Preview
Preview

A Break for School Is Not a Good Idea Essay

:: 6 Works Cited
Length: 1620 words (4.6 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Should You Wait or Not
When high school is over, that is the time students need to decide if they are going to start college right away or wait a year or two. Whichever choice they choose will affect their future. Students should not put off their education for a long period of time. This will only hurt the students because they will start to forget things they had learned in high school. If they wait to go to school, it could also put a delay on their career. Then when they do want to go to start going back to college to get a degree, it will become harder to start going back. Also, there are the students that take a break during the middle of their college years and this can hurt them also. Not every student sees taking a break as a bad thing. Many will take a gap year to learn new things through personal experience and not in an academic setting. When students graduate high school, they should consider choosing to go to college right away instead of waiting around doing nothing to help get an education for their future.
Over the years the student decided to take off, their learning process will not be the same. Everything that they had learned in high school may start to be forgotten. Trying to relearn all of that will be harder because these students have not seen the material in a while and will have to relearn it all again. It is a lot easier to go straight from high school to college because it is all fresh in your mind. There are many major universities that think a gap year is the best thing for the students. For example, in Danielle Wood’s article from Today, she said “Princeton encourages it. Harvard’s a big fan. From Tufts to MIT, some the most prestigious universities in the nation are urging student...


... middle of paper ...


...it will all pay off at the end.

Works Cited
Amdur, Eli. “By 2018, 60 percent of job openings will require college education.” Reviewjournal.com. N.p. 14 July 2013. Web. 1 May 2014.
Ebersole, John. “Why a College Degree?” forbes.com. Forbes, 8 August 2012. Web. 1 May 2014.
Homles, Bradford. “Decide if a Gap Year Makes Sense to you.” Usnews.com. US News, 8 July 2013. Web. 1 May 20141
Katz, Gillian. “Gap Year Advice: 3 Great Reasons And 3 Terrible Reasons To Take Time Off Before College.” Huffingtonpost.com. The Huffington Post Inc., 7 May 2013. Web. 1 May 2014
Sage, Dr. Kingsley. “Taking a Gap Year During University Can Be Damaging.” Prlog.org. Press Release Distribution, 6 August 2013. Web. 1 May 2014.
Wood, Danielle. ”Should your child have a ‘gap year’ before college?” today.com NBC NEWS, 22 April 2008. Web. 1 May 2014.




Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper








This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Daniel Dennett's Darwin's Dangerous Idea Essay - "Good, Better, Best, Never let it rest, Until the Good is Better And the Better is Best." My class was taught this rhyme by my English teacher in school to ensure that we would not forget this exception to the rule of superlatives. However, other teachers also quoted this rhyme when they wanted to motivate my class to reach the zenith of their ability; that is, improve until we were "the best". One of my papers showed how a deeper understanding of natural selection made me cease to think of human beings at the top of the evolutionary Tree of Life, making me remove words like "superior" and "best" from my evolutionary vocabulary....   [tags: Darwin's Dangerous Idea]
:: 2 Works Cited
1655 words
(4.7 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Essay about Year-Round School - Back in the early ages, the idea of year-round school would be thought as completely insane, because the farming families depended on their children to be home during harvest time. Now in modern times, the term year-round school is becoming more and more common in the United States of America. Slowly the schools are changing the way they teach, from giving the students a long three month break to a shorter one month break during the summer. The change of America’s high schools to the year-round schedule benefits both the schools and the students because they still get breaks throughout the school year, the children are less likely to forget information, the children would have more time wit...   [tags: summer break, review, schools]
:: 4 Works Cited
1052 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Year-round Schooling: A Simple Solution For Today’s Students Essay - Summer break is supposed to be a time of rest and rejuvenation for students. After nine months of hard work and challenging classes, one would think such a long break could do nothing but good for students; however, this is not the best way for young minds to learn. A three month break is far too long for children to go without proper education and supervision. Instead of a long three month break at the end of each school year, why not give students the same number of days off but spread them out more frequently throughout the year....   [tags: year education, school system, summer break]
:: 6 Works Cited
1856 words
(5.3 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Essay on Education - It's Time to Break the Rules - Education - It's Time to Break the Rules When he follows the guidelines of the assignment his writing is wonderful. Unfortunately, he rarely follows those guidelines which I concisely explain to the class. His writing is complete nonsense with no factual support, no structure and no resemblance to any of his classmateís work. I know, I know. I tell him time and time again that there are certain rules that everyone must follow. Its just a part of life. I donít know how he expects to get by in society that way....   [tags: Free Essays Online] 1111 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on How Not to Break Up - How not to Break Up A few years ago, I made a mistake that I learned never to do again. I was dating a girl who I was friends with before dating her. I met her when I moved to Milton FL. She was the first girl that I started talking to. At first we were just good friends and then I decided to ask her out on a date. To my surprise she said yes. After that, we began dating more and finally started going out. We had a pretty good relationship until I found someone that I was more attracted to. I decided that the best thing was to let my girlfriend know that I have found someone else....   [tags: essays papers] 1018 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
School Uniforms are the Right Choice Essay - In the United States, millions of students attend public schools and face some sort of violence that is associated, with that school. It can be related to gangs, bullying or peer pressure from other students. Fourteen percent of students reported being a victim of bullying in 2003 and 52 out of 220 incidents between 1994 and 1999 were associated with gangs. This has led to non-gang related students bringing firearms to school to protect themselves. (D.Stanton, 2006) Because of these rising issues, parents are being forced to pull their children out of public school and home school them for their safety....   [tags: dress code, public schools, Education]
:: 12 Works Cited
2196 words
(6.3 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Homework Lead To Good Grades Essay - Homework, homework, everyone hates homework. People are up all night doing something that they think is such a waste of time. Well is it a waste of time. Most people think so. Infact most people think it has no effect at all. homework has had a huge impact on sleeping, time and grades. Grades k-12 have seen a dramatic change in homework. Changes that happened recently. The evidence shows that homework is extremely harmful and it sure is not helping. one thing they could do to help the students is give them a break or even just completely get rid of homework....   [tags: teachers, students, education, finland]
:: 4 Works Cited
930 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Good Style is a Reflection of a Writer Making Good Choices Essay - Good Style is a Reflection of a Writer Making Good Choices When putting pen to paper or typing on a keyboard in order to write something, a writer makes decisions. These decisions will result in what will be the writer’s finished work and will unintentionally reflect what the writer knows about writing style. In just trying to convey his or her ideas, a writer will follow rules of grammar and spelling as well as various advice accumulated through formal and informal education. If the writer has a good understanding of what they’ve learned, it will come out in their writing....   [tags: Writing Style Styles Essays]
:: 2 Works Cited
1120 words
(3.2 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Bullying in School Essay - It was a bright sunny Saturday morning. All the neighborhood children were playing soccer at the homeowners’ picnic. There was a new kid on the block; a quiet fellow by name of Mustafa. I saw him sitting with him mother the whole time. He never came to play with the other children. I automatically termed him a ‘mama’s boy’. So I invited him to play with us. At first he refused. Ultimately him mother convinced to come and play with us and that we were really harmless and that it would be really good for him....   [tags: essays research papers fc]
:: 1 Works Cited
829 words
(2.4 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Essay on What Is Good Education - What is a Good Education. Education literally means the things a person learns by being taught. So, the definition of a good education would be the things a person learns by being taught well. But what exactly does that mean. No one has ever told you that, right. To me a good education is basically achieved when a person has a general to specific knowledge of the things that have happened in the world, things that could happen in the future of the world, how to communicate with others, and how to live safely in the world today....   [tags: essays research papers] 1005 words
(2.9 pages)
Good Essays [preview]