Preview
Preview

America Needs Gay Marriage Essay

:: 4 Works Cited
Length: 1046 words (3 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Orange      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

" A paper certificate isn't going to solve it all but it's a damn good place to start . No law is going to change us we have to change us." . (Macklemore line 61) Change , it's something that has to come to us , it's something we have to work on . Changing in a day isn't possible it takes time , long amounts of time . Ben Haggerty or otherwise known as Macklemore is a critically acclaimed singer/ songwriter. He wrote a song a called 'Same love' it's a gay pride song about marriage and equality for gays and lesbians. He writes about all the struggles they have to face with their choice of life style. Theodore Olson a writer for the Newsweekly writes about the equality of the homosexuals and their marriage rights , Evan Wolfson talks about how getting more states to go with homosexual marriage , and lastly our amendments which speak about the equal right we have as human and what protects us from the government . Expert such as Theodore Olson say that we will "Always be divided" until we change. We are taking away humans natural born rights. How can we continue to grow, when was the one holding ourselves backs / backed? Here's where things start to get really interesting.
Our population has the vote, the vote to legalize it or toss it out the window. They choose whether or not a bill or proposition will pass. It’s all at their fingertips, at their hands. We are living in a new age, a new generation, one full of change. Were on our way to big changes especially ones that have to do with homosexuality. As the years have passed we have grown more accepting of them, even if we don’t like their lifestyle we still tolerate them, most of the time. Homosexual’s couples have been trying to pass a law that allows same-sex couples since ...


... middle of paper ...


...ve grown a lot. We’ve come a long way; no doubt we just need that little push to send us over the edge so we can finally legalize something that should of never been illegal. As a result the three reasons I have listed above prove why we need to change, and why we need to become one. It’s about time we come together as a whole to become an even greater nation.



Works Cited

"14th Amendment." Legal Information Institute. Cornell University Law School, n.d. Web. 10 Dec. 2013.
Olson, Theodore B. "The Conservative Case for Gay Marriage." 18 Jan. 2010, Volume 155 ed., Law, Marriage, Equality sec.: 1-7. Newsweek. Harman Newsweek LLC. Web. 20 Nov. 2013.
Lambert, Mary. "Same Love." Rec. 2012. Same Love. Maklemore. Ryan Lewis, 2012. Web. 10 Dec. 2013.
Wolfson, Evan, comp. "Justice Scalia: Gay Marriage Is "Inevitable"" Lesbian News. N.p., n.d. Web. 10 Dec. 2013.



Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
America Needs Gay Marriage Essay - " A paper certificate isn't going to solve it all but it's a damn good place to start . No law is going to change us we have to change us." . (Macklemore line 61) Change , it's something that has to come to us , it's something we have to work on . Changing in a day isn't possible it takes time , long amounts of time . Ben Haggerty or otherwise known as Macklemore is a critically acclaimed singer/ songwriter. He wrote a song a called 'Same love' it's a gay pride song about marriage and equality for gays and lesbians....   [tags: Legal Issues, Gays and Lesbians]
:: 4 Works Cited
1046 words
(3 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay about America Needs Gay Marriage and Same-sex Adoption - Families gather together in their backyards to celebrate America’s birth and get ready to light fireworks. Children chatter excitedly to themselves as their fathers bring out the cases of fireworks bought from the local grocery store. Mothers talk among themselves, stirring their glasses of lemonade absently. This picture, so common in society, will sound unfamiliar to very few. Every year, on July 4th, Americans commemorate the birth of their prestigious country; yet a question arises as to whether or not they remember what they are truly celebrating....   [tags: Gay Rights, Lesbian Rights]
:: 17 Works Cited
1484 words
(4.2 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
America Needs Gay and Lesbian Marriage Essay -                         Same-sex marriage--why is it even an issue ?  To put it into perspective, 10% of the American population is homosexual, meaning this is not just a minor issue (Harbinger 681).  Also, with our society making significant strides toward equality in recent decades both in gender and racial issues, one has to think about sexual equality.  I will explain to the reader why we should legalize gay marriage, particularly in terms of justice and the benefits society reaps from same-sex marriage.  Also, the ramifications of the legalization of gay marriage, both for gays and society, will be examined.  Finally, I will refute arguments against same-sex marriage....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Essays]
:: 11 Works Cited
2143 words
(6.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
America Needs Same-Sex Marriage and Families Essay - In the state of Massachusetts, same sex marriage has been legal since 2004 and thousands of people have had the right to marry their partners. Although it was a long and difficult process, gay and lesbian couples no longer have to face marriage discrimination in Massachusetts due to their sexual orientation. However, many couples are still barred from this process through other individual state amendments. While it has been difficult to research the exact side effects of same sex marriage, a predominant result has arisen: “there seems to be no appreciable difference between children brought up in stable homosexual homes and those brought up in stable heterosexual ones” (Sullivan 239)....   [tags: Gay Marriage, Lesbian 2014]
:: 7 Works Cited
1190 words
(3.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Gay Marriage Should NOT Be Legal - The Supreme Court of the United States ruled that the Constitution guarantees a right to same-sex marriage. Is this a good thing. The legalization of gay or lesbian marriage has been a touchy subject for some time now some say it should be and some say that it shouldn't be legal. The subject should not be taken lightly and should require most some serious thought as to which side they choose to be on. Most people have a hard time with this subject because of long term moral debates they have with themselves because maybe they have family members that choose this lifestyle or may actually be considering it themselves....   [tags: Same-Sex Marriage Essays]
:: 1 Works Cited
1054 words
(3 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Legalizing Gay Marriage Essay - Most societies view homosexuality as something that is horribly wrong. People view sexual relations between like genders as disgusting. For thousands of years homosexuality has existed on this Earth, but the question is, what makes it so wrong. During my research I have yet to find a legitimate reason as to why homosexuality is so wrong. With homosexual relationships, comes the question about homosexual marriage. Should gay marriage become legal in all fifty United States, or should it stay illegal in some states and remain legal in others....   [tags: Gay Rights, argumentative, persuasive]
:: 7 Works Cited
1276 words
(3.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
America Needs Same-sex Marriage Essay - On May 7, 2011, a young man named Tom Bridegroom fell to his death from a rooftop, leaving behind his devastated partner of six years, Shane Bitney Crone. Tom’s family had never accepted his relationship with Shane; in fact, members of Tom’s family attacked and threatened him when he told them he was gay. Because Shane and Tom could not legally marry, Shane was not entitled to any information regarding Tom’s death, memorial service, or burial arrangements (Crone). Tom’s family was able to move Tom’s body without notifying Shane, to keep Shane away from the memorial service, and to remove from Tom and Shane’s shared home any personal belongings that Tom’s family determined had belonged to Tom...   [tags: Homosexual Marriage]
:: 5 Works Cited
2831 words
(8.1 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Gay and Lesbian Same Sex Marriage is a Civil Right Essay - Interracial marriage is a topic that has been out of the national limelight for quite some time because most people in the United States have grown to accept it. When the Supreme Court ruled for the right for couples to marry interracially in 1967, they called the laws preventing interracial marriage nothing more than an attempt "to maintain white supremacy" (Stoddard 413). The conclusion of the United States Supreme court was that because laws against interracial marriage served no purpose other than discrimination, they should be eliminated....   [tags: Gay and Lesbian Marriage Must Be Legal]
:: 6 Works Cited
2574 words
(7.4 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay about Gay Marriage Rights - ... I think we should rebuild the country on a new foundation with a few changes, but for the most part, the same traditional principles. The United States has come a very long way in its young life, and it still has a lot of growing up to do and it needs to adjust to this ever changing world. Our society should come to our senses and start giving gays the rights they deserve. There are some major benefits to being married to someone, mainly the social and health benefits. Married couples are healthier, happier and enjoy longer lives than those who are not married....   [tags: legalization of homosexual marriage]
:: 1 Works Cited
982 words
(2.8 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Issue of Same-sex Marriage Essay - ... The definition for same sex marriage it is stated as ‘a relationship like that of a traditional marriage’ what already implies that is wasn’t ‘normal’ before and the traditional marriage is an example to follow. It is a great thing to legalise marriage and for example in the United States of America this happened in 17 of the 50 states already. Also the 18th state already joined, Utah in December 2013, and more than 900 same-sex marriages took place in Utah immediately after allowing. But on January 6, 2014, “the United States Supreme Court stayed the ruling pending further appeals” (Wikipedia, 2014)....   [tags: gay marriage, ethical dilemma]
:: 7 Works Cited
1252 words
(3.6 pages)
Term Papers [preview]