspiration. A: I was looking for a product with which to start my own business....   [tags: Interview Essays] 1665 words
(4.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Interview of an E.M.T. Essays - I had the opportunity to interview an E.M.T. The E.M.T. I chose to interview was my friend Matt from the Highland lakes squad. I chose to interview him because it is easier for me to talk to someone I know than someone I don't know, and also I wanted to find out whats its like being an E.M.T.. Q: Why did you become an E.M.T.. A: I enjoy helping people, and I felt that I wanted to be able to do more than just basic first aid and CPR. Q: What does it mean to be on call. A: It means that if the alarm goes off you are the person that responds to the call....   [tags: interview essays] 610 words
(1.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Preparing for an Interview Essay - Interviewing is a selling situation. It involves the exchange of information and building of personal chemistry. It’s not only what you say that’s important but how you say it. There are seven key things you can do to build a positive rapport. Research can help build chemistry The first step for building a rapport is to research the company in advance. If you’ve ever met someone who knew a lot about you, it kind of takes you by surprise, doesn’t it. It is a great way to make a positive first impression....   [tags: Interview Essays] 1290 words
(3.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Leadership Interview Essay - To inspire and influence others, a leader must possess many skills and abilities. As motivational speaker Peter Northouse, states, “a leader should be strong, but not rude; be kind, but not weak; be bold, but not bully; be thoughtful, but not lazy; be humble, but not timid; be proud, but not arrogant” (Northouse, 2013) Moving an entire group of individuals toward a singular goal is a considerable undertaking. Without effective communication skills and a clear vision of what needs to be accomplished, one will feel like they are trying to herd cats rather than leading....   [tags: Interview Essay]
:: 6 Works Cited
2044 words
(5.8 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Interview with Employer Essay example - This company is partnership ran business that opened its doors in 1991, in the small town of Marengo, IL. Mark Anderson and Sam Accib are the proud founders of this HVAC and plumbing business for residential or commercial. The company was unable to give an annul report, due to the fact that it is a small business, and it not necessary in their company. The promotional practices used throughout the years have been ads in the Northwest Herald (three to five times a year), the Marengo Paper, and the most important one is the word of mouth apportion....   [tags: Career Interview] 967 words
(2.8 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay Child Interview - The interview I conducted took place in the courtyard of my complex in Smallville, with the interviewee and myself. For the purpose of his paper and to protect the adolescent privacy lets call her Regina. Regina is a fourteen-year-old adolescent female of Africa American descent. She is above average in height and carries a very shy and nonchalance deposition. She is a very attractive young lady and does above average work in her school setting. She appears to be a normal every day child with a lifetime of experiences awaiting her....   [tags: Interview Essays]
:: 14 Works Cited
2096 words
(6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]