Preview
Preview

America Needs Gun Education, Not Gun Control Laws Essay

:: 11 Works Cited
Length: 1750 words (5 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Gun crime in America has become a big issue. We are barraged by news outlets with story after story showing the wide use of guns in horrific and tragic crimes. These crimes all too often end in single if not multiple deaths. Politicians and law makers are constantly trying to find ways to reduce these crimes and keep the public safe. Unfortunately their ideas or methods involve some measure meant at reducing or eliminating the public’s access to guns. This method only infringes on the basic and most significant of all American rights, the right to keep and bear arms, as defined in the second amendment. It also takes guns from honest law abiding citizens and puts them in the hands of the criminals committing these crimes. The only effective way to reduce gun crime and unnecessary gun deaths is through education, not more gun control legislation. This education should begin at the beginning, by defining the where gun rights came from and the need for these rights.
The Constitution of the United States serves to define the rights and freedoms of the people and serves as the supreme law of the land. The most important freedom or right defined in the constitution is the right of American’s to keep and bear arms. This right was so important to the authors, that is was the second of the basic freedoms and privileges outlined in the bill of rights. The 2nd amendment reads “A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed”. This right grants, to law abiding citizens of the United States, the privilege of owning and lawfully using guns. The citizens right "to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed”, means politicians and law makers do not ...


... middle of paper ...


...2013

Kates, B. Don and Mauser, Gary “Would Banning Firearms Reduce Murder and Suicide”
Harvard Law Journal Vol. 30 (1991): n. page. Web. 26 Nov 2013

Kleck, Gary and Gertz, Marc. “Armed Resistance To Crime: The prevalence and nature of
Self-defense with a gun” saf.org
Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology, Vol. 86, no. 1 (1995): Web. 26 Nov. 2013

“Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Constitution” archive.gov
The Charters of Freedom, n.d. Web. 26 Nov. 2013

“In Other Countries, Laws are Strict and Work” nytimes.com
The New York Times, 17 Dec. 2012. Web. 26 Nov. 2013

“Hunter safety courses prevent accidents and save lives” hunters-ed.com
Utah Hunters ed. Course nd, Web. 26 Nov. 2013

“Learning from the D.C. Handgun ban” Washingtontimes.com.
Washington Times, 2 Mar. 2010. Web. 26 Nov. 2013






Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay on Why America Needs Stricter Gun Control Laws - According to dosomethingnow.org, “close to 33,000 Americans were victims of gun-related deaths in 2011”(11 Facts About Guns). When used properly, guns can be beneficial to society. They are used by police officers and military officials to save lives. Guns are also used for hunting purposes. However, when in the wrong hands, guns can be used to do terrible things. America needs stricter rules and regulations regarding those who have access to guns. These harsher laws will help create a safer environment, decrease the number of homicides, and reduce the number of suicides....   [tags: Gun Control Essays]
:: 8 Works Cited
921 words
(2.6 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
America Needs Stricter Gun Control Laws Essay - Gun control has become more of a hot topic in recent years. Some believe that there is no need for additional gun control. On the other hand, we have some that believe that the government can improve gun laws. Although many believe that gun control will violate their rights, the idea of stricter gun control laws can help communities. We live in very violent times. There are daily accounts reported in the media about shootings. We do well to ask, Is there a solution to this growing crisis. Yes. It is call gun control....   [tags: Gun Control Essays]
:: 5 Works Cited
1537 words
(4.4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
America Needs Limited Gun Control Essays - Gun control has become a heavily debated topic within the courts and among activists who support gun control and those who do not. Numerous individuals will argue that there are not enough laws and restrictions for firearm owners across the country. While others will argue that the current laws and regulations violate every Americans right to the Second Amendment. Which states, “A well-regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed.” The main reason the United States established gun control was to regulate the sale and ownership of firearms....   [tags: Gun Control Essays]
:: 6 Works Cited
864 words
(2.5 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Gun Control Will NOT Stop Senseless Gun Violence Essay - Gun violence in the United States is higher than ever, and criminals with guns will “…kill as many as 1000 people each day” (Alpers&Wilson). Taking this into perspective, it is only right to fight fire with fire or, in this case, use a gun to protect yourself and those around you. Gun control does not only decrease the ability for protection, it also decreases our rights as U.S citizens. The constitution clearly states that we are given the right to bear arms, meaning we may carry fire arms. Even if we have stricter laws for guns, it will not stop killers from shooting innocent people....   [tags: Gun Control Essays]
:: 12 Works Cited
1542 words
(4.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Gun Rights and Freedom Essay - I have had guns in my life since I was young. I served eight years in the military, and have shot in competitions for many years. I also love the outdoors, and enjoy the ability to put food on the table that is natural. I think the reasons for keeping the right to bear arms are so important that if the American people lost that right; it would mean life changes that many would be unwilling to make. The Bill of Rights are a set of laws, which includes the 2nd Amendment, which helps secure the public's freedoms....   [tags: argumentative, persuasive, gun control]
:: 11 Works Cited
2288 words
(6.5 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Virginia Candidates for Governor Different Views on Gun Rights, Drug Reform, and Jobs - There are issues dealing with subjects from abortion to making jobs for the state to drug use and possession. I will be writing about issues that candidates for Virginia governor speak on and my views on them. The issues that are the most important to me are gun rights, drug reform, and the creation of jobs for Virginians. I will show the candidates’ views on these issues in comparison to my own and how if I had the power how I would change the laws regarding these matters. The candidates have already told how they think and feel on the matters I have presented above....   [tags: gun rights, drug reform, job] 1035 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Gun policy - Gun control has been a big debate across America due to the high crimes that involves a gun. Oklahoma has nearly half of the states citizen owning a gun, due to Oklahoma laws are so lay back on their citizens owning a gun. Crimes in this state is are near the top half of the United States that involve some sort of firearm. Today there are more tragic mass shootings that are occurring in the United States, in which some are involving small children. This is why the state of Oklahoma needs to put a stricter gun policy to the citizens of this state, so that the crime rates that involve a gun will go down....   [tags: Mass Shootings, Background Check]
:: 1 Works Cited
1250 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
On the Political Issues: Personal Narrative Essay - On the political standpoint the three concerns most favorable to me are gun rights, education reform, job creation, and economy growth. Gun rights are a huge issue for me and a lot of people in the state of Virginia. It’s a huge concern, because anyone that wants to be able to have self-defense is for the 2nd amendment. The 2nd amendment states as a citizen, we the people have a right to keep and bear arms which shall not be infringed. The second main concern is the education reform. The education reform I am most interested in is student testing, teacher testing, teacher pay, and class size....   [tags: Gun Control, Education Reform, Jobs]
:: 13 Works Cited
1508 words
(4.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
America Needs Stricter Gun Control Laws Essays - “It is estimated that there are 310 million non – military guns in America” (O’Brien and Stanton). Many people that own a firearm usually have more than one gun. Also, a majority of gun owners feel that owning a firearm is the best way to protect themselves at home. With the large number of guns said to be in America, there needs to be a way to prevent the number of frequently occurring mass shootings. The solution to this issue is called gun control. Gun control needs to be implied more in our society because gun related crimes are mostly committed by those diagnosed with mental illnesses, there is no contradiction with the second amendment, it has the ability to lower the amount of mass sh...   [tags: Gun Control Essays]
:: 4 Works Cited
1169 words
(3.3 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
The Second Amendment Essay examples - “A well-regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a Free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.” - Second Amendment. Throughout history, this sentence of twenty seven words has caused an intense debate. The polemic is that some people claim that a gun control policy is unconstitutional, while others disagree and even say it is necessary in order to reduce crime. Now, what does gun control mean. If it means to analyze who is responsible enough to own a gun by a “Universal Background Check”; that sounds right to everyone....   [tags: Gun Control, Check and Balance]
:: 22 Works Cited
1620 words
(4.6 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]