Preview
Preview

An Analysis of Shakespeare's Othello Essay

:: 1 Works Cited
Length: 3189 words (9.1 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Aqua      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“Think on thy sins” (5.2.43) he says, “They are loves I bear to you” (5.2.44) I respond. “Ay, and for that thou diest” (5.2.45). There is no pleading with my lord, his once amorous filled eyes are now brimming with anger, and anguish. This whole conversation has turned my mind into mush. How can he think that I would ever love Cassio? Is it not plain that he, Othello, is my lord and the only object of my affection? Does it not matter? I think it doesn’t. Othello’s whole body is shaking (5.2.50) and his eyes are rolling (5.2.41), these signs do not bode well for my life. Worse yet, he has already had Cassio killed. “Oh, banish me, my lord, kill me not!” (5.2.88) I beg, “Down, Strumpet,” he is undeterred (5.2.89). “It is too late” (5.2.95). I am not sure if I thought that, or if Othello said it. Either way, it is too late. His strong, calloused fingers are clutching my throat, violently squeezing until all of the air leaves my lungs. Spots- I see spots. Brightly colored yellow, red and blue spots. The spots grow and take shape. Images and scenes from my life are passing before my eyes, and then it hits me. “O, falsely, falsely murdered!” I cry (5.2.126). Emilia is here, “… Sweet Desdemona, O sweet mistress, speak!” she begs (5.2.131). I must tell her, “A guiltless death I die” (5.2.132). “O, who hath done this deed?” Emilia inquires (5.2.133). She has to know the truth, “Nobody, I myself. Farewell. Commend me to my kind lord. O, farewell” (5.2.134-135).
As the saying goes, hindsight is always twenty-twenty. For Desdemona, this is especially true. Desdemona was innocent and naïve to a fault. Her determination to mend the relationship between Cassio and Othello, only served to nourish the seed of doubt that was planted in Othello’...


... middle of paper ...


... the light of heaven I know not how I lost him” (4.2.152-153). Once Iago planted the seed, created the story and showed Othello that Cassio had the Handkerchief, Desdemona was rendered guilty. It did not matter how much Desdemona protested, or denied the story, Iago’s reputation as an honest man superseded Desdemona’s reputation as a woman who, according to Iago, “…so young could give out such seeming, to seel her father’s eyes up close as oak, he thought ‘twas witchcraft” (3.3.213-215). Desdemona’s final line in the play shows that she believes she was responsible for her own death. In truth, however, the only sin Desdemona ever committed was bearing loves to the moor of Venice.


Works Cited

Shakespeare, William. The Tragedy of Othello, Moor of Venice. The Norton Shakespeare. Ed. Julia Reidhead. New York: .W. Norton & Company, Inc., 2008. 2119-2191. Print.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay on Plot and Character Analysis of Shakespeare's Othello - Othello is one of Shakespeare's classics, this play has many oddities and puzzles. It roots into love, deception and jealousy. Also it clearly questions the debate of; can different cultures inter-wind without colliding. in addition, Othello has vivid racism, sexism, manipulation and savagery within civilisation. This play is set in Venice, Italy but due to circumstances all of the characters move to Cyprus. Othello is written between 1601-1604, the level of intensity and drama obviously indicated that he devoted a lot of time and effort into this play....   [tags: othello] 755 words
(2.2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
An Analysis of Shakespeare's Othello Essay - “Think on thy sins” (5.2.43) he says, “They are loves I bear to you” (5.2.44) I respond. “Ay, and for that thou diest” (5.2.45). There is no pleading with my lord, his once amorous filled eyes are now brimming with anger, and anguish. This whole conversation has turned my mind into mush. How can he think that I would ever love Cassio. Is it not plain that he, Othello, is my lord and the only object of my affection. Does it not matter. I think it doesn’t. Othello’s whole body is shaking (5.2.50) and his eyes are rolling (5.2.41), these signs do not bode well for my life....   [tags: Othello Essays]
:: 1 Works Cited
3189 words
(9.1 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Othello, by Shakespeare: Character Analysis of Iago Essay - Humans have the ability to be good, evil, or any shade therein; consequently, if they choose the path of evil they leave innocent victims in their wake. Iago is such a person. In Othello, Iago constantly took advantage of every situation and every angle that he could to produce a vicious outcome. While the other characters remained oblivious, Iago’s conversations among them separately, as well as his asides, shed light on a major theme of the play: people are not what they appear to be. When Iago talks to Roderigo, the reader is aware that he is using this character to achieve and afford his dastardly plans....   [tags: Role of Antagonist]
:: 1 Works Cited
823 words
(2.4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Character Analysis in Othello by Williams Shakespeare Essay - Considering the setting, the conflict, and the ways Brabantio was informed of Desdemona’s disappearance makes him an overprotective, prejudiced father. In the middle of the night, Iago and Roderigo stand outside of Desdemona’s father’s house and wake him up with their shouts. They then mention about Desdemona and Othello’s marriage using lewd expressions. Brabantio at first is not able to believe that his daughter married without letting him know, but later when he figures that out he gets even angrier that his daughter married to Othello (African black skinned person) rather than a white guy....   [tags: marriage, over-protective, Shakespeare] 974 words
(2.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Analysis of Othello by William Shakespeare - Analysis of Othello by William Shakespeare Shakespeare sets the play in Venice when it was one of the most powerful and civilised states of Christian Europe. It was one of the most sophisticated trading places in the world. Shakespeare paints a picture of Venice as a racist place and so the colour of someone’s skin was definitely looked upon as important. Venice held power in the Eastern Mediterranean and the Turks were threatening to attack areas in the Eastern Mediterranean such as Cyprus....   [tags: Papers] 1450 words
(4.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Analysis of Shakespeare's Work in Othello Essay - Analysis of Shakespeare's Work in Othello Correct analization of Shakespeare's work has and always will be the question on every reader's mind. In our case, Othello has simple yet twisted turns throughout the story. Not only does the plot of this story introduce William Shakespeare's thoughts, but what he is capable of, from a writing stand point. Othello is considered one of Shakespeare's most 'fast-paced' play. Most of the action is gathered into one day and all the scenes begin in the middle of conversations between characters....   [tags: Papers] 1207 words
(3.4 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Critical Analysis of Iago's Soliloquy in Act 2 Scene 3 of Othello by William Shakespeare - Critical Analysis of Iago's Soliloquy in Act 2 Scene 3 of Othello by William Shakespeare Iago’s second soliloquy is very revealing. It shows him shaping a plan out of the confusion of his emotionally charged thoughts. Iago examines his own thoughts, especially his hatred for Othello: “The Moor, howbeit that I endure him not” He is also suffering from the “poisonous mineral” of jealousy that still swirls around the rumour that Othello has slept with Emilia. Iago could get his revenge by seducing Desdemona: “Now I do love her too … But partly led to diet my revenge, for that I do suspect the lusty Moor Hath leaped into my seat, the thought whereof doth like a po...   [tags: Othello by William Shakespeare] 684 words
(2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay about Analysis of William Shakespeare´s Othello - ... Here she also references her mother and how her loyalty to Othello is similar to her mothers loyalty to Brabantio. The cultural values of the 21st are much different than the 17th century, though they have had 400 years to develop. Similar to today women in this play are consistently defending themselves, but they are also easily manipulated. Throughout the play Iago finds it easy to manipulate all of the characters. His wife being the most important because he gets her to give him Desdemona's handkerchief, the biggest part of the overall plot and his manipulations....   [tags: Tragedy, Death, Marriage]
:: 1 Works Cited
751 words
(2.1 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Essay on Iago Of Othello - Iago of "Othello" What makes a good villain. What qualities make one villain stand out from another. Is it their demeanor, ruthlessness, or the methods that they employ to accomplish their tasks. In any case, a great villain must leave the reader with a respect for their methods and a question about their motives. In Shakespeare's Othello, there is one character in Iago that fulfills all of these qualifications. Iago is a wonderful villain because he gains other's trust, relentlessly takes advantage of his peers' flaws, and unapologetically causes the deaths of his counterparts in order to achieve his goals....   [tags: Character Analysis Othello Iago Shakespeare] 701 words
(2 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Analysis of Act One of Othello by William Shakespeare Essay - Analysis of Act One of Othello by William Shakespeare Act 1 is an exceptionally indicative passage of writing in which Shakespeare attempts to divulge the coarse essence of Iago's nature to the audience. Indeed, by the conclusion of line 66 the audience not only understands - in broad terms - Iago's motives and grievances, but also something of the manner in which he intends to consummate vengeance against his ostensible antagonists....   [tags: Papers] 1476 words
(4.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]